使用加密密钥

概览

默认情况下,Cloud Storage 使用 GMEK(Google 管理的加密密钥)和 AES256 加密算法对所有对象数据进行加密。不过,您也可以使用以下两种加密密钥类型之一:您提供的加密密钥,称为 CSEK(客户提供的加密密钥);或您通过 Google Cloud KMS 管理的加密密钥,称为 CMEK(客户管理的加密密钥)。Cloud Storage 不会将 CSEK 永久存储在 Google 服务器上或以其他方式管理 CSEK。如需详细了解这些加密选项,请参阅 CMEKCSEK

gsutil 接受 CSEK 使用 JSON API 与 Cloud Storage 对象进行交互。这些密钥会通过如下所示的 .boto 配置文件提供:

[GSUtil]
encryption_key = ...
decryption_key1 = ...
decryption_key2 = ...

每个密钥都是包含 256 位数据的 RFC 4648 Base64 编码字符串,以便与 AES256 加密算法结合使用。

gsutil 还接受 CMEK 使用 JSON API 来加密对象。请注意,如果您的目标是使用 CMEK 加密某个存储分区中所有新写入的对象,则应设置该存储分区的默认 KMS 密钥(请参阅 gsutil help kms)。或者,您可以在 .boto 配置文件中指定所需的 CMEK,但只需指定 encryption_key 特性:

[GSUtil]
encryption_key = projects/PROJECT_ID/locations/LOCATION/keyRings/KEYRING/cryptoKeys/KEYNAME

虽然解密经过 CSEK 加密的对象要求在某个 decryption_key 特性中提供 CSEK,但由于用于加密对象的 CMEK 的名称存储在对象的元数据中,因此这对于解密经过 CMEK 加密的对象不是必需的。

请注意,如果您要按命令指定 CMEK 而无需修改 boto 文件,则可以将密钥名称指定为顶级 boto 选项:

gsutil -o 'GSUtil:encryption_key=projects/PROJECT_ID/locations/LOCATION/keyRings/KEYRING/cryptoKeys/KEYNAME' \
       cp /some/local/file gs://my-bucket/

加密行为

您可以在 .boto 配置文件中指定一个 encryption_key,并且可以指定多个 decryption_key。

如果 .boto 配置文件中存在 encryption_key,则 gsutil 会确保其在 Cloud Storage 中写入或复制的数据使用该密钥进行加密。如果未提供 encryption_key,则 gsutil 会确保其写入或复制的所有数据都改用目标存储分区的默认加密类型。如果该存储分区设置了默认 KMS 密钥,则使用 CMEK 进行加密;如果未设置默认 KMS 密钥,则使用 Google 管理的加密。

通过 CSEK 加密的对象在任何时间进行下载或复制时(通过 gsutil cat、cp、mv 或 rsync 命令)都要求匹配的解密密钥。查看此类对象的 CRC32C 或 MD5 哈希值(通过 ls -L 或 stat 命令)也要求匹配的解密密钥。

如果 .boto 配置中存在匹配的密钥,则 gsutil 会根据需要在向 Cloud Storage 发出的请求中提供该密钥,并对解密结果执行操作。gsutil 绝不会将加密数据存储在您的本地磁盘上。

通过将密钥的 SHA256 哈希值与 CSEK 的哈希值进行比较,gsutil 可自动检测要用于云对象的正确 CSEK。在搜索匹配项时,gsutil 会考虑配置的加密密钥和最多 100 个解密密钥。解密密钥必须从 1 开始按递增数字顺序在 boto 配置文件中列出。例如,在以下配置中:

decryption_key1 = ...
decryption_key9 = ...
decryption_key10 = ...
decryption_key11 = ...

由于未提供 decryption_key 2 到 8 的值,因此 decryption_key 9、10 和 11 会被忽略。

可恢复操作和加密密钥

如果 boto 配置文件中的 encryption_key 在部分完成的写入或复制操作期间(例如,如果您在命中 ^C 或遇到网络超时后重新运行 gsutil cp 对象上传)发生更改,gsutil 会重启部分完成的操作,以确保目标对象是使用新密钥写入的。

生成 CSEK

使用 Python 您可以轻松生成 256 位 RFC 4648 Base64 编码字符串,以用作加密密钥:

python -c 'import base64; import os;\
           print(base64.encodestring(os.urandom(32)))'

管理 CSEK

由于 Google 不会存储 CSEK,因此如果您丢失了 CSEK,您将永久无法访问使用该密钥加密的所有数据。因此,建议您将每个加密密钥备份到安全位置。.boto 配置文件绝不应是存储密钥的唯一位置。

此外,创建 CSEK 后,任何拥有该密钥和对象访问权限的人员都可以读取这些对象的数据。请采取一些预防措施,以确保加密密钥不会与不受信任方共享。

轮替密钥

如需轮替 CSEK,您可以将 encryption_key 配置值更改为 decryption_key 配置值,然后对 encryption_key 使用新值。然后,您可以使用重写命令在云端轮替密钥,而无需下载和重新上传数据。例如,如果您的初始配置是:

# Old encryption key
encryption_key = keyA...

您可以将该配置更改为:

# New encryption key
encryption_key = keyB...
# Encryption key prior to rotation
decryption_key1 = keyA...

并通过运行以下命令针对对象轮替加密密钥:

gsutil rewrite -k gs://bucket/object temp-file

您还可以通过执行此操作来应用不同的 CMEK,但您无需将 CMEK 添加到 decryption_key 配置值。同样,您可以根据 encryption_key 配置值中指定的密钥类型在 CSEK 和 CMEK 加密之间切换。

加密密钥的性能影响

执行对象列出操作时,使用 CSEK 或 CMEK 加密的对象的元数据将不包含该对象的 CR32C 或 MD5 哈希值。对于需要这些字段的 gsutil 命令(例如 gsutil ls -L),gsutil 会为使用 CSEK 或 CMEK 加密的每个对象执行额外的元数据 GET 请求。因此,使用 -L 标志列出此类对象需要对每个对象执行一项额外的操作,这比列出使用 Google 自有密钥加密的对象慢得多。

CSEK 的安全隐患

gsutil 始终通过 HTTPS 发送加密密钥,因此您的 CSEK 绝不会在网络上显示。但是,这些密钥存在于 .boto 配置文件以及执行 gsutil 的机器内存中。因此,如果此文件或机器遭到破解,您的加密密钥也应视作被破解,您应立即对使用被破解的密钥加密的所有对象执行密钥轮替。

Xml Api 不受支持

gsutil 不支持使用 XML API 与加密对象进行交互,并且如果配置中指定了任何 encryption_key 或 decrypt_key,则 gsutil 将使用 JSON API。

Using Encryption Keys

Using Encryption Keys

Overview

By default, Google Cloud Storage encrypts all object data using Google-managed encryption keys and the AES256 encryption algorithm. However, you can also use one of two encryption key types - those that you supply, called customer-supplied encryption keys (CSEK), or those that you manage through Google Cloud KMS, called customer-managed encryption keys (CMEK). Google Cloud Storage does not permanently store CSEKs on Google's servers or otherwise manage them. You can read more about CMEKS at https://cloud.google.com/kms/docs.

gsutil accepts CSEKs for interacting with Google Cloud Storage objects using the JSON API. The keys are provided via the .boto configuration file like so:

[GSUtil]
encryption_key = ...
decryption_key1 = ...
decryption_key2 = ...

Each key is a RFC 4648 Base64-encoded string of 256 bits of data for use with the AES256 encryption algorithm.

gsutil also accepts CMEKs for encrypting objects using the JSON API. Note that if your goal is to use a CMEK to encrypt all newly-written objects in some bucket, you should set that bucket's default KMS key (see gsutil help kms). Alternatively, you can specify the desired CMEK in the .boto configuration file, but you need only to specify the encryption_key attribute:

[GSUtil]
encryption_key = projects/PROJECT_ID/locations/LOCATION/keyRings/KEYRING/cryptoKeys/KEYNAME

While decrypting a CSEK-encrypted object requires supplying the CSEK in one of the decryption_key attributes, this is not necessary for decrypting CMEK-encrypted objects because the name of the CMEK used to encrypt the object is stored in the object's metadata.

Note that if you'd like to specify CMEKs on a per-command basis without needing to edit your boto file, you may specify the key name as top-level boto option:

gsutil -o 'GSUtil:encryption_key=projects/PROJECT_ID/locations/LOCATION/keyRings/KEYRING/cryptoKeys/KEYNAME' \
       cp /some/local/file gs://my-bucket/

Encryption Behavior

A single encryption_key may be specified in the .boto configuration file, and multiple decryption_keys may be specified.

If encryption_key exists in the .boto configuration file, gsutil ensures that data it writes or copies in Google Cloud Storage is encrypted with that key. If encryption_key is not supplied, gsutil ensures that all data it writes or copies instead uses the destination bucket's default encryption type - if the bucket has a default KMS key set, that CMEK is used for encryption; if not, Google-managed encryption is used. WARNING: This means that when overwriting or rewriting a CSEK- or CMEK-encrypted object, if encryption_key is not specified, gsutil will replace customer-supplied or customer-managed encryption with Google-managed encryption (or customer-managed encryption if the bucket has a default KMS key set).

Objects encrypted with CSEKs require the matching decryption key any time they are downloaded or copied (via the gsutil cat, cp, mv, or rsync commands). Viewing the CRC32C or MD5 hashes of such objects (via the ls -L or stat commands) also requires the matching decryption key.

If a matching key exists in the .boto configuration, gsutil provides it as needed in requests to Google Cloud Storage and operates on the decrypted results. gsutil never stores encrypted data on your local disk.

gsutil automatically detects the correct CSEK to use for a cloud object by comparing the key's SHA256 hash against the hash of the CSEK. gsutil considers the configured encryption key and up to 100 decryption keys when searching for a match. Decryption keys must be listed in the boto configuration file in ascending numerical order starting with 1. For example, in the following configuration:

decryption_key1 = ...
decryption_key9 = ...
decryption_key10 = ...
decryption_key11 = ...

decryption_keys 9, 10, and 11 will be ignored because no values for decryption_keys 2 through 8 are provided.

Resumable Operations And Encryption Keys

If the encryption_key in your boto configuration file changes during a partially-completed write or copy operation (for example, if you re-run a gsutil cp object upload after hitting ^C or encountering a network timeout), gsutil will restart the partially-completed operation to ensure that the destination object is written with the new key.

Generating Customer-Supplied Encryption Keys

Generating a 256-bit RFC 4648 Base64-encoded string for use as an encryption key can be easily done with Python:

python -c 'import base64; import os;\
           print(base64.encodestring(os.urandom(32)))'

Managing Customer-Supplied Encryption Keys

Because Google does not store CSEKs, if you lose your CSEK, you will permanently lose access to all of your data encrypted with that key. Therefore, it is recommended that you back up each encryption key to a secure location. The .boto configuration file should never be the only place where your key is stored.

Also, when you create a CSEK, anyone who has the key and access to your objects can read those objects' data. Take precautions to ensure that your encryption keys are not shared with untrusted parties.

Rotating Keys

To rotate CSEKs, you can change your encryption_key configuration value to a decryption_key configuration value and then use a new value for the encryption_key. Then you can use the rewrite command to rotate keys in the cloud without downloading and re-uploading the data. For example, if your initial configuration is:

# Old encryption key
encryption_key = keyA...

You can change it the configuration to:

# New encryption key
encryption_key = keyB...
# Encryption key prior to rotation
decryption_key1 = keyA...

and rotate the encryption key on an object by running:

gsutil rewrite -k gs://bucket/object temp-file

You can also do this to apply different CMEKs, but you do not need to add CMEKs to decryption_key configuration values. Similarly, you can switch between CSEK and CMEK encryption depending on the type of key specified in the encryption_key configuration value.

Performance Implications For Encryption Keys

When performing an object listing, metadata for objects encrypted with a CSEK or CMEK will not include the objects' CRC32C or MD5 hashes. For gsutil commands that require these fields, such as gsutil ls -L, gsutil performs an additional metadata GET request for each object encrypted with a CSEK or CMEK. Therefore, listing such objects with the -L flag will require one additional operation per object, which will be substantially slower than listing objects encrypted with Google-owned keys.

Security Implications For Customer-Supplied Encryption Keys

gsutil always sends encryption keys over HTTPS, so your CSEKs will never be visible on the network. However, the keys are present in your .boto configuration file as well as in the memory of the machine executing gsutil. Therefore, if this file or the machine are compromised, your encryption keys should also be considered compromised, and you should immediately perform key rotation for all objects encrypted with the compromised keys.

Xml Api Unsupported

gsutil does not support using the XML API to interact with encrypted objects, and will use the JSON API if any encryption_key or decryption_keys are specified in configuration.

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud Storage
Need help? Visit our support page.