使用 BeyondCorp Enterprise 的政策问题排查工具进行问题排查

BeyondCorp Enterprise 提供一种问题排查工具,管理员可以使用该工具对最终用户的失败访问进行分类和分析。

借助 BeyondCorp Enterprise,企业可以创建高级规则,以提供基于情境的应用访问权限。但是,当您对资源应用多个访问规则(从位置限制到设备规则)时,可能很难了解最终用户无法访问资源的原因。

通过政策问题排查工具,管理员可以确定访问失败原因,并在必要时更改政策,并指示最终用户修改情境以允许访问。

对于需要针对不同用户群组应用多个规则的组织,政策问题排查工具是一款非常有用的工具。

准备工作

政策问题排查工具是一项高级功能,需要使用 BeyondCorp Enterprise 许可。

如需使用政策问题排查工具,请在 IAP 设置中为 IAP 资源启用此功能,方法是依次点击 IAP 保护的应用右侧的三个点、设置,然后选择生成问题排查网址 (Generate a troubleshooting URL)。为最大限度地提高政策问题排查工具的效率,请确保您具有 IAP Settings Admin 角色 (roles/iap.settingsAdmin)。这能够确保您可以检索和更新所有 IAP 资源的 IAP 设置。

问题排查网址仅会在启用后显示在默认的 403 页面上。

问题排查工具工作流概览

政策问题排查工具提供了一个界面,您可以在该界面中查看针对目标 IAP 资源的所有有效政策的详细评估结果。如果用户访问失败,政策问题排查工具会显示失败绑定的详细信息,以及失败的访问权限级别(如果绑定中存在)的分析结果。

用户访问遭拒

如果用户没有权限或不符合访问 IAP 资源所需的条件,则系统会将用户定向至“403 访问遭拒”错误页面。403 页面包含问题排查网址,您可以手动复制该网址并将其发送给应用所有者或安全管理员,用户也可以在界面中点击发送电子邮件

当用户点击发送电子邮件时,系统会向 OAuth 同意屏幕上配置的支持电子邮件地址 (supportEmail) 发送电子邮件。如需详细了解如何配置 OAuth 同意屏幕,请参阅以编程方式为 IAP 创建 OAuth 客户端

排查失败访问的问题

收到访问请求失败的链接后,您可以点击相应网址,该网址将在默认浏览器中打开。如果您在默认浏览器中未登录 Google Cloud Console,则系统可能会将您重定向到另一个登录页面,以便访问政策问题排查工具分析页面。

在政策问题排查工具分析页面上,您会看到有关访问受限的详细信息,包括目标主帐号电子邮件地址、目标 IAP 资源网址和所需权限。您还会看到 Identity and Access Management (IAM) 绑定的有效评估结果(是否授予)的列表视图,并且还会简要了解失败发生的原因,例如主帐号不是成员且不符合条件

如需进一步分析失败的访问,您可以查看绑定详情。在绑定详情中,您可以看到绑定组件、角色主帐号条件。具有足够权限的组件表示无需执行任何操作。其中明确说明了访问失败的组件以及权限差异,例如主帐号类别:请将主帐号添加到以下群组中

请注意在界面中,相关绑定 (Relevant bindings) 部分默认处于启用状态。相关绑定部分中列出的绑定不是完整列表,而是排查特定访问问题时您可能感兴趣的最相关的绑定。与特定资源关联的有效政策可能包含大量与您的资源不相关的绑定,例如在项目级授予的 Cloud Storage 权限。不相关的详细信息会被过滤掉。

您可以查看访问权限级别说明 (Access Level Explanations),进一步调查失败的条件访问权限级别详细信息指出了失败发生的原因,并提出了解决失败的修正方法。如有必要,您可以将必要的操作传播回用户,或修正政策。例如,您可以将以下操作发送回用户:由于设备不是公司自有设备,因此请求失败

常见问题排查场景

以下是使用政策问题排查工具时可能会遇到的一些常见场景:

  • 进行问题排查后,您向最终用户提供可操作的内容,例如指示最终用户切换到公司自有设备或更新操作系统。
  • 您发现未向最终用户分配正确的权限,因此您在 IAP 界面 (roles/iap.httpsResourceAccessor) 中为目标主帐号创建新绑定。
  • 您发现自己错误地创建了访问权限级别,示例原因如下:
    • 您创建的复杂嵌套特性限制(例如公司子网)不再适用,因为员工现在在家工作。
    • 您应用的访问权限级别参数不正确。例如,您指定用户可以创建具有供应商限制的自定义级别,但比较具有不同类型的特性。例如 device.vendors["vendorX"].data.["should_contain_boolean_value"] == "true"。请注意,左侧返回布尔值,而右侧返回字符串 true。由于特性不等效,因此很难检测政策构造中的错误。政策问题排查工具有助于说明此情况评估为错误,并在两侧提供详细的部分评估结果。

排查访问受限问题

为最大限度地提高政策问题排查工具的效率,请确保您具有 Security Reviewer 角色 (roles/iam.securityReviewer)。这能够确保您可以读取所有适用的 Cloud IAM 政策。

设备权限是可选的。如果与目标资源关联的政策包含设备政策(例如要求加密设备的访问权限级别),则除非验证用于检索目标主帐号的设备详细信息的权限,否则您可能无法获得准确的结果。Google Workspace 超级用户、服务管理员和移动设备管理员通常有权查看设备详细信息。若要允许非超级用户、服务管理员或移动设备管理员的用户排查访问权限问题,请完成以下步骤:

  1. 创建拥有 MDM 管理员权限的自定义 Google Workspace 管理员角色
  2. 使用管理控制台将此角色分配给用户。

用于查看群组成员资格的权限是可选的。如果政策包含群组,则您在打开群组之前应有权查看群组的详细信息。Google Workspace 超级用户和群组管理员通常有权查看群组成员资格。若要允许非超级用户或群组管理员的用户排查访问权限问题,请完成以下步骤:

  1. 创建自定义 Google Workspace 管理员角色(该角色拥有 Admin API 权限下的 groups.read 权限)。
  2. 将此角色分配给用户。这样,用户就可以查看网域中所有群组的成员资格,并更有效地排查访问权限问题。

自定义角色权限是可选的。如果您无权查看自定义角色,则您可能无法确定主帐号是否可以通过具有自定义角色的绑定访问自定义角色。

问题排查工具预期行为

您可以使用包含当前时间戳的当前政策和设备信息对受限访问进行问题排查。因此,如果您在受限访问被拒后同步设备或更改政策,则您无法使用旧情境和数据进行问题排查。您可以使用当前情境和数据进行问题排查。

关于排查绑定问题的提示

对于任何存在授权错误的绑定的任何组件(角色、主帐号、条件),如果您要检查此类绑定的问题排查结果,请授予必要的权限。

如果绑定中的角色检查失败,请完成以下操作:

  • 如有必要,请检查其他绑定或使用 IAP 接口创建新绑定,以向具有已应用的访问权限级别的主帐号授予 roles/iap.httpsResourceAccessor 角色。
  • 如果是自定义角色,您可以为自定义角色添加目标权限以授予此权限(如果适用,在修复任何主帐号故障和任何条件故障后)。请注意,为现有自定义角色添加权限可能会授予具有此自定义角色的其他绑定,但该自定义角色具有的权限超过所需的权限。除非您了解自定义角色的范围和操作风险,否则请勿执行此操作。
  • 如果不是自定义角色,请检查其他绑定或使用 IAP 接口创建新绑定,以向具有已应用的访问权限级别的主帐号授予 roles/iap.httpsResourceAccessor 角色。

如果角色检查成功,但主帐号检查失败,请完成以下操作:

  • 如果成员包含群组,您可以将主帐号添加到该群组以授予权限(如果适用,在修复任何条件故障后)。请注意,将主帐号添加到现有群组后,系统可能会为该群组授予超出需要的权限。除非您了解群组范围和操作风险,否则请勿执行此操作。
  • 如果成员不包含群组,则如有必要请检查其他绑定或使用 IAP 接口创建新绑定,以向具有已应用的访问权限级别的主帐号授予 roles/iap.httpsResourceAccessor

如果角色和主帐号检查成功,但条件失败(如果条件仅包含与 OR 逻辑运算符关联的访问权限级别),请检查条件下列出的每个访问权限级别的问题排查详细信息。

Troubleshooting using the Policy Troubleshooter for BeyondCorp Enterprise

BeyondCorp Enterprise provides a troubleshooting tool that administrators can use to triage and analyze an end user's failed access.

BeyondCorp Enterprise enables enterprises to create advanced rules that provide context based application access. However, when you apply multiple access rules to resources, from location restrictions to device rules, it can make it difficult to understand why an end user cannot access a resource.

The Policy Troubleshooter enables an administrator to identify why access fails, and if required, change the policy and instruct the end user to modify their context to allow access.

The Policy Troubleshooter is a valuable tool for organizations that need to apply multiple rules to multiple resources for different groups of users.

Before you begin

The Policy Troubleshooter is a premium feature and requires a BeyondCorp Enterprise license.

To use the Policy Troubleshooter, turn on the feature for an IAP resource in the IAP settings, by clicking the three dots to the right of the IAP protected application, Settings, and then selecting Generate a troubleshooting URL. To maximize the effectiveness of the Policy Troubleshooter, ensure that you have the IAP Settings Admin role (roles/iap.settingsAdmin). This ensures that you can retrieve and update the IAP settings of all the IAP resources.

Troubleshooting URLs are only presented on the default 403 pages, when enabled.

Troubleshooter workflow overview

The Policy Troubleshooter provides a user interface where you can view the detailed evaluation results of all effective policies for the target IAP resource. When a user's access fails, the Policy Troubleshooter shows the details of the failing bindings and the analysis of the failing access levels, if they exist in the bindings.

User access denied

When a user doesn't have the permission or doesn't satisfy the condition required to access an IAP resource, the user is directed to a 403 access denied error page. The 403 page includes a troubleshooting URL that can either be copied and sent manually to the application owner or security administrator, or the user can click Send Email in the user interface.

When a user clicks Send Email, an email is sent to the support email address (supportEmail) that is configured on the OAuth consent screen. For more information about configuring the OAuth consent screen, see Programmatically creating OAuth clients for IAP.

Troubleshooting failed access

When you receive the link for a failed access request, you can click the URL, which will open in the default browser. If you are not signed in to the Google Cloud console in your default browser, you might be redirected to another sign-in page in order to access the Policy Troubleshooter analysis page.

On the Policy Troubleshooter analysis page, you will see more information about the restricted access, including the target principal email address, target IAP resource URL, and required permissions. You will also see a list view of effective evaluation results for the Identity and Access Management (IAM) bindings, granted or not, together with a high level view on where the failures occurred, such as Principal not a member and does not meet conditions.

To further analyze the failed access, you can view Binding details. Within the Binding Details, you can see the binding components, Role, Principal, and Condition. The component that has sufficient permissions will note No action required. Components where access has failed, the gaps in permissions are explicitly explained, such as Principal Category: Please add Principal to the below groups.

Note that in the user interface, the Relevant bindings section is turned on by default. The bindings listed in the Relevant bindings section are not a comprehensive list, but instead are the most relevant bindings that might be of interest to you when troubleshooting a specific access issue. The effective policies associated with a specific resource might contain a lot of bindings not relevant to your resource, such as a Cloud Storage permission granted at the project level. Irrelevant details are filtered out.

You can further investigate a failed Condition by looking into the Access Level Explanations. The Access Level details point out where the failure occurred and suggest fixes to resolve the failure. You can propagate the necessary actions back to the user or fix the policies, if necessary. For example, you can send the following action back to the user: Request failed because the device is not corp owned.

Common troubleshooting scenarios

Following are some common scenarios that you might encounter when working with the Policy Troubleshooter:

  • You provide an actionable item to the end user after troubleshooting, such as instructing the end user to switch to a corporate-owned device or update the operating system.
  • You discover that you didn't assign the right permission to the end user, so you create a new binding for the target principal in the IAP interface (roles/iap.httpsResourceAccessor).
  • You discover that you created an access level incorrectly for the following example reasons:
    • You created complicated nested attribute restrictions, such as corporate subnetworks, that no longer apply because employees are now working from home.
    • You applied incorrect access level parameters. For example, you specified that users can create a custom level with vendor restrictions but compared attributes with different types. For example, device.vendors["vendorX"].data.["should_contain_boolean_value"] == "true". Note that the left side returns a boolean value while the right side returns a string true. Because of the inequivalent attributes, it is difficult to detect the error in the policy construct. The Policy Troubleshooter helps by explaining that this is evaluated to be an error with detailed partial evaluation results on both sides.

Troubleshooting restricted access

To maximize the effectiveness of the Policy Troubleshooter, ensure that you have the Security Reviewer role (roles/iam.securityReviewer). This ensures that you can read all applicable Cloud IAM policies.

Device privilege is optional. If policies associated with the target resource contain device policies, such as an access level that requires the device to be encrypted, you might not get accurate results unless the permission to retrieve the device details of the target principal is verified. Google Workspace Super Admin, Services Admin, and Mobile Admin typically have access to view device details. To allow a user who is not a Super, Service, or Mobile Admin to troubleshoot access, complete the following steps:

  1. Create a custom Google Workspace administrator role with the MDM administrator privilege.
  2. Assign the role to users by using the Admin console.

The privilege to view group membership is optional. If the policies contain a group, you should have the permission to view the details of the group before opening it. Google Workspace Super Admins and Group Admins typically have access to view group membership. To allow a user who is not a Super or Group admin to troubleshoot access, complete the following steps:

  1. Create a custom Google Workspace administrator role that contains the groups.read privilege (located under Admin API Privileges).
  2. Assign the role to the user. This lets the user view the membership of all groups within your domain, and more effectively troubleshoot access.

Custom Role permission is optional. If you don't have permission to view a custom role, then you might not be able to tell whether a principal has access to it from bindings with custom roles.

Troubleshooter intended behavior

Troubleshooting is done on the restricted accesses using the current policies and device information with the current timestamp. Therefore, if you synced your device or changed the policies after the restricted access denial, you are not troubleshooting using the old contexts and data. You are troubleshooting using the current contexts and data.

Tips for troubleshooting bindings

For any components (Role, Principal, Condition) of any bindings with authorization errors, grant the necessary permissions if you want to check the troubleshooting results of such bindings.

If role check fails in a binding, complete the following actions:

  • Check other bindings or create a new binding by using the IAP interface to grant the roles/iap.httpsResourceAccessor role to the principal with applied access levels, if necessary.
  • If it is a custom role, you can add the target permission to the custom role to grant the permission (after you fix any principal failures and any condition failures, when applicable). Note that adding permissions to an existing custom role might grant other bindings with this custom role with more permissions than needed. Don't do this unless you are aware of the scope of the custom role and the risk of your operation.
  • If it is not a custom role, check other bindings or create a new binding by using the IAP interface to grant the roles/iap.httpsResourceAccessor role to the principal with applied access levels, if necessary.

If role check succeeds but principal check fails, complete the following actions:

  • If the members contain a group, you can add the principal to the group to grant the permissions (after you fix any condition failures, when applicable). Note that adding principal to an existing group might grant the group more permission than needed. Don't do this unless you are aware of the scope of the group and the risk of your operation.
  • If the members don't contain a group, check other bindings or create a new binding by using the IAP interface to grant the roles/iap.httpsResourceAccessor to the principal with applied access levels, if necessary.

If the role and principal check succeed but the condition fails, check the troubleshooting details of each individual access level listed under the condition, if the condition only consists of access levels connected with the OR logical operator.