擷取、刪除文件並重新建立 (更新) 文件的索引

Amy Unruh,2012 年 10 月
Google 開發人員關係

簡介

本課程為您介紹如何透過文件 ID 擷取文件、如何刪除索引中的文件,以及如何重新建立索引以更新現有文件。 本文列出的所有便利方法都出自範例應用程式的 docs.py 檔案。

課程目標

瞭解如何使用 Search API 擷取、刪除文件和重新建立文件的索引。

事前準備

學習本課程之前必須先瞭解 Python Search API 入門指南

我們也建議您採取下列措施:

透過文件 ID 擷取文件

有時候您可能需要透過文件 ID 擷取文件,而非使用查詢擷取文件。在範例應用程式中,我們提供了一個建立產品評論的環境,在此環境中,新評論會觸發某些 Datastore 相關的簿記動作,之後相關產品文件會更新平均評分。

您可以使用 Index.get 方法擷取文件,並提供文件 ID 做為 doc_id 參數:

@classmethod
def getDoc(cls, doc_id):
  """Return the document with the given doc id."""
  index = cls.getIndex()
  return index.get(doc_id=doc_id)

刪除索引中的文件

如要刪除索引中的文件,請將文件 ID 傳送至索引的 delete 方法。您也應捕捉任何 DeleteError 例外狀況。

@classmethod
def deleteDocById(cls, doc_id):
  """Delete the doc with the given doc id."""
  try:
    cls.getIndex().delete(doc_id)
  except search.DeleteError:
    logging.exception("Error removing doc id %s.", doc_id)

您可以使用索引的 get_range 方法刪除特定索引中的所有文件。為了提高效率,請將 ids_only 參數設定為 True,這表示傳回的文件物件只包含文件 ID,不包含文件欄位,而且您在這裡也不需要文件欄位。根據傳回的 ID 刪除每個文件:

@classmethod
def deleteAllInIndex(cls):
  """Delete all the docs in the given index."""
  docindex = cls.getIndex()

  try:
    while True:
      # until no more documents, get a list of documents,
      # constraining the returned objects to contain only the doc ids,
      # extract the doc ids, and delete the docs.
      document_ids = [document.doc_id for document in docindex.get_range(ids_only=True)]
      if not document_ids:
        break
      docindex.delete(document_ids)
  except search.DeleteError:
    logging.exception("Error removing documents:")

請注意,這個方法會不斷重複,直到索引中沒有更多文件為止。這是因為 get_range 一次最多只能傳回 1000 個文件 (預設限制為 100),因此如要清除完整索引,可能需要執行多次呼叫。

刪除索引

您可以刪除索引中的所有文件,然後刪除索引結構定義,藉此徹底刪除索引

重新建立文件索引

如要更新或變更已編入索引的文件,請將文件 ID 相同的新文件物件新增至索引。如果索引中包含該 ID 的文件,系統將會更新現有文件並重新建立索引;如果索引中不存在該 ID 的文件,則會直接新增該特定 ID 的新文件。

範例應用程式使用範例產品資料中的產品 ID 做為文件 ID。(如果您查看程式碼,會發現程式碼也使用產品 ID 做為 Datastore 中的 Product 實體 ID)。由於文件 ID 與產品 ID相同,因此如果產品資料發生變化,重新建立索引是很容易的。由於您會從資料來源取得產品 ID,因此不需要先擷取產品 ID,即可更新編入索引的文件。

為了逐步說明這個程序,請先查看範例應用程式中的 data/sample_data_books.csvdata/sample_data_books_update.csv 檔案。這些檔案中包含應用程式的範例產品資料。當使用者按一下 [Delete all datastore and index product data, then load in sample product data] (刪除所有資料儲存庫與索引產品資料,然後載入範例產品資料) 連結時,系統會匯入 data/sample_data_books.csv 中的所有資料,並先刪除任何現有的索引內容。就本討論的目的而言,這個程序的關鍵點在於建立新文件時,文件 ID 會設定為產品 ID:

d = search.Document(doc_id=product_id, fields=docfields)

然後文件會新增至產品索引。

接下來,如果使用者按一下 [Demo loading product update data] (示範載入產品更新資料)data/sample_data_books_update.csv 中的資料會新增至索引。此檔案中的某些項目會更新現有書籍文件,因為這些項目的產品 ID 對應於現有文件。此檔案中的其他項目會藉由定義來定義新書籍,因為所有現有文件都沒有產品 ID。

由於您正使用產品 ID 做為文件 ID,因此可以透過此資料建立新文件、如上所述將文件 ID 設定為產品 ID,並直接新增文件。您不需要知道這些產品 ID 的文件是否存在。如果這些相同產品 ID 的文件確實存在,這些文件將會更新為新內容並重新建立索引;如否,則會將新文件編入索引。

如果您查看範例應用程式程式碼,會發現這並非全貌:在某些情況下,您會需要在更新的文件中保留及設定現有文件中的資訊,所以在這些情況下,您並不需要存取舊文件 (如果存在舊文件)。

摘要與回顧

在本課程中,您學會了如何透過文件 ID 擷取文件,以及如何刪除及更新文件。

本課程包含「深入瞭解 Python Search API」課程。在本課程與其先修課程中,您已累積了建構應用程式的基本工具包,而這些應用程式都使用 Search API。請嘗試建立自己的簡單應用程式,或對範例應用程式進行額外的修改!

您可以使用 google-app- engine 標記,或在 App Engine Google 網上論壇取得有關 Stack Overflow 的說明。

本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
App Engine 上的 Python

Retrieving, Deleting, and Reindexing (Updating) Documents

Amy Unruh, Oct 2012
Google Developer Relations


This lesson shows you how to retrieve a document via its document ID, how to delete documents from an index, and how to update an existing document by re-indexing it. All of the convenience methods shown here are from the example application's file.


Learn how to retrieve, delete, and re-index documents using the Search API.


The precursor to this class, Getting Started with the Python Search API

You should also:

Retrieving a document by its document ID

You sometimes might need to retrieve a document by its document ID, instead of using a query. In the example application, this comes up in the context of product review creation, where a new review triggers some Datastore-related bookkeeping, after which the relevant product document is updated with its new average rating.

You can retrieve a document with the Index.get method and provide the document ID as the doc_id parameter:

def getDoc(cls, doc_id):
  """Return the document with the given doc id."""
  index = cls.getIndex()
  return index.get(doc_id=doc_id)

Deleting a document from an index

To delete a document from an index, pass its document ID to the index's delete method. You should also catch any DeleteError exceptions.

def deleteDocById(cls, doc_id):
  """Delete the doc with the given doc id."""
  except search.DeleteError:
    logging.exception("Error removing doc id %s.", doc_id)

You can delete all documents from a given index by using the index's get_range method. For efficiency, set the ids_only parameter to True, which means that the returned document objects only contain their IDs and not the document fields, which you don't need here. Delete each document based on the returned ID:

def deleteAllInIndex(cls):
  """Delete all the docs in the given index."""
  docindex = cls.getIndex()

    while True:
      # until no more documents, get a list of documents,
      # constraining the returned objects to contain only the doc ids,
      # extract the doc ids, and delete the docs.
      document_ids = [document.doc_id for document in docindex.get_range(ids_only=True)]
      if not document_ids:
  except search.DeleteError:
    logging.exception("Error removing documents:")

Notice that this method loops until there are no more documents in the index. This is because get_range returns at most only 1000 documents at a time (the default limit is 100), so multiple calls may be needed to clear the whole index.

Document reindexing

To update or change an indexed document, simply add a new document object to the index with the same document ID. If the index already contains a document with that ID, the existing document will be updated and reindexed; if no document already exists in the index with that ID, the new document will simply be added with the given ID.

The example application uses product IDs from the sample product data as the document IDs. (If you look at the code, you'll notice that it also uses the product IDs as Product entity IDs in the Datastore). Because the document IDs are the same as the product IDs, it's easy to reindex the product data if it changes. Because you get the product IDs from the data source, you can update the indexed documents without needing to retrieve them first.

To step through this process, first take a look at the files data/sample_data_books.csv and data/sample_data_books_update.csv from the example application. These contain the application's sample product data. When the user clicks the link Delete all datastore and index product data, then load in sample product data, all of the data in data/sample_data_books.csv is imported, first deleting any existing index contents. For the purposes of this discussion, the pertinent part of the process is that when a new document is created, its ID is set to the product ID:

d = search.Document(doc_id=product_id, fields=docfields)

The document is then added to the product index.

Next, if the user clicks Demo loading product update data, the data in data/sample_data_books_update.csv is added to the index. Some of the entries in this file update existing book documents, since their product IDs correspond to existing documents. Other entries in this file define new books—by definition-since no existing documents have their product IDs.

Since you're using the product IDs as document IDs, you can create new documents from this data, setting their document IDs to the product IDs as above, and simply add the documents. You don't need to know whether any documents with these product IDs already exist. If documents with those same product IDs do exist, they will be updated with the new content and reindexed; if not, new documents are indexed.

If you look at the example application code, you'll notice that this is not quite the whole story: in some situations, there is information in an existing document that you need to retain and set in the updated document, so in those cases you do need to access the old document if it exists.

Summary and review

In this lesson, you've seen how to retrieve documents by document IDs and how to delete and update them.

This lesson concludes the Deeper Look at the Python Search API class. In the course of this class and its precursor, you've accumulated the basic toolkit for building applications that use the Search API. Try creating a simple application of your own, or making additional modifications to the example app!

You can get help on Stack Overflow using the google-app- engine tag, or in the App Engine Google Group.

Send feedback about...

App Engine standard environment for Python