在 VPC 网络中测试连接

Connectivity Tests 的一个常见用例是在相同或对等虚拟私有云 (VPC) 网络中的两个 Compute Engine 虚拟机 (VM) 实例之间进行测试。

对于此类测试,Connectivity Tests 会使用配置分析和动态验证来评估可达性。如需分析配置,Connectivity Tests 会识别并评估跟踪记录路径。

本页面上的跟踪记录图表使用以下图例中描述的符号。
符号 名称 含义
灰色菱形
数据包跟踪图表的图例:灰色菱形。
Checkpoint Connectivity Tests 的决策点会检查配置,并确定是否应转发、递送或丢弃跟踪记录数据包。
蓝色矩形
数据包跟踪图表的图例:蓝色矩形。
跃点 跟踪记录数据包的转发路径中的一个步骤,表示将数据包转发到 VPC 网络中的下一个跃点的 Google Cloud 资源(例如,到 Cloud Load Balancing 代理或到 Cloud VPN 隧道)。
橙色六边形
数据包跟踪图表的图例:橙色六边形。
端点 跟踪记录数据包的来源或目标。

下图显示了两个虚拟机实例之间的典型跟踪记录路径。Match routes 对象可以表示在单个 VPC 网络中或在两个对等 VPC 网络之间定向流量的路由。

从源虚拟机到目标虚拟机的跟踪记录。
从源虚拟机到目标虚拟机的跟踪记录

以下步骤描述了与跟踪图表中的每个点对应的检查点。在每个检查点,检查可能会失败。查询结果会显示每次失败的原因。如需查看测试状态和消息的完整列表,请参阅解读配置分析状态

  1. Connectivity Tests 会验证来源虚拟机是否可以发送具有指定来源 IP 地址(或者可以默认为仿冒检查过程)的出站流量数据包。

  2. 当往返虚拟机实例的模拟数据包使用并非归该实例拥有的 IP 地址时,连接测试将执行仿冒检查。虚拟机拥有的 IP 地址包含所有虚拟机内部 IP 地址和次要 IP 地址。

    如果该地址似乎是来自外部流量的地址(也称为外部地址),则该 IP 地址无法通过仿冒检查。

  3. 为确定是否可以从来源发送跟踪记录数据包,Connectivity Tests 会验证相应的出站防火墙规则。在此过程中,Connectivity Tests 首先评估存在的任何分层防火墙政策规则。如需详细了解分层防火墙规则政策和 VPC 防火墙规则如何影响连接,请参阅分层防火墙政策示例

  4. Connectivity Tests 根据路由顺序查找(匹配)目标 IP 地址的路由。如果没有其他路由可用于目标虚拟机实例,则 Connectivity Tests 将使用将下一个跃点作为互联网网关的默认静态路由。所有 VPC 网络都使用此默认路由(除非您将其移除)。

  5. Connectivity Tests 可验证网站的入站流量防火墙规则是否允许数据包到达目标虚拟机。 同样,Connectivity Tests 首先评估存在的任何分层防火墙政策规则。

  6. 如果需要,Connectivity Tests 会对到达第二个虚拟机的数据包进行仿冒检查。

  7. Connectivity Tests 会验证目标虚拟机是否可以接收具有指定目标 IP 地址的数据包。如果此地址是外部 IP 地址,则目标虚拟机必须启用 IP 转发。外部 IP 地址是不属于虚拟机的地址。

Google Cloud Console 中的以下屏幕截图显示了虚拟机到虚拟机测试的结果。

配置分析显示结果数据包可递送(在 API 响应中,此标签对应于 Deliver 的最终状态)。

此结果表明,配置分析已验证了从源虚拟机到目标虚拟机的路径中每个 Google Cloud 资源的网络连接性。 在这种情况下,路由包括两条 VPC 防火墙规则:一条是隐式 VPC 防火墙规则(名为 default),一条是为此 VPC 网络创建的规则。

此外,Connectivity Tests 还可使用主动探测来动态验证目的地虚拟机是否可访问。最后一个数据包传输结果字段会显示此结果的详细信息。

用于虚拟机间跟踪记录的 Cloud Console 屏幕截图。
用于虚拟机间跟踪记录的 Cloud Console 屏幕截图

您可以展开跟踪记录路径中的每张卡片,以查看更多详细信息。

以下示例展示了入站流量防火墙规则的展开卡片。此卡片包含有关 VPC 网络、防火墙规则(允许)的已配置操作以及规则优先级的信息。

入站流量防火墙规则卡片已展开。
入站流量防火墙规则卡片已展开

当跟踪记录包含下一个跃点为对等 VPC 网络的 VPC 网络路由时,跟踪记录的起点不是虚拟机实例,而是 VPC 网络。由于您测试的 IP 地址来自网络范围而不是虚拟机实例,因此这种类型的跟踪记录可在网络级别验证防火墙规则和路由。

对等网络可以存在于相同或不同的项目中。以下跟踪记录示例展示了不同项目中的对等网络。

通过不同项目中可访问的对等 VPC 网络的虚拟机间跟踪记录。
通过不同项目中的可访问对等 VPC 网络的虚拟机间跟踪记录

VPC 网络测试失败

下表列出了 VPC 网络中测试的常见失败。

失败类型 说明 跟踪记录结果
被防火墙规则阻止 离开来源或目标端点的流量被分层防火墙政策规则或 VPC 防火墙规则阻止。
  • 如果连接被分层防火墙政策规则阻止,则跟踪记录包含政策的名称。运行测试的人员可能无权查看政策详细信息。如需详细了解这种情况,请参阅排查分层防火墙政策问题
  • 如果连接被 VPC 防火墙规则阻止,则跟踪记录会列出相关入站或出站防火墙规则的名称。
没有匹配的路由 找不到到目标端点的路由。
  • 如果来源和目标虚拟机实例位于不同的 VPC 网络中,并且这些网络未对等互连,则分析确定数据包可丢弃
  • 如果虚拟机位于同一网络中,但找不到匹配的路由,则流量将通过默认静态路由发送,且下一个跃点指向互联网网关。在这种情况下,流量始终不会到达目标虚拟机,并且分析确定数据包可丢弃
  • 如果没有指向互联网网关的路由,分析将确定数据包可丢弃
实例未运行 目标虚拟机实例存在,但未处于运行状态。 分析确定数据包可丢弃
下一个跃点无效 为该虚拟机实例配置的下一个跃点不再存在,并且到该实例的路由无效。 分析确定数据包可丢弃

以下屏幕截图展示了由于连接被入站分层防火墙政策规则阻止而失败的跟踪记录。

被分层防火墙政策规则阻止的跟踪记录的 Cloud Console 屏幕截图。
被分层防火墙政策规则阻止的跟踪记录的 Cloud Console 屏幕截图

共享 VPC 网络测试失败

在共享 VPC 网络中,没有对主机项目或服务项目的权限可能导致下表中列出的测试失败。

失败类型 行为 跟踪记录结果
仅对宿主项目的权限 您无法运行跟踪记录,因为您没有对目标 IP 地址所在的服务项目的权限。 配置分析显示结果配置分析已取消(在 API 响应中,此标签对应于最终状态 Abort)。
仅对服务项目的权限

您没有权限,因此无法运行跟踪记录或在 Cloud Console 中选择宿主项目网络。

由于宿主项目拥有网络配置,因此如果没有对宿主项目中的 VPC 防火墙规则、网络路由或 IP 地址的访问权限,就无法继续对服务项目中的资源进行跟踪记录。

总体可达性结果为 Undetermined,因为 Connectivity Tests 无法确定数据包是否可以递送到目标。

VPC 网络对等互连测试失败

使用 VPC 网络对等互连,如果没有从 primary 网络访问 peered 网络的 Google Cloud 项目的权限,则可能导致下表中列出的测试失败。

失败类型 行为 跟踪记录结果
您没有对对等 VPC 网络中项目配置的权限。 Connectivity Tests 只能跟踪主网络项目中的配置。 配置分析显示数据包可转发的结果。此结果表示数据包将离开网络并发送到您无权访问的网络。在这种情况下,数据包已转发到对等网络网关。在 API 响应中,此状态对应于 最终状态 Forward

以下跟踪路径显示了对等 VPC 网络的此失败。

通过不同项目中不可访问的对等 VPC 网络的虚拟机间跟踪记录。
通过不同项目中的不可访问对等 VPC 网络的虚拟机间跟踪记录

后续步骤

Test connectivity within VPC networks

A common use case for Connectivity Tests is testing between two Compute Engine virtual machine (VM) instances in the same or peered Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) networks.

For this type of test, Connectivity Tests evaluates reachability by using both configuration analysis and live data plane analysis. To analyze the configuration, Connectivity Tests identifies and evaluates a trace path.

Trace diagrams on this page use the symbols described in the following legend.
Symbol Name Meaning
Gray diamond
Legend for packet trace diagram: gray diamond.
Checkpoint A decision point where Connectivity Tests checks a configuration and decides if a trace packet should be forwarded, delivered, or dropped.
Blue rectangle
Legend for packet trace diagram: blue rectangle.
Hop A step in the forwarding path for a trace packet, representing a Google Cloud resource that forwards a packet to the next hop in a VPC network (for example, to a Cloud Load Balancing proxy or to a Cloud VPN tunnel).
Orange hexagon
Legend for packet trace diagram: orange hexagon.
Endpoint The source or destination of a trace packet.

The following diagram shows the typical trace path between two VM instances. The Match routes object can represent routes that direct traffic in a single VPC network or between two peered VPC networks.

Source VM to destination VM trace.
Source VM to destination VM trace

The following steps describe the checkpoints that correspond to each point in the trace diagram. At each checkpoint, the check might fail. The query results show the reason for each failure. For a complete list of test states and messages, see Configuration analysis states.

  1. Connectivity Tests verifies that the source VM can send egress packets with the specified source IP address, or can otherwise default to the spoof check process.

  2. Connectivity Tests performs a spoof check when a simulated packet to or from a VM instance uses an IP address not owned by that instance. IP addresses owned by a VM include all VM internal IP addresses and secondary IP addresses.

    If the address is an address that appears to originate from external traffic, also called a foreign address, then the IP address fails the spoof check.

  3. To determine whether trace packets can be sent from the source, Connectivity Tests verifies the appropriate egress firewall rules. As part of this process, Connectivity Tests begins by evaluating any hierarchical firewall policy rules that exist. For details about how hierarchical firewall policy rules and VPC firewall rules affect connectivity, see Hierarchical firewall policy examples.

  4. Connectivity Tests finds (matches) a route for the destination IP address, according to the routing order. If no other routes are available to the destination VM instance, Connectivity Tests uses the default static route with the next hop as the internet gateway. All VPC networks use this default route unless you have removed it.

  5. Connectivity Tests verifies that the network's ingress firewall rules allow the packet to arrive at the destination VM. Again, Connectivity Tests begins by evaluating any hierarchical firewall policy rules that exist.

  6. If needed, Connectivity Tests runs a spoof check on the packet that arrives at the second VM.

  7. Connectivity Tests verifies that the destination VM can receive a packet with the specified destination IP address. If this address is a foreign IP address, the destination VM must have IP forwarding enabled. A foreign IP address is an address that does not belong to the VM.

The following screenshot from the Google Cloud console shows the results of a VM-to-VM test.

The configuration analysis shows a result of Packet could be delivered. In the API response, this label corresponds to a final state of Deliver.

This result shows that the configuration analysis has validated network connectivity for every Google Cloud resource in the path from the source VM to the destination VM. In this case, the route included two VPC firewall rules: an implied VPC firewall rule (named default) and one that was created for this VPC network.

Also, Connectivity Tests dynamically verified that the destination VM is reachable by using active probing. The Last packet transmission result field shows the details of this result.

console screenshot for VM-to-VM trace.
console screenshot for VM-to-VM trace

You can expand each of the cards in the trace path to view more detail.

The following example shows an expanded card for an ingress firewall rule. This card includes information about the VPC network, the configured action for the firewall rule (allow), and the rule priority.

Ingress firewall rule card expanded.
Ingress firewall rule card expanded

When a trace contains a VPC network route with the next hop as a peered VPC network, the start of the trace is not a VM instance, but a VPC network. This type of trace validates firewall rules and routes at the network level because the IP address that you test comes from a network range instead of a VM instance.

Peered networks can exist in the same or in different projects. The following trace example shows peered networks in different projects.

VM-to-VM trace through an accessible peered VPC network in a different project.
VM-to-VM trace through an accessible peered VPC network in a different project

Test failures for VPC networks

The following table lists common failures for tests within VPC networks.

Failure type Description Trace results
Blocked by a firewall rule Traffic leaving a source endpoint or entering a destination endpoint is blocked by a hierarchical firewall policy rule or a VPC firewall rule.
  • If connectivity is blocked by a hierarchical firewall policy rule, the trace includes the name of the policy. The person running the test might not have permission to view the policy details. For more details about this situation, see Troubleshoot hierarchical firewall policy.
  • If connectivity is blocked by a VPC firewall rule, the trace lists the name of the relevant ingress or egress firewall rule.
No matching route A route to the destination endpoint could not be found.
  • If the source and destination VM instances are in different VPC networks and those networks aren't peered, the analysis determines that Packet could be dropped.
  • If the VMs are in the same network, but a matching route is not found, traffic is sent on the default static route with a next hop to internet gateway. In this case, traffic never arrives at the destination VM, and the analysis determines that Packet could be dropped.
  • If there is no route to an internet gateway, the analysis determines that Packet could be dropped.
Instance not running The destination VM instance exists, but is not in a running state. The analysis determines that Packet could be dropped.
Invalid next hop The configured next hop for a VM instance no longer exists, and the route to that instance is invalid. The analysis determines that Packet could be dropped.

The following screenshot illustrates a trace that failed because connectivity was blocked by an ingress hierarchical firewall policy rule.

console screenshot for a trace that's blocked by a hierarchical firewall policy rule.
console screenshot for a trace that's blocked by a hierarchical firewall policy rule

Test failures for Shared VPC networks

In Shared VPC networks, not having permissions to the host project or the service project can cause the test failures listed in the following table.

Failure type Behavior Trace results
Permissions only to the host project You can't run the trace because you don't have permissions to the service project where the destination IP address is located. The configuration analysis shows a result of Configuration analysis aborted. In the API response, this label corresponds to a final state of Abort.
Permissions only to the service project

You can't run the trace or select the host project network in the console because you don't have permission.

Because the host project owns network configurations, a trace against resources in the service project cannot proceed without access to VPC firewall rules, network routes, or IP addresses in the host project.

The overall reachability result is Undetermined because Connectivity Tests can't determine if the packet can be delivered to the destination.

Test failures for VPC Network Peering networks

With VPC Network Peering, not having permission to the peered network's Google Cloud project from the primary network can cause the test failures listed in the following table.

Failure type Behavior Trace results
You have no permissions to the project configuration in the peered VPC network. Connectivity Tests can only trace the configurations in the primary network's project. The configuration analysis shows a result of Packet could be forwarded. This result indicates that a packet would leave the network and be sent to a network that you do not have access to. In this case, the packet has been forwarded to a peered network gateway. In the API response, this state corresponds to a final state of Forward.

The following trace path shows this failure for peered VPC networks.

VM-to-VM trace through an inaccessible peered VPC network in a different project.
VM-to-VM trace through an inaccessible peered VPC network in a different project

What's next