Ask Technical Questions on Stack Exchange Sites

Know what you want to accomplish, but not how? You're in luck! For specific technical questions—things like "why won't this code work" or "how do I install Hadoop on Compute Engine"—we sponsor several tags on Stack Exchange sites. Within the limits of what is considered a good question, we suggest that you post your queries on Stack Exchange sites; a large community of fellow enthusiasts, motivated by the desire for Stack Exchange reputation, is likely to produce a great answer. Of course, our engineers are also hungry for rep and will help out too.

Which site should you post to? Stack Exchange runs many sites. We can't tell you where to post, but we'll tell you where we hang out.

  • Stack Overflow: For Q&A around programming and development. Given the size of the community, this is a great default.
  • Server Fault: All about system and network administration. If your question is about getting something working rather than writing new code, this site will be your best bet.

Where to ask questions, by product

Google Cloud Platform on Server Fault Server Fault tag New questions
Google Cloud Platform google-cloud-platform Ask a new question
for google-cloud-platform
Compute Engine google-compute-engine Ask a new question
for google-compute-engine
App Engine google-app-engine Ask a new question
for google-app-engine
Compute products on Stack Overflow Stack Overflow tag New questions
Compute Engine google-compute-engine Ask a new question
for google-compute-engine
App Engine google-app-engine Ask a new question
for google-app-engine
App Engine Flexible Environment app-engine-flexible Ask a new question
for app-engine-flexible
App Engine datastore gae-datastore Ask a new question
for gae-datastore
Container Engine google-container-engine Ask a new question
for google-container-engine
Container-Optimized OS google-container-os Ask a new question
for google-container-os
Kubernetes kubernetes Ask a new question
for kubernetes
Storage and Database products on Stack Overflow Stack Overflow tag New questions
Cloud Storage google-cloud-storage Ask a new question
for google-cloud-storage
gsutil gsutil Ask a new question
for gsutil
Cloud SQL google-cloud-sql Ask a new question
for google-cloud-sql
Cloud Bigtable google-cloud-bigtable Ask a new question
for google-cloud-bigtable
Cloud Datastore google-cloud-datastore Ask a new question
for google-cloud-datastore
Networking products on Stack Overflow Stack Overflow tag New questions
Cloud DNS (Domain Name System) google-cloud-dns Ask a new question
for google-cloud-dns
Big Data products on Stack Overflow Stack Overflow tag New questions
BigQuery google-bigquery Ask a new question
for google-bigquery
Cloud Dataflow google-cloud-dataflow Ask a new question
for google-cloud-dataflow
Cloud Dataproc google-cloud-dataproc Ask a new question
for google-cloud-dataproc
Cloud Datalab google-cloud-datalab Ask a new question
for google-cloud-datalab
Cloud Pub/Sub google-cloud-pubsub Ask a new question
for google-cloud-pubsub
Hadoop on Google Cloud Platform google-hadoop Ask a new question
for google-hadoop
Machine Learning products on Stack Overflow Stack Overflow tag New questions
Translation API google-translate Ask a new question
for google-translate
Prediction API google-prediction Ask a new question
for google-prediction
Management Tools products on Stack Overflow Stack Overflow tag New questions
StackDriver stackdriver Ask a new question
for stackdriver
Monitoring google-cloud-monitoring Ask a new question
for google-cloud-monitoring
Logging google-cloud-logging Ask a new question
for google-cloud-logging
Trace google-cloud-trace Ask a new question
for google-cloud-trace

Developer Tools products on Stack Overflow Stack Overflow tag New questions
Cloud SDK google-cloud-sdk Ask a new question
for google-cloud-sdk
Cloud Source Repositories google-cloud-source-repos Ask a new question
for google-cloud-source-repos
Cloud Endpoints google-cloud-endpoints Ask a new question
for google-cloud-endpoints
Cloud Tools for IntelliJ google-cloud-intellij Ask a new question
for google-cloud-intellij
Cloud Tools for PowerShell google-cloud-powershell Ask a new question
for google-cloud-powershell
Cloud Tools for Visual Studio google-cloud-visualstudio Ask a new question
for google-cloud-visualstudio
Google Plugin for Eclipse google-plugin-eclipse Ask a new question
for google-plugin-eclipse
  google-cloud-eclipse Ask a new question
for google-cloud-eclipse

Send feedback about...