安裝範例 Search API 應用程式

Amy Unruh,2012 年 10 月
Google 開發人員關係

簡介

在本課程中,我們會安裝簡單的商品搜尋應用程式,這有助於您檢查是否已對成功開發及部署 App Engine 應用程式做好準備,並為您提供一個平台,可以用來在整個課程中對 Search API 進行實驗。

課程目標

  • 確認您已準備好建構及部署 App Engine 應用程式
  • 安裝商品搜尋應用程式範例

事前準備

應用程式範例簡介

我們的應用程式範例是一款商品搜尋應用程式。這個應用程式會在初始化時從商品資料範例建構商品文件索引,並從商店位置資料範例建立第二個索引。商店位置文件中包含地理點 (緯度與經度) 資訊。

應用程式會顯示商品,並允許使用者透過提交評論來為商品評分。應用程式支援使用簡單的字詞查詢或更複雜的查詢語法,藉以對編入索引的商品資訊進行全文搜尋。搜尋結果可按多種方式排序,包括按商品平均評分與字詞頻率關聯性指標排序。搜尋結果使用 Search API 的「片段處理」功能顯示重要的文件欄位子字串。應用程式也示範如何使用搜尋偏移與限制來支援分頁。

商品搜尋範例
圖 1:商品搜尋範例。

以上螢幕擷取畫面顯示了典型搜尋結果頁面。使用者已在「books」類別中搜尋項目,查詢如下:

(stories OR novel) price > 20

這為 Search API 支援的查詢語言提供了一個提示。這個特別的查詢比我們預期一般使用者能輸入的查詢更為複雜,但我們建構的應用程式範例可以讓我們對查詢語法做一些實驗。您將會發現,相符的結果會顯示說明片段,其中的搜尋字詞會以粗體強調,而我們也已按商品評分排序搜尋結果。

Search API 的 Geosearch 功能還可以讓使用者搜尋附近的商店位置,如下圖所示:

使用 Geosearch 尋找使用者附近的商店
圖 2:使用 Geosearch 尋找使用者附近的商店。

當您查看產品詳細資料時就會存取 Geosearch 表單。目前只有已部署的應用程式支援 Geosearch。應用程式也會顯示如何刪除文件、建立新文件、執行批次索引及將商品資料重新編入索引。

安裝及執行應用程式範例

如要安裝應用程式範例,請先確認 Python 與 App Engine SDK 皆已正確安裝,而且您也瞭解啟動與部署應用程式的基本概念。快速入門導覽課程會逐步引導您完成這個程序,然後請下載應用程式範例。 您可以依照以下方式對 App Engine 搜尋程式碼範例執行唯讀查閱:

git clone https://github.com/GoogleCloudPlatform/appengine-search-python-java.git

依照隨附 README 檔案中的操作說明,在開發網路伺服器 (dev_appserver.py) 中執行應用程式。

請在應用程式開始執行之後初始化其資料範例。如 README 檔案所述,您必須以管理員身分登入,並按一下側欄中的 [Admin/Add sample data] 連結,再按一下 [Delete all datastore and index product data, then load in sample product data] 連結。開發網路伺服器目前並不支援 Search API (例如 Geosearch) 的所有功能,因此您最終會想要將應用程式部署至 appspot.com,您可能需要先為此建立應用程式 ID。

部署應用程式並初始化應用程式資料之後,請將一些簡單的測試查詢輸入到搜尋框中來進行測試。例如,請嘗試輸入以下內容:

(stories OR novel) price < 10

您也可以按一下 [Search] 按鈕而不輸入任何查詢限制,然後逐頁瀏覽少量資料集中的所有商品範例。您會在應用程式的 data 目錄中找到資料範例。您可依需要嘗試變更某些欄位,然後重新初始化。

摘要與回顧

您在本課程中安裝了商品搜尋 App Engine 應用程式範例,此範例使用了 Search API。在後續課程中,您將能夠使用應用程式程式碼做為具體範例與實驗的來源,並透過其搜尋介面深入瞭解 Search API 的查詢語法。在下一個課程中,我們會開始介紹 Search API 的基本概念。

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Python 2 適用的 App Engine 標準環境

Installing an Example Search API Application

Amy Unruh, Oct 2012
Google Developer Relations

Introduction

In this lesson we'll install a sample Product Search application. This helps you check that you are set up to successfully develop and deploy an App Engine application, and gives you a platform for experimentation with the Search API throughout this course.

Objectives

  • Confirm that you are set up to build and deploy App Engine applications
  • Install a sample Product Search application

Prerequisites

Introducing the sample application

Our sample program is a product search application. On initialization, it builds a product document index from sample product data and a second index from sample store location data. The store location documents include geopoint (latitude and longitude) information.

The application displays the products and allows users to rate products by submitting reviews. It supports full-text search over the indexed product information, using either simple term-based queries or more complex query syntax. The search results can be sorted in various ways, including by the product's average rating and by a term-frequency relevance metric. Search results use the Search API's snippeting feature to display salient document field substrings. The application also demonstrates the use of search offsets and limits to support pagination.

An example product search
Figure 1: An example product search.

The screen shot above shows a typical search results page. The user has searched for items in the "books" category, and the query is:

(stories OR novel) price > 20

giving a hint of the query language supported by the Search API. This particular query is more complex than we'd expect the average user to input, but we've built our example application so that we can experiment with the query syntax. You'll notice that the matched results show description snippets with search terms in bold, and that we've sorted the search results by product rating.

Showing off the Search API's Geosearch capabilities, users can also search for store locations near them, as shown below:

Using Geosearch to find stores near the user
Figure 2: Using Geosearch to find stores near the user.

The Geosearch form is accessed when viewing the details for a product. Geosearch is currently supported only for deployed applications. The application also shows how to delete documents, create new documents, and perform batch indexing and reindexing of the product data.

Installing and running the example application

To install the example application, first ensure that Python and the App Engine SDK are properly installed, and that you understand the basics of launching and deploying an application. The Quickstart and the Guestbook tutorial will walk you through this process. Then download the example application. You can do a read-only checkout of the App Engine search code samples like this:

git clone git://github.com/GoogleCloudPlatform/appengine-search-python-java.git

Follow the instructions in the included README file to run the application in the Development Web Server (dev_appserver.py).

After the application is running, initialize its sample data. As described in the README file, this entails logging in as an administrator and clicking the Admin/Add sample data link in the sidebar, followed by the Delete all datastore and index product data, then load in sample product data link. The Development Web Server doesn't currently support all features of the Search API (like Geosearch), so you'll eventually want to deploy the application to appspot.com. You might first need to create an application ID for it.

After you deploy the application and initialize its data, test it by typing a few simple test queries into the search box. For example, try:

(stories OR novel) price < 10

You can also click the Search button without inputting any query constraints, and page through all the sample products in the small data set. You'll find the sample data in the application's data directory. If you want, you can try changing some of the fields and then reinitializing.

Summary and review

In this lesson, you've installed a sample Product Search App Engine application that uses the Search API. In upcoming lessons, you'll be able to use the application's code as a source of concrete examples and experimentation, and play with the Search API's query syntax via its search interface. In the next lesson, we'll start by looking at the basics of the Search API.

Send feedback about...

App Engine standard environment for Python