版本

发布版本

Container-Optimized OS 的版本以整数三元组的形式表示;例如 10895.52.0。按照字典顺序排列,新的 Container-Optimized OS 版本比旧版本更大。例如,版本 10895.10.010895.9.0 更新。除了了解哪些映像比其他映像更新之外,这些版本编号并无太多意义。

发行版本作为 Container-Optimized OS 映像名称的后缀显示。例如,映像 cos-beta-69-10895-52-0 的版本是 10895.52.0

发布里程碑

Container-Optimized OS 映像按照发布里程碑的形式发布;例如发布里程碑 606162。里程碑是贯穿我们开发周期各个阶段的一系列映像;有关我们的开发周期的详细信息,请参阅发布版本。发布里程碑类似于主要软件版本。

映像的发布里程碑通常直接显示在 Container-Optimized OS 的映像名称中。例如,映像 cos-beta-69-10895-52-0 是里程碑 69 的一部分。

版本

Container-Optimized OS 的版本是每个里程碑在其开发过程中经过的多个稳定阶段。每个里程碑都有三个版本:

dev 版本

dev 版本的里程碑处于活跃功能开发阶段。dev 里程碑会定期发布映像。dev 里程碑的新版本包括 Container-Optimized OS 团队发布的最新功能。dev 版本通常每次仅有一个里程碑。大约六周后,dev 版本的里程碑会升级到 beta 版本。

beta 版本

beta 版本的里程碑功能已经齐备。beta 里程碑的新版本通常仅包含问题修复。beta 版本通常每次仅有一个里程碑。大约六周后,beta 版本的里程碑会升级到 stable 版本。

stable 版本

stable 版本的里程碑已经过充分测试,应具备较高的质量。stable 里程碑的新版本较为少见,包括重大问题修复和安全更新。stable 版本通常每次有多个里程碑。stable 版本的里程碑最终会弃用,弃用后不会再为相应里程碑发布新版本。如需详细了解各里程碑的支持期,请参阅支持政策

Container-Optimized OS 用户可以使用任何版本的映像。选择版本的经验法则如下:

  • 对于测试和原型设计,请选择 devbeta 版本的最新映像。
  • 对于生产部署,请选择 stable 版本的映像。

我该如何利用版本?

版本让 Container-Optimized OS 用户可以了解 Container-Optimized OS 里程碑的开发情况。强烈建议用户连同其生产环境一并设置分层式测试,以利用各种版本。例如,轻量级的“nightly”测试环境可以获取 dev 版本的最新版本,以测试新功能并尽早发现任何可能的中断,更复杂的模仿生产环境的“staging”或“canary”测试环境可以获取 beta 版本的最新版本。在将生产环境切换到 stable 版本的较新里程碑时,这种设置可以最大限度减少意外情况。

自动更新

Container-Optimized OS 使用主动-被动根分区方案。操作系统映像会完全更新,包括内核在内,而不是像传统 Linux 发行版那样逐个程序包进行更新。映像发布时已启用自动更新功能;也就是说,只要有较新的版本发布,默认 Container-Optimized OS 实例始终会下载相同版本,并将其立即安装到被动分区上。请注意,更新仅在重新启动实例后才会生效,并且自动更新程序在安装更新时不会强制执行重新启动。安装更新版本后,必须重新启动实例才能更新到较新的版本。

用户可以在正在运行的实例上使用以下命令检查自动更新的状态:

sudo update_engine_client --status

用户可以在正在运行的实例上使用以下命令触发自动更新:

sudo update_engine_client --update

在创建新实例时设置 cos-update-strategy 元数据可以停用自动更新:

gcloud compute instances create ... --metadata cos-update-strategy=update_disabled

或者在现有实例上使用 add-metadata

gcloud compute instances add-metadata ... --metadata cos-update-strategy=update_disabled

Release Channels

Release Versions

Container-Optimized OS versions are represented as 3-tuples of integers; for example, 10895.52.0. New Container-Optimized OS versions are lexicographically greater than older versions. For example, version 10895.10.0 is newer than 10895.9.0. These version numbers do not have much meaning beyond understanding which images are newer than other images.

Release versions are visible as the suffix of a Container-Optimized OS image name. As an example, the image cos-beta-69-10895-52-0 has the version 10895.52.0.

Release Milestones

Container-Optimized OS images are released on release milestones; example release milestones are 60, 61, and 62. A milestone is a sequence of images going through the stages of our development cycle; see Release Channels for more information about our development cycle. Release milestones are analogous to major software versions.

The milestone of an image is typically visible in a Container-Optimized OS image name. As an example, the image cos-beta-69-10895-52-0 is part of milestone 69.

Release Channels

Container-Optimized OS release channels are stages of stability that each milestone goes through over the course of its development. Each milestone goes through three release channels:

dev Channel

A milestone on the dev channel undergoes active feature development. Images are regularly released on a dev milestone. New releases on a dev milestone include the latest features from the Container-Optimized OS team. There is usually only one milestone on the dev channel at a time. A milestone on the dev channel is promoted to the beta channel after approximately six weeks.

beta Channel

A milestone on the beta channel is feature complete. New releases on a beta milestone typically only include bug fixes. There is usually only one milestone on the beta channel at a time. A milestone on the beta channel is promoted to the stable channel after approximately six weeks.

stable Channel

Milestones on the stable channel are well-tested and expected to be high quality. New releases on stable milestones are rare and include critical bug fixes and security updates. There are usually multiple milestones on the stable channel at a time. A milestone on the stable channel is eventually deprecated, at which point new releases are no longer made on the milestone. Refer to the Support Policy to learn more about the support window for each milestone.

Container-Optimized OS users can use images from any of the release channels. The rule of thumb for choosing a release channel is:

  • For testing and prototyping, select the latest image from the dev or beta channels.
  • For production deployments, select an image from the stable channel.

How do I take advantage of release channels?

Release channels give Container-Optimized OS users visibility into the development of a Container-Optimized OS milestone. It is strongly recommended that users set up tiered testing along with their production environment to utilize the release channels. For example, a light-weight "nightly" test environment can pick up the latest releases on the dev channel to test new features as well as to catch any potential breakage as early as possible, and a more involved "staging" or "canary" test environment that mimics the production environment can pick up latest releases on the beta channel. This kind of setup will minimize surprises when switching the production environment to a newer milestone on the stable channel.

Auto Updates

Container-Optimized OS uses an active-passive root partition scheme. The OS image is updated in its entirety, including the kernel, as opposed to package-by-package updates like on traditional Linux distributions. The image ships with the auto-update feature enabled; this means that a default Container-Optimized OS instance always downloads a newer OS version on the same channel and installs it on the passive partition soon after it's released. Note that the update does not take effect until the instance is rebooted, and the auto-updater does not force reboot when an update is installed. After an updated version has been installed, the instance must be rebooted before it can update to a newer version.

Users can check the status of auto-update using the following command on a running instance:

sudo update_engine_client --status

Users can trigger an auto-update using the following command on a running instance:

sudo update_engine_client --update

Disable auto-updates by setting the cos-update-strategy metadata when creating a new instance:

gcloud compute instances create ... --metadata cos-update-strategy=update_disabled

Or use add-metadata on an existing instance:

gcloud compute instances add-metadata ... --metadata cos-update-strategy=update_disabled
Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Container-Optimized OS