关键术语

本页面介绍适用于网络连接产品的关键术语。请查看这些术语,以更好地了解每个产品的工作原理。

Google Cloud 术语

以下术语适用于 Google Cloud 及其特性。

Google Cloud
Google Cloud 是 Google 提供的一套公有云计算服务。 如需了解详情,请参阅 Google Cloud 产品
项目 ID
您的 Google Cloud 项目的 ID。项目包含网络资源,例如网络、子网和 Cloud VPN 网关,如 VPC 网络概览中所述。如需了解项目名称项目 ID项目编号之间的区别,请参阅标识项目。您可以在 Google Cloud Console 中查看项目 ID。

Cloud VPN 术语

以下术语适用于 Cloud VPN 网关和隧道,以及您的对等网络中的网关。

Cloud VPN 网关
在 Google Cloud 中运行的虚拟 VPN 网关,此网关由 Google 管理,使用您在项目中指定的配置,并仅供您使用。每个 Cloud VPN 网关都是使用一个或多个地区外部 IP 地址的地区资源。Cloud VPN 网关可以连接到对等 VPN 网关。
传统 VPN
高可用性 VPN 的前身。如需了解详情,请参阅 Cloud VPN 类型
高可用性 VPN
将传统 VPN 替换为了服务等级协议 (SLA) 承诺可用性达 99.99% 的网关。如需了解详情,请参阅 Cloud VPN 类型
外部 VPN 网关
您在 Google Cloud 中为高可用性 VPN 配置的网关资源,用于向 Google Cloud 提供有关您的一个或多个对等 VPN 网关的信息。根据对等 VPN 网关供应商提供的高可用性建议,您可以为 Cloud VPN 拓扑中描述的不同类型的对等 VPN 网关创建外部 VPN 网关资源。
对等 VPN 网关
连接到 Cloud VPN 网关的网关。对等 VPN 网关可以是以下任何一种:
  • 其他 Cloud VPN 网关
  • 由 AWS 或 Microsoft Azure 等其他云服务提供商托管的 VPN 网关
  • 本地 VPN 设备或 VPN 服务
远程对等 IP 地址

对于连接到外部 VPN 网关的高可用性 VPN 网关接口,远程对等 IP 地址是用于隧道的外部 VPN 网关接口的 IP 地址。

对于连接到其他高可用性 VPN 网关的高可用性 VPN 网关接口,远程对等 IP 地址是用于隧道的其他高可用性 VPN 网关接口的 IP 地址

对于传统 VPN,远程对等 IP 地址是对等 VPN 网关的公共 IP 地址。

VPN 隧道
VPN 隧道用于连接两个 VPN 网关,并充当传输加密流量的虚拟介质。要在两个 VPN 网关之间建立连接,您必须建立两个 VPN 隧道:每个隧道从其网关的角度定义连接,并且只有在建立隧道对之后才能传输流量。Cloud VPN 隧道始终与特定的 Cloud VPN 网关资源相关联。
连接
根据 Google Cloud 的定义,连接是 Cloud VPN 和对等 VPN 位置之间的逻辑链接,一端由 vpnGateway 资源标识,另一端由 externalVpnGateway 或其他 Google Cloud VpnGateway 资源标识。连接还包含所有 vpnTunnel 资源和网关资源之间的 BGP 会话。
互联网密钥交换 (IKE)
IKE 是用于身份验证和协商加密流量会话密钥的协议。

Cloud Interconnect 术语

以下关键术语描述据以构建 Cloud Interconnect 的概念。每个部分均指示术语是否适用于专用互连和/或合作伙伴互连。

Cloud Interconnect 元素

互连(专用)

Cloud Interconnect 连接代表 Google 和本地网络之间的特定物理连接。此连接位于对接网点中,您的本地网络和 Google 的网络在这里汇合在一起。

单一连接可以是单一 10G 链路、单一 100G 链路或链路捆绑。如果您在不同位置有多个与 Google 的连接,或有多个与不同设备的连接,则您必须创建单独的 Cloud Interconnect 连接。

VLAN 连接(专用和合作伙伴)

VLAN 连接也称为互连连接,VLAN 连接是本地网络与 VPC 网络中单个地区之间的逻辑连接。

创建 VLAN 连接时,您会将其与项目、地区、现有 Cloud Router 路由器和现有 Cloud Interconnect 连接相关联。Cloud Router 路由器随后通过连接与您的本地路由器建立点到点 BGP 会话。

  • 对于专用互连,VLAN 连接使用您创建的连到本地路由器的专用连接。
  • 对于合作伙伴互连,连接使用由您选择的合作伙伴设置和管理的连接。

虽然用于专用互连或合作伙伴互连的 VLAN 连接未与 VPC 网络直接关联,但与单个网络间接关联,因为 Cloud Router 路由器只能与单个 VPC 网络关联。因此,VLAN 连接与其 Cloud Router 路由器所在的网络相关联。

对于专用互连

专用互连的 VLAN 连接会在您的专用互连连接上分配单个 802.1Q VLAN,并将其连接到特定的 VPC 网络。由于专用互连的每个连接都支持多个 VLAN 连接,因此您可以访问多个 VPC 网络而无需创建多个连接。

您创建的每个连接都与 VPC 网络和 Google Cloud 地区相关联:

  • 当您将专用互连的连接与 VPC 网络相关联时,此网络必须与包含 Cloud Interconnect 连接的项目位于同一组织的项目中。
  • 连接的有效地区集取决于 Cloud Interconnect 所使用的对接网点

您可以设置每个连接的容量。如需查看容量列表,请参阅“价格”页面。默认连接容量为 10 Gbps。

容量设置限制了连接可以使用的最大带宽。如果您在一个 Cloud Interconnect 连接上有多个连接,则容量限制可能有助于防止连接出现网络拥塞。最大带宽为近似值,因此连接可能会使用比所选容量更大的带宽。

由于容量设置仅限制从 Google Cloud 到对接网点的 Cloud Interconnect 连接的出站流量带宽,因此建议您在路由器上为您的连接配置一个出站流量速率限制器。通过配置此限制器,您可以针对使用该连接的流量限制到 VPC 网络的最大入站流量带宽。

对于合作伙伴互连

如需向服务提供商请求合作伙伴互连连接,您需要在 Google Cloud 项目中创建 VLAN 连接。VLAN 连接会生成唯一配对密钥,您需要将此密钥告知服务提供商。服务提供商使用该配对密钥以及您请求的连接位置和容量来完成 VLAN 连接的配置。

在您的服务提供商配置了连接后,他们会在您的本地连接上分配特定的 802.1q VLAN。

Cloud Router 路由器(专用和合作伙伴)

Cloud Router 路由器使用边界网关协议 (BGP) 在 VPC 网络和本地网络之间动态交换路由。在创建 VLAN 连接之前,您必须在要连接的 VPC 网络中创建 Cloud Router 路由器或使用现有的 Cloud Router 路由器。然后将该连接与此 Cloud Router 路由器相关联。此 Cloud Router 路由器会创建连接到本地(对等)路由器的 BGP 会话。

如需详细了解 Cloud Router 路由器,请参阅概览

Cloud Router 路由器的 BGP 配置取决于您使用的是第 2 层还是第 3 层连接。专用互连仅使用第 2 层连接。合作伙伴互连可以使用第 2 层或第 3 层连接。

  • 对于第 2 层,您要在自己的 Cloud Router 路由器和本地路由器之间建立 BGP 会话。
  • 对于第 3 层,您的服务提供商在您的 Cloud Router 路由器和他们的边缘路由器之间建立 BGP。如需了解详情,请参阅第 2 层与第 3 层连接

Cloud Router 路由器在其 VPC 网络中通告子网,并将已知路由传播到这些子网。除非您配置自定义路由通告,否则 Cloud Router 路由器会通告以下路由:

  • 如果您的 VPC 网络使用地区动态路由模式,则 Cloud Router 路由器会在其所在地区通告子网路由
  • 如果您的 VPC 网络使用全球动态路由模式,则 Cloud Router 路由器会在所有地区通告子网路由。

Cloud Router 路由器还会在 VPC 网络中为从本地(对等)路由器获知的目的地创建自定义动态路由。根据 VPC 网络的动态路由模式(地区或全球),Cloud Router 路由器会仅对 Cloud Router 路由器所在地区或所有地区提供这些路由。

Cloud Interconnect 位置

互连位置或对接网点(专用,合作伙伴带有备注)

互连位置是预配 Cloud Interconnect 物理连接所在的对接网点。这是您的本地路由设备与 Google 的对等互连边缘相连的位置。

对接网点是指 Google 设有入网点 (POP) 的位置,允许您将您的本地网络与 Google 网络相连接。在对接网点中,您与网点提供商合作预配您的路由设备,然后才能使用专用互连。

每个互连位置支持部分 Google Cloud 地区。例如,lga-zone1-16 支持在地区 northamerica-northeast1us-east1us-west1us-west2us-east4us-central1 使用 VLAN 连接。

如需查看所有位置及其所支持区域的列表,请参阅选择对接网点位置

使用合作伙伴互连时,合作伙伴已经建立连到 Google 网络的连接。位置集会有所不同,具体取决于您选择的合作伙伴。设置 VLAN 连接时,您可以从合作伙伴的可用位置中进行选择。如需查看每个服务提供商支持的位置列表,请参阅“服务提供商”页面

每个合作伙伴位置支持部分 Google Cloud 地区。在这些受支持的地区,您可以连接到您的 Cloud Router 路由器及关联的 VLAN 连接。例如,如果您选择 Ashburn 位置,则可以连接到所有北美地区,如 us-east1us-west1。如需查看 Google Cloud 地区列表,请参阅“地区/区域”页面

服务提供商(合作伙伴)

合作伙伴互连的网络服务提供商。如需使用合作伙伴互连,您必须连接到受支持的服务提供商。服务提供商在您的本地网络与 VPC 网络之间提供连接。

都市区域(都市圈)(专用或合作伙伴)

都市区域(都市圈)是对接网点所在的城市。

您选择的都市圈取决于本地网络的位置和 Compute Engine 虚拟机实例的位置(其 Google Cloud 地区)。通常,您可能希望选择地理位置靠近您本地网络的都市圈,以缩短延迟时间。配置冗余连接时,您可以额外选择较远的都市圈。

每个都市圈支持部分 Google Cloud 地区。您只能在这些受支持的地区创建 VLAN 连接。例如,如果您选择 Ashburn 的一个网点,则只能在北美地区创建 VLAN 连接。假设您的虚拟机实例也位于这些地区,那么您可以在虚拟机所在的地区中创建 VLAN 连接,以减少延迟时间和出站流量费用。否则,流量必须在地区之间传输,才能连接您的虚拟机实例或本地网络。

如需了解详情,请参阅选择对接网点位置

都市可用性网域(专用或合作伙伴)

边缘可用性网域 (EAD) 的旧称。

边缘可用性网域 (EAD)(专用或合作伙伴)

每个都市区域至少有两个被称为边缘可用性网域的区域。这些网域在计划维护期间提供隔离,意味着同一个都市圈的两个网域不会同时停机维护。为了实现冗余而构建时,此隔离尤为重要。

边缘可用性网域横跨单个都市圈,而不横跨多个都市圈。为了维持可用性和服务等级协议 (SLA),您必须在同一都市圈的不同边缘可用性网域中构建重复互连连接。例如,在 dfw-zone1-4dfw-zone2-4 构建连接可在不同的边缘可用性网域之间提供冗余,但在 dfw-zone1-4dfw-zone1-505 构建连接不会提供冗余,因为它们位于相同的边缘可用性网域。

维护期不可跨都市圈进行协调。例如,边缘可用性网域 dfw-zone1-4ord-zone1-7 可能会出现维护事件重叠的情况。当连接到多个都市圈以实现冗余时,请务必按照生产拓扑中的说明连接每个都市圈中的不同边缘可用性网域。

预配和配置

LOA-CFA(专用)

授权书和连接设施分配文件 (LOA-CFA) 可标识 Google 为您的专用互连连接分配的连接端口,并向对接网点处的供应商授予连接到这些端口的权限。当您在对接网点处订购专用互连连接时,需要 LOA-CFA 文档。

当您订购专用互连连接时,Google 为您的连接分配资源,然后为每个资源生成 LOA-CFA 文档。LOA-CFA 列出了 Google 为您的连接分配的分界点。将此表单提交给网点供应商,以便在 Google 的设备与您的设备之间预配交叉连接。连接状态更改为 PROVISIONED 后,LOA-CFA 在 Google Cloud Console 中将不再有效、不再必要或者不再可用。

如需详细了解预配流程,请参阅专用互连预配概览

配对密钥(合作伙伴)

配对密钥仅用于合作伙伴互连。借助该唯一标识符,服务提供商可识别特定 VLAN 连接,不需要任何人共享有关其 VPC 网络或 Google Cloud 项目的潜在敏感信息。在配置您的 VLAN 连接之前,应将配对密钥视为敏感信息。如果其他方发现该密钥,他们可能会使用其连接到您的网络。该密钥为一次性密钥,不能修改。如果您需要新的配对密钥,请删除您的 VLAN 连接,然后创建新连接。

配对密钥使用以下格式:
<random>/<vlan-attachment-region>/<edge-availability-domain>。例如,7e51371e-72a3-40b5-b844-2e3efefaee59/us-central1/2us-central1 地区和边缘可用性网域 2 中 VLAN 连接的配对密钥。

边界网关协议 (BGP) 术语

以下术语适用于边界网关协议 (BGP),Cloud VPN 和 Cloud Interconnect 使用该协议进行动态路由。

边界网关协议 (BGP)
互联网工程任务组 (IETF) 在 RFC 1722 中标准化的外部网关路由协议。BGP 会自动在互联网上的各个自治系统之间交换路由和可达性信息。如果您的设备可以执行 BGP 路由,那么它就支持 BGP。这意味着您可以为其启用 BGP 协议并分配 BGP IP 地址和自治系统编号。要确定您的设备是否支持 BGP,请查看设备的供应商信息或与设备供应商联系。
自治系统 (AS)
向互联网(例如互联网服务提供商 (ISP)、大型公司或大学)提供通用路由政策的单个管理实体或网域控制的互联 IP 路由前缀集合。
自治系统编号 (ASN)
为每个使用 BGP 路由的自治系统分配的唯一标识符。如需了解详情,请参阅 RFC 1930

Key terms

This page provides key terminology that applies to Network Connectivity products. Review these terms to better understand how each product works.

Google Cloud terms

The following terminology applies to Google Cloud and its features.

Google Cloud
Google Cloud is a suite of public cloud computing services offered by Google. For more information, see Google Cloud products.
project ID
The ID of your Google Cloud project. A project contains networking resources such as networks, subnets, and Cloud VPN gateways as described in the VPC network overview. For a description of the difference between project name, project ID, and project number, see Identifying projects. You can view the project ID in the Google Cloud Console.

Cloud VPN terms

The following terms apply to Cloud VPN gateways and tunnels as well as gateways on your peer network.

Cloud VPN gateway
A virtual VPN gateway running in Google Cloud managed by Google, using a configuration that you specify in your project, and used only by you. Each Cloud VPN gateway is a regional resource that uses one or more regional external IP addresses. A Cloud VPN gateway can connect to a peer VPN gateway.
Classic VPN
The predecessor to HA VPN. For more information, see Types of Cloud VPN.
HA VPN
Replaces Classic VPN with a gateway that provides a 99.99% availability SLA. For more information, see Types of Cloud VPN.
external VPN gateway
A gateway resource that you configure in Google Cloud for HA VPN that provides information to Google Cloud about your peer VPN gateway or gateways. Depending on the high availability recommendations from your peer VPN gateway vendor, you can create an external VPN gateway resource for the different types of peer VPN gateways described in Cloud VPN topologies.
peer VPN gateway
A gateway that is connected to a Cloud VPN gateway. A peer VPN gateway can be one of the following:
  • Another Cloud VPN gateway
  • A VPN gateway hosted by another cloud provider such as AWS or Microsoft Azure
  • An on-premises VPN device or VPN service
remote peer IP address

For an HA VPN gateway interface that connects to an external VPN gateway, the remote peer IP address is the IP address of the interface on the external VPN gateway that is used for the tunnel.

For an HA VPN gateway interface that connects to another HA VPN gateway, the remote peer IP address is the IP address of the other HA VPN gateway's interface that is used for the tunnel.

For Classic VPN, the remote peer IP address is the public IP address of the peer VPN gateway.

VPN tunnel
A VPN tunnel connects two VPN gateways and serves as a virtual medium through which encrypted traffic is passed. Two VPN tunnels must be established to create a connection between two VPN gateways: each tunnel defines the connection from the perspective of its gateway, and traffic can only pass after the pair of tunnels is established. A Cloud VPN tunnel is always associated with a specific Cloud VPN gateway resource.
connection
As defined for Google Cloud, a logical link between Cloud VPN and peer VPN locations as identified by a vpnGateway resource at one end, and an externalVpnGateway or another Google Cloud VpnGateway resource at the peer end. A connection also includes all of the vpnTunnel resources and BGP sessions between the gateway resources.
Internet Key Exchange (IKE)
IKE is the protocol used for authentication and to negotiate a session key for encrypting traffic.

Cloud Interconnect terms

The following key terminology describes the concepts on which Cloud Interconnect is built. Each section indicates whether a term applies to Dedicated Interconnect, Partner Interconnect, or both.

Cloud Interconnect elements

Interconnect connection (Dedicated Interconnect)

A specific physical connection between Google and your on-premises network. This connection exists in a colocation facility where your on-premises network and Google's network meet.

A single connection can be a single 10-Gbps link, a single 100-Gbps link, or a link bundle. If you have multiple connections to Google at different locations or to different devices, you must create separate Interconnect connections.

connection type
A Dedicated Interconnect connection or a Partner Interconnect connection.
VLAN attachment (Dedicated Interconnect and Partner Interconnect)

Also known as an interconnect attachment, or interconnectAttachment resource in the Compute Engine API, a VLAN (virtual local area network) attachment is a logical connection between your on-premises network and a single region in your Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) network.

When you create a VLAN attachment, you associate it with a project, a region, an existing or new Cloud Router, and an existing Interconnect connection. Cloud Router then establishes a point-to-point Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) session over the attachment to your on-premises router.

  • For Dedicated Interconnect, the VLAN attachment uses a dedicated connection that you create to your on-premises router.
  • For Partner Interconnect, the attachment uses a connection that your chosen partner sets up and manages.

Although a VLAN attachment used with Dedicated Interconnect or Partner Interconnect is not directly associated with a VPC network, it is indirectly tied to a single network because a Cloud Router can only be associated with a single VPC network. Therefore, the VLAN attachment is tied to the network that its Cloud Router is located in.

For Dedicated Interconnect

A VLAN attachment for Dedicated Interconnect allocates a single 802.1Q VLAN on your Dedicated Interconnect connection and connects it to a specific VPC network. Because each connection for Dedicated Interconnect supports multiple VLAN attachments, you can access multiple VPC networks without creating multiple connections.

Each attachment that you create is associated with a VPC network and a Google Cloud region:

  • When you associate an attachment for Dedicated Interconnect with a VPC network, this network must be in a project in the same organization as the project that contains the Interconnect connection.
  • The set of valid regions for an attachment depends on the colocation facility used by the Cloud Interconnect.

You can set the capacity of each attachment. For a list of capacities, see the Pricing page. The default attachment capacity is 10 Gbps.

The capacity setting limits the maximum bandwidth that an attachment can use. If you have multiple attachments on a single Interconnect connection, the capacity limitation might be helpful in cases where you want to prevent network congestion on your connection. The maximum bandwidth is approximate, so it's possible for an attachment to use more bandwidth than the selected capacity.

Because the capacity setting only limits the egress bandwidth from Google Cloud to the colocation facility for the Interconnect connection, we recommend that you configure an egress rate limiter on your router for your connection. Configuring this limiter enables you to cap the maximum ingress bandwidth to your VPC network for traffic using that connection.

For Partner Interconnect

To request Partner Interconnect connectivity from a service provider, you create a VLAN attachment in your Google Cloud project. The VLAN attachment generates a unique pairing key that you share with your service provider. The service provider uses the pairing key, along with your requested connection location and capacity, to complete the configuration of your VLAN attachment.

After your service provider configures the attachment, they allocate a specific 802.1q VLAN on your on-premises connection.

Cloud Router (Dedicated Interconnect and Partner Interconnect)

Cloud Router uses Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) to dynamically exchange routes between your VPC network and your on-premises network. Before you can create a VLAN attachment, you must create or use an existing Cloud Router in the VPC network that you want to connect to. You then associate the attachment with this Cloud Router. The Cloud Router creates a BGP session that connects to your on-premises (peer) router.

For detailed information about Cloud Router, see the overview.

The BGP configuration of the Cloud Router depends on whether you're using layer 2 or layer 3 connectivity. Dedicated Interconnect uses only layer 2 connectivity. Partner Interconnect can use layer 2 or layer 3 connectivity.

  • For layer 2, you establish a BGP session between your Cloud Router and your on-premises router.
  • For layer 3, your service provider establishes a BGP session between your Cloud Router and their edge router. For more information, see Layer 2 versus layer 3 connectivity.

Cloud Router advertises subnets in its VPC network and propagates learned routes to those subnets. Unless you configure custom route advertisements, Cloud Router advertises the following routes:

  • If your VPC network uses regional dynamic routing mode, Cloud Router advertises subnet routes in the region where it is located.
  • If your VPC network uses global dynamic routing mode, Cloud Router advertises subnet routes in all regions.

Cloud Router also creates custom dynamic routes in your VPC network for destinations that it learns from your on-premises (peer) router. According to the dynamic routing mode of the VPC network (regional or global), Cloud Router makes those routes available to only the Cloud Router's region or to all regions.

Cloud Interconnect locations

Interconnect connection location or colocation facility (Dedicated Interconnect, with notes for Partner Interconnect)

The colocation facility where a physical Interconnect connection is provisioned. This location is where your on-premises routing equipment meets Google's peering edge.

A colocation facility is where Google has a point of presence (PoP), enabling you to connect your on-premises network with Google's network. In the colocation facility, you work with the facility provider to provision your routing equipment before using Dedicated Interconnect.

Each Interconnect connection location supports a subset of Google Cloud regions. For example, lga-zone1-16 supports VLAN attachments in the regions northamerica-northeast1, us-east1, us-west1, us-west2, us-east4, and us-central1.

For a list of all locations and their supported regions, see Choosing colocation facility locations.

When using Partner Interconnect, partners have already set up connections to Google's network. The set of locations varies, depending on which partner you choose. When you set up your VLAN attachment, you can select from the partner's available locations. For a list of locations that each service provider supports, see the Service providers page.

Each partner location supports a subset of Google Cloud regions. These supported regions are where you can connect to your Cloud Routers and associated VLAN attachments. For example, if you choose the Ashburn location, you can reach all the North American regions, such as us-east1 and us-west1. For a list of Google Cloud regions, see the Regions and zones page.

service provider (Partner Interconnect)

A network service provider for Partner Interconnect. To use Partner Interconnect, you must connect to a supported service provider. The service provider provides connectivity between your on-premises network and your VPC network.

metropolitan area (metro) (Dedicated Interconnect or Partner Interconnect)

The city where a colocation facility is located.

The metro that you choose depends on the location of your on-premises network and the location of your Compute Engine VM instances (their Google Cloud region). Typically, you might want to pick a metro that's geographically close to your on-premises network to reduce latency. When configuring a redundant connection, you might choose an additional metro that is further away.

Each metro supports a subset of Google Cloud regions. You can create VLAN attachments only in these supported regions. For example, if you pick a facility in Ashburn, you can only create VLAN attachments in the North American regions. Assuming that your VM instances are also located in these regions, you can create VLAN attachments in the same regions as your VMs to reduce latency and egress costs. Otherwise, traffic would have to travel between regions to reach your VM instances or on-premises network.

For more information, see Choosing colocation facility locations.

metro availability zone (Dedicated Interconnect or Partner Interconnect)

An older term for edge availability domain.

edge availability domain (Dedicated Interconnect or Partner Interconnect)

Each metropolitan area has at least two zones called edge availability domains. These domains provide isolation during scheduled maintenance, which means that two domains in the same metro are not down for maintenance at the same time. This isolation is important when you're building for redundancy.

Edge availability domains span a single metro, not across metros. To maintain availability and an SLA, you must build duplicate Interconnect connections in different edge availability domains in the same metro. For example, building connections in dfw-zone1-4 and dfw-zone2-4 provides redundancy across different edge availability domains, whereas building them in dfw-zone1-4 and dfw-zone1-505 does not because they are in the same edge availability domain.

Maintenance windows are not coordinated across metros. For example, the edge availability domains dfw-zone1-4 and ord-zone1-7 could experience overlapping maintenance events. When connecting to multiple metros for redundancy, it is important to connect to different edge availability domains in each of those metros, as described in the production topology.

Provisioning and configuration

Letter of Authorization and Connecting Facility Assignment (LOA-CFA) (Dedicated Interconnect)

An LOA-CFA identifies the connection ports that Google has assigned for your Dedicated Interconnect connection, and grants permission for a vendor in a colocation facility to connect to them. LOA-CFA documents are required when you order Dedicated Interconnect connections in a colocation facility.

When you order Dedicated Interconnect connections, Google allocates resources for your connections and then generates an LOA-CFA document for each one. The LOA-CFA lists the demarcation points that Google allocated for your connections. Submit this form to the facility vendor to provision cross-connects between Google's equipment and your own. After the status of a connection changes to PROVISIONED, the LOA-CFA is no longer valid, necessary, or available in the Google Cloud Console.

For more information about the provisioning flow, see the Dedicated Interconnect Provisioning overview.

pairing key (Partner Interconnect)

A unique identifier that lets service providers identify particular VLAN attachments without anyone sharing potentially sensitive information about their VPC network or Google Cloud project. Pairing keys are used only for Partner Interconnect.

Treat the pairing key as sensitive information until your VLAN attachment is configured. If it's discovered, it's possible for other parties to use it to connect to your network. The key is for one-time use and can't be modified. If you need a new pairing key, delete your VLAN attachment and create a new one.

Pairing keys use the following format:
<random>/<vlan-attachment-region>/<edge-availability-domain>.

For example, 7e51371e-72a3-40b5-b844-2e3efefaee59/us-central1/2 is a pairing key for a VLAN attachment in the us-central1 region and edge availability domain 2.

Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) terms

The following terminology applies to the Border Gateway Protocol (BGP), which Cloud VPN and Cloud Interconnect use for dynamic routing.

Border Gateway Protocol (BGP)
An exterior gateway routing protocol standardized by the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) in RFC 1722. BGP automatically exchanges routing and reachability information among autonomous systems on the internet. Your device is BGP-capable if it can perform BGP routing, which means that you can enable the BGP protocol on it and assign it a BGP IP address and an autonomous system number. To determine if your device supports BGP, see the vendor information for your device or contact your device's vendor.
autonomous system (AS)
A collection of connected IP routing prefixes under the control of a single administrative entity or domain that presents a common routing policy to the internet, such as an internet service provider (ISP), a large company, or a university.
autonomous system number (ASN)
A unique identifier allocated to each autonomous system that uses BGP routing. For more information, see RFC 1930.