版本管理與升級

本頁面說明 Google Kubernetes Engine 的版本管理和自動升級。

版本管理

GKE 叢集支援從任何支援的次要版本「執行」Kubernetes 版本。在任何時間,次要版本就算沒有三個,也至少有兩個。但是,後續的中繼版本可能會更動「新叢集可用」的版本

版本管理架構

次要版本 (1.X)
Kubernetes 約每三個月會發行新的次要版本。次要版本會使 Kubernetes 版本從 1.X 遞增為 1.X+1;例如,Kubernetes 1.10 是在 Kubernetes 1.9 後面的次要版本。
修補程式版本 (1.X.Y)
通常每週會提供適用於 GKE 的新 Kubernetes 修補程式版本 (如 1.9.7)。修補程式版本會以漸進方式推行到每個運算區域;推行時間表公佈於 GKE 版本說明
安全更新和錯誤修正 (1.X.Y-gke.N)
修補程式版本後的字串為 -gke.N (例如 1.9.7-gke.N) 包括安全性更新和/或 GKE 的錯誤修正,以及開放原始碼上游的 Kubernetes 軟體。必須安裝這些更新或修正,才能與 Google Cloud Platform 相容和互通。

檢查可用的版本和預設版本

您可以透過 Google Cloud Platform 主控台或使用 gcloud 指令列工具,檢查指定區域中可用及預設的 Kubernetes 版本分別有哪些。

gcloud

如要查看可用和預設的版本分別有哪些,請執行下列指令:

gcloud container get-server-config --zone [COMPUTE_ZONE]

其中 [COMPUTE_ZONE] 是叢集的運算區域,如 us-central1-a

主控台

如要查看可用和預設的版本分別有哪些,請執行下列指令:

  1. 造訪 GCP 主控台中的 GKE 選單。

    造訪「GKE」選單

  2. 按一下 [建立叢集]。

  3. 按一下 [Master version] (主版本) 下拉式選單,即會列出目前所有可用的版本。系統會自動選取預設版本。

  4. 在「節點集區」的預設集區下方,按一下 [進階編輯]

  5. 按一下 [Node version] (節點版本) 下拉式選單,即會列出目前所有可用的版本。節點適用的預設版本會與叢集主節點適用的目前預設版本相符。

指定叢集版本

當您使用 gcloud 建立或升級叢集時,您可以使用 --cluster-version 標記來指定叢集版本。您可以使用特定版本,如 1.9.7-gke.N,也可以使用版本別名:

  • latest:指定在叢集區域或地區中 GKE 目前可用的最高支援 Kubernetes 版本。
  • 1.X:指定 1.X 次要版本中最高有效的 patch+gke.N 修補程式版本
  • 1.X.Y:指定 1.X.Y 修補程式版本中最高有效的 gke.N 修補程式。
  • -:針對叢集主節點,將預設 Kubernetes 版本指定給主節點。如要進行節點升級,請指定叢集主節點目前執行的版本。

將版本指定為 latest 來建立或升級叢集,將無法提供自動升級。請啟用自動節點升級,以確保叢集的節點使用最新的穩定版本,並保持在最新狀態。

升級

建立的新 GKE 叢集會使用「預設版本」,這是最新 Kubernetes 次要版本或修補程式版本的穩定版本。通常每週也會提供比預設值更新的版本。

自動叢集主節點版本升級

GKE 團隊會定期代您執行叢集主節點的自動升級。叢集主節點會升級到較新的 Kubernetes 穩定版本。自動升級通常會在幾週內分階段執行。

您也可以手動啟動主節點升級到比預設值更新的版本。

自動節點版本升級

使用 GCP 主控台建立的節點預設為自動升級。如果您希望自動升級使用 gcloud 指令列工具或 GKE API 建立的節點,您可以啟用自動節點升級

為您的 GKE 節點選擇版本時,請注意以下幾點:

  • 節點必須執行目前可用的版本。
  • 節點執行的版本不能比叢集目前的主節點版本還新。
  • 節點不能比主節點版本落後超過兩個次要版本。
本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Kubernetes Engine 說明文件

Versioning and upgrades

This page explains versioning and automatic upgrades in Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE).

Rollout schedule

GKE follows a predictable multi-day rollout schedule for making new versions available, as well as auto-upgrading cluster control planes (masters) and nodes. The rollout generally spans four or more days, and includes a buffer of time to observe and monitor for problems. Zones and regions are updated in a predictable order.

Day Available zones Available regions
Day 1 europe-west2-a, us-east1-d europe-west3, us-east1
Day 2 asia-east1-a, asia-east2-c, asia-northeast1-a, asia-northeast2-c, asia-northeast3-c, asia-south1-a, asia-southeast1-a, asia-southeast2-c, australia-southeast1-a, europe-north1-c, europe-west1-c, europe-west3-a, europe-west4-a, europe-west6-c, northamerica-northeast1-c, southamerica-east1-a, us-central1-b, us-east4-b, us-west1-a, us-west2-c, us-west3-c, us-west4-c asia-east1, asia-southeast1, europe-west6, northamerica-northeast1, us-east4, us-west2
Day 3 asia-east1-c, asia-east2-b, asia-northeast1-b, asia-northeast2-b, asia-northeast3-b, asia-south1-b, asia-southeast1-b, asia-southeast2-b, australia-southeast1-b, europe-north1-b, europe-west1-b, europe-west2-b, europe-west3-b, europe-west4-c, europe-west6-b, northamerica-northeast1-b, southamerica-east1-b, us-central1-f, us-east1-c, us-east4-c, us-west1-b, us-west2-b, us-west3-b, us-west4-b asia-east2, asia-northeast1, australia-southeast1, europe-west1, europe-west2, southamerica-east1, us-west1
Day 4 asia-east1-b, asia-east2-a, asia-northeast1-c, asia-northeast2-a, asia-northeast3-a, asia-south1-c, asia-southeast1-c, asia-southeast2-a, australia-southeast1-c, europe-north1-a, europe-west1-d, europe-west2-c, europe-west3-c, europe-west4-b, europe-west6-a, northamerica-northeast1-a, southamerica-east1-c, us-central1-a, us-central1-c, us-east1-b, us-east4-a, us-west1-c, us-west2-a, us-west3-a, us-west4-a asia-northeast2, asia-northeast3, asia-south1, asia-southeast2, europe-north1, europe-west4, us-central1, us-west3, us-west4

Versioning

GKE clusters support running Kubernetes versions from any supported minor release. At least two, if not three, minor versions are available at any given time. However, subsequent intermediate releases might change what versions are available for new clusters.

Versioning scheme

Minor versions (1.X)
Kubernetes releases a new minor version approximately every three months. A minor version increments the Kubernetes version from 1.X to 1.X+1; for example, Kubernetes 1.10 is the minor release that follows Kubernetes 1.9.
Patch releases (1.X.Y)
New Kubernetes patch releases (such as 1.9.7) for use with GKE typically become available each week. Patch releases are rolled out to each compute zone incrementally.
Security updates and bug fixes (1.X.Y-gke.N)
A patch release with a -gke.N suffix (such as 1.9.7-gke.N) includes security updates and/or bug fixes for GKE alongside the open-source upstream Kubernetes software. These updates or fixes are required for compatibility and interoperability with Google Cloud.

Checking available and default versions

For information on available versions, see the GKE release notes.

You can also check which Kubernetes versions are available and default in a given zone from Google Cloud Console or by using the gcloud command-line tool.

gcloud

To see which versions are available and default, run the following command:

gcloud container get-server-config --zone compute-zone

where compute-zone is your cluster's compute zone, such as us-central1-a.

Console

To see which versions are available and default, perform the following steps:

  1. Visit the GKE menu in Cloud Console.

    Visit the GKE menu

  2. Click Create cluster.

  3. Click the Master version drop-down menu. All currently available versions are listed. The default version is automatically selected.

  4. From Node pools, under the default pool, click Advanced edit.

  5. Click the Node version drop-down menu. All currently available versions are listed. The default version for nodes matches the current default version for cluster control planes.

If you expect a version to be available to you and it isn't, check the Rollout schedule for your cluster's zone or region.

Specifying cluster version

When you create or upgrade a cluster using gcloud, you can specify a cluster version using the --cluster-version flag. You can use a specific version, such as 1.9.7-gke.N. You can also use a version alias:

  • latest: Specifies the highest supported Kubernetes version currently available on GKE in the cluster's zone or region.
  • 1.X: Specifies the highest valid patch+gke.N patch release in the 1.X minor version
  • 1.X.Y: Specifies the highest valid gke.N patch in the 1.X.Y patch release.
  • -: For cluster control planes, specifies the default Kubernetes version for control planes. For node upgrades, specifies the version that the cluster control plane is currently running.

Creating or upgrading a cluster by specifying the version as latest does not provide automatic upgrades. Enable automatic node upgrades to ensure that the nodes in your cluster up to date with the latest stable version.

Specifying node version

When you create or upgrade a node pool, you can specify its version. By default, nodes run the same version of GKE as the control plane. Nodes can be no more than two minor versions older than control planes.

With rare exceptions, node versions remain available even if the cluster version is no longer available.

Upgrades

New GKE clusters are created with a default version, a stable release of a recent Kubernetes minor version or patch release. Versions newer than the default are also generally available on a weekly basis.

Automatic cluster control plane version upgrades

Periodically, the GKE team performs automatic upgrades of your cluster control plane on your behalf. Control planes are upgraded to newer stable versions of Kubernetes. Automatic upgrades are typically performed in stages over multiple weeks.

You can also manually initiate a control plane upgrade to a version newer than the default.

To see when the control plane was recently updated, run the following command:

gcloud container operations list --filter="TYPE:UPGRADE_MASTER AND TARGET:cluster-name"

Replace cluster-name with the name of your cluster.

Automatic node version upgrades

Nodes created using Cloud Console are automatically upgraded by default. If you want nodes created with the gcloud command line tool or the GKE API to be upgraded automatically, you can enable automatic node upgrades.

Consider the following when choosing the version for your GKE nodes:

  • Nodes must run a version that is currently available.
  • Nodes cannot run a version newer than the cluster's current control plane version.
  • Nodes cannot be more than two minor versions behind the control plane version.