更新限制

设置限制

在更新本地数据库时,如数据库更新中所述,客户端可以使用 hashes.search 请求中的 maxUpdateEntriesmaxDatabaseEntries 字段指定大小限制。只有当客户端具有内存或带宽限制时,才应设置限制。

  • 客户端可以在条目数(1 个条目 = 1 个添加项或 1 个移除项)中指定最大更新响应大小 (maxUpdateEntries)。
  • 客户端可以在条目数(数据库中的大多数条目都是 4 字节的哈希前缀,因此假设 1 个条目约 4 个字节)中指定最大数据库大小 (maxDatabaseEntries)。

带宽与存储空间

虽然客户端可以为更新响应和数据库大小指定任意大小,但 Web Risk 服务器只会预先生成有限数量的可能的更新响应和数据库大小。

  • 客户端应使用更新响应大小 (maxUpdateEntries) 来限制带宽用量。
  • 客户端应使用数据库大小 (maxDatabaseEntries) 来限制设备所需的 RAM 或磁盘存储量。

这两个限制都会影响正在更新的数据库大小,因此会影响为用户提供的保护的数量。这意味着本地数据库越大,保护措施越好。

客户端状态

Web Risk 服务器绝不会发送使客户端处于过期状态的更新;客户端在每个更新请求后都将是最新的。例如,如果客户端当前有一个含有 4096 个条目的数据库,但只希望下载不超过 2048 个增量,则服务器可能会在客户端真的过期时将其重置为可包含 2048 个条目的数据库。

Update Constraints

Setting constraints

When updating local databases, as described in Database Updates, clients can use the maxUpdateEntries and maxDatabaseEntries fields in the hashes.search request to specify size constraints. Clients should set constraints only if they have memory or bandwidth limitations.

  • Clients can specify a maximum update response size (maxUpdateEntries) in number of entries (1 entry = 1 addition or 1 removal).
  • Clients can specify a maximum database size (maxDatabaseEntries) in number of entries (the vast majority of entries in the database are 4-byte hash prefixes so it's fair to assume that 1 entry ≈ 4 bytes).

Bandwidth vs. storage

While clients can specify arbitrary sizes for the update response and database sizes, the Web Risk server only pre-generates a finite number of possible update response and database sizes.

  • Clients should use the update response size (maxUpdateEntries) to limit bandwidth usage.
  • Clients should use the database size (maxDatabaseEntries) to limit the amount of RAM or disk storage needed on the device.

Both of these limits have an effect on the size of the database that is being updated, and so they have an impact on the amount of protection provided to the user. This means that the larger the local database size, the better the protection.

Client state

The Web Risk server never sends an update that leaves the client in an outdated state; clients will be fully up-to-date after every update request. For example, if a client currently has a database of 4096 entries but only wants to download at most 2048 deltas, the server may reset the client to a 2048 database if the client is really out-of-date.