配額政策

配額分配

配額的多寡取決於 Cloud TPU 的核心數量。單一 Cloud TPU 裝置含有 4 個 TPU 晶片和 8 個核心 (每個 TPU 晶片有 2 個核心)。一個 Cloud TPU v2 Pod 含有 64 部 TPU 裝置,共有 256 個 TPU 晶片 (512 個核心)。一個 Cloud TPU v3 Pod 含有 256 部 TPU 裝置,共有 1,024 個 TPU 晶片 (2,048 個核心)。另外,核心數量也會決定特定 Cloud TPU 的配額。舉例來說,如果配額為 8,即可使用 8 個核心。如果配額為 16,則最多可使用 16 個核心,以此類推。

標記法:「版本-核心」(例如 v2-8) 代表了 Cloud TPU 的版本和核心數量。由於核心數量同時決定了配額,因此這個標記法也說明了 Cloud TPU 的配額分配情形。舉例來說,v2-32 表示有 32 個核心配額的 TPU v2 類型。

在您建立新的 Google Cloud 專案時,Cloud TPU 會為專案分配預設配額。

單一裝置 TPU 類型的配額

單一裝置 TPU 類型的配額數量可分為隨選核心數和先占 TPU 核心數。

  • 隨選 TPU:預設配額為 16 個核心 (2 個 TPU 裝置)
  • 先占 TPU:預設配額至少為 48 個核心 (6 個 TPU 裝置)

TPU Pod 類型的配額

Cloud TPU Pod 的預設配額為 0。如要使用 TPU Pod 類型,您必須申請評估配額或申請更多配額。

評估配額

申請使用評估配額,以便測試 TPU Pod 類型的效能。使用評估配額建立的 TPU 節點是以秒為單位累加費用,不過我們無法保證所提供的服務水準會與以量計價 TPU 裝置或透過承諾配額建立的裝置相同。評估配額只會在專案中保留一段時間。

申請更多配額

Google Cloud 專案分得的配額會顯示在 Google Cloud Console 中。如需更多 Cloud TPU 配額,可以使用下列程序,在 Google Cloud Console 的「配額」頁面上提交申請:

  1. 前往「配額」頁面。

    前往配額頁面

  2. 在「篩選器」方塊中輸入 Cloud TPU
  3. 選取資料表中的 [每個區域中每項專案的 TPU tpu-version Pod 核心],並將 tpu-version 替換為您正在使用的 TPU 版本。

    您也可以選取 [每個可用區中每項專案的 TPU tpu-version Pod 核心]

  4. 選取您要使用 Cloud TPU Pod 的一或多個區域或可用區。

    如需各個區域適用的 TPU 類型的完整清單,請參閱 TPU 類型和可用區一節。

  5. 按一下 [編輯配額]
  6. 輸入您的姓名、電子郵件和電話號碼,然後按 [下一步]
  7. 輸入配額增加要求,然後點選 [下一步]
  8. 提交要求。

您會在提交要求後的 1 至 2 個工作天內收到 Cloud TPU 團隊的回覆。

Quota Policy

Quota allocation

Quota is defined in terms of Cloud TPU cores. A single Cloud TPU device comprises 4 TPU chips and 8 cores: 2 cores per TPU chip. A Cloud TPU v2 Pod consists of 64 TPU devices containing 256 TPU chips (512 cores). A Cloud TPU v3 Pod consists of 256 TPU devices containing 1024 TPU chips (2048 cores).The number of cores also specifies the quota for a particular Cloud TPU. For example, a quota of 8 enables the use of 8 cores. A quota of 16 enables use of up to 16 cores, and so forth.

The notation: version-cores, for example v2-8, indicates the Cloud TPU version and the number of cores. Since the number of cores are also used to specify quota, this notation also describes a Cloud TPU quota allocation. For example, v2-32 indicates a TPU v2 type with 32 cores.

When you create a new Google Cloud project, Cloud TPU allocates a default quota to the project.

Quota for single device TPU types

For single device TPU types, there are quota counts for on-demand core counts, and preemptible TPU core counts.

  • On-demand TPUs: Default quota is 16 cores (2 TPU devices).
  • Preemptible TPUs: Default quota is at least 48 cores (6 TPU devices).

Quota for TPU Pod types

The default quota for Cloud TPU Pods is 0. To use TPU Pod types, you must request evaluation quota or request additional quota.

Evaluation quota

Request access to evaluation quota so that you can test the performance of TPU Pod types. TPU nodes that you create using evaluation quota are billed in one-second increments but do not guarantee the same level of service as on-demand TPU devices or devices that you create using commitment quota. Evaluation quota persists only for a limited amount of time on your project.

Requesting additional quota

The quota allocated for your Google Cloud project is displayed on the Google Cloud Console. If you need additional Cloud TPU quota, you can request it from the Quota page in the Google Cloud Console using the following procedure:

  1. Go to the Quotas page.

    Go to the Quotas page

  2. From the Service menu, select Cloud TPU API.
  3. From the Metric menu, select TPU pod cores per project per region.

    Alternatively, you can select TPU pod cores per project per zone.

  4. Select one or more regions or zones where you want to use Cloud TPU Pods.

    For a complete list of TPU types available in each zone, see TPU types and zones.

  5. Click Edit Quotas.
  6. Fill out your name, email, and phone number and click Next.
  7. Enter your request to increase your quota and click Next.
  8. Submit your request.

You will receive a response from the Cloud TPU team within 1 to 2 business days of your request.