Manage migration jobs

You can perform actions from the migration jobs list, or from the single migration page. You can perform an action on multiple jobs simultaneously on migration jobs that all have the same status.

User action Description
Start Start migration jobs that were created without being started.
Stop

Stop a running migration job at any time. During either the full dump phase or the CDC phase, the data migration is halted, and the migration job status changes to Stopping and subsequently to Stopped.

  • If the migration job is stopped during the full dump phase, then you can delete or restart the job.
  • If the migration job is stopped during the change data capture (CDC) phase, then you can resume, promote, or delete the job.

If the time period between stopping the replication and resuming it is too long, the log position may be lost and the migration job must be deleted or recreated.

Resume

If a migration was stopped during the CDC phase, it can be resumed. Resuming the migration job resumes replication of the events that were accumulated during the stopped time.

Restart

If the migration failed and isn't recoverable, or was stopped during a full dump, then it can be restarted from the beginning.

Restarting the migration wipes all data from the destination instance; then the migration restarts immediately, including with a new dump. If the dump was manually provided, then it's highly likely that the restart will fail because the dump will be out of date.

Delete A migration job can be deleted. The outcome depends on the status of the job:
  • If the migration job status was Completed, the record is deleted from the migration job list.
  • If the migration job was in any other status, there is an option to choose to delete the destination Cloud SQL instance/primary pair.
Promote See Promote a migration.