1.8 版。如 Anthos 版本支持政策中所述,提此版本是受支持的版本,提供影响 VMware 上的 Anthos 集群 (GKE On-Prem) 的安全漏洞、威胁和问题的最新补丁程序和更新。如需了解详情,请参阅版本说明。这不是最新版本

强化集群的安全性

Kubernetes 的开发速度较快,经常会有新的安全功能供您使用。本文档介绍如何强化 Anthos Clusters on VMware (GKE On-Prem) 集群。

本指南首先介绍重要安全措施,这些措施需要您在创建集群时执行相关操作。不太重要的功能、默认安全的设置以及可在创建集群后启用的功能会在文档后面介绍。如需大致了解安全主题,请参阅安全

核对清单

以下部署核对清单强调了强化 Anthos 集群平台部署安全性的最佳做法。如需详细了解每种做法,请参阅本文档中的各个部分。

部署核对清单 说明
身份和访问权限控制

使用 vSphere 帐号权限
使用具有最小权限的 vSphere 管理员帐号。

保护 Google Cloud 服务帐号的安全
尽可能减小 Google Cloud 服务帐号权限。

配置 OpenID Connect (OIDC)
配置 OpenID Connect 以进行用户身份验证。

使用 Kubernetes 命名空间和 RBAC 限制访问权限
将命名空间与 RBAC 搭配使用以实现管理隔离和最小权限角色和权限。

数据保护

加密 vSphere 虚拟机
设置 vSphere 以加密 Anthos clusters on VMware 使用的卷。

管理密文
加密静态密文。

网络保护

限制对控制层面和节点的网络访问
设置控制措施以隔离和保护控制层面网络和节点。

使用网络政策来限制流量
实施网络政策以限制集群内流量。

声明式安全

使用 Anthos Config Management 政策控制器
在您的集群中安装声明式安全政策的 Anthos Config Management 政策控制器。

维护

升级 Anthos
确保您运行的是适用于您的平台的最新版 Anthos。

监控安全公告
查看 Anthos 安全公告,获取关于版本控制的最新建议和指导。

监控和日志记录

设置 Anthos 集群日志记录选项
确保日志记录已启用并集成到 SIEM 解决方案中。

身份和访问权限控制

使用 vSphere 帐号权限

您用于安装 Anthos Clusters on VMware 的 vCenter 用户帐号必须具有足够的权限。例如,分配了 vCenter 管理员角色的用户帐号拥有对所有 vCenter 对象的完全访问权限,并向 Anthos clusters on VMware 集群管理员提供完全访问权限。

建议使用最小权限原则,仅授予成功安装 Anthos 的必要权限。我们预定义了执行安装所需的最小权限集以及授予这些权限所需的命令。

保护 Google Cloud 服务帐号的安全

Anthos clusters on VMware 需要 3 个 Google Cloud 服务帐号

  • 用于访问 Anthos clusters on VMware 软件的预定义服务帐号。您可以在购买 Anthos 时创建此帐号。
  • 注册服务帐号,供 Connect 用于向 Google Cloud 注册 Anthos clusters on VMware 集群。
  • Cloud Logging 服务帐号,用于收集集群日志以供 Cloud Logging 使用。

在安装期间,您将 Identity and Access Management 角色绑定到这些服务帐号。这些角色会向服务帐号授予在您项目中的特定权限,并且可以在安装期间为您生成。

配置 OpenID Connect

您只能在创建集群时配置身份验证。如需为集群配置用户身份验证,请使用 OpenID Connect (OIDC)

Anthos Clusters on VMware 支持使用 OIDC 作为与用户集群的 Kubernetes API 服务器进行交互的身份验证机制之一。借助 OIDC,您可以按照组织中创建、启用和停用用户帐号的标准程序来管理对 Kubernetes 集群的访问权限。

如需具体的 OIDC 支持,请参阅以下文档:

使用 Kubernetes 命名空间和 RBAC 限制访问权限

如需向团队授予对 Kubernetes 的最低访问权限,请创建 Kubernetes 命名空间或特定于环境的集群。为每个命名空间分配成本中心和适当的标签,以实现责任的明晰化和退款。仅为开发者提供部署和管理应用(特别是在生产环境中)所需的访问权限级别,允许其对命名空间进行访问。

划分用户需要对集群执行的任务,并定义完成每项任务所需的权限。如需授予集群级层和命名空间级层的权限,请使用 Kubernetes RBAC

除了 Google Cloud 服务帐号用于安装 Anthos clusters on VMware 的权限之外,IAM 不适用于 Anthos clusters on VMware 集群。

如需了解详情,请参阅以下文档:

数据保护

加密 vSphere 虚拟机

VMware 上的 Anthos 集群节点在 vSphere 集群中的虚拟机上运行。Google 强烈建议您对所有静态数据进行加密。如需在 vSphere 上执行此操作,请遵循 VMware vSphere 安全 PDF加密虚拟机的最佳做法指南。

此操作必须在安装 Anthos 之前完成。

管理密文

如需为敏感数据(例如存储在 etcd 中的 Kubernetes Secret)提供额外保护,请配置与 Anthos clusters on VMware 集群集成的 Secret 管理器。

如果您在多个环境中运行工作负载,则可能更适合使用同时适用于 Google Kubernetes Engine 和 Anthos clusters on VMware 的解决方案。如果您选择使用外部密文管理器(例如 HashiCorp Vault),请先设置,然后才能集成 Anthos clusters on VMware 集群。

您可以通过多种方式来管理密文。

  • 您可以在 Anthos clusters on VMware 中以原生方式使用 Kubernetes Secret。如前文所述,我们希望集群针对虚拟机使用 vSphere 加密,为 Secret 提供基本的静态加密保护。默认情况下,Secret 不会进一步加密。
  • 您可以使用外部 Secret 管理器,例如 HashiCorp Vault。您可以使用 Kubernetes 服务帐号或 Google Cloud 服务帐号向 HashiCorp 进行身份验证。

如需了解详情,请参阅以下文档:

网络保护

限制对控制层面和节点的网络访问

限制集群控制层面和节点向互联网的公开程度。创建集群后,无法更改这些选项。 默认情况下,Anthos clusters on VMware 集群是使用 RFC 1918 地址创建的,最佳做法是不要更改此设置。在本地网络中实施防火墙规则,以限制对控制层面的访问。

使用网络政策来限制流量

默认情况下,VMware 上的 Anthos 集群中的所有 Service 都可以相互通信。如需了解如何根据工作负载的需要控制服务间通信,请参阅以下部分。

限制网络对服务的访问权限可以大大增加攻击者在集群中横向移动的难度,可以保护服务免遭意外的或故意的拒绝服务攻击。建议使用以下两种方法来控制流量:

  • 如需控制到应用端点的 L7 流量,请使用 Istio。如果您对负载平衡、服务授权、节流、配额和指标感兴趣,请选择此方法。
  • 如需控制 pod 之间的 L4 流量,请使用 Kubernetes 网络政策。如果您需要 Kubernetes 所公开的基本访问权限控制功能,请选择此方法。

您可以在创建 Anthos clusters on VMware 集群后同时启用 Istio 和 Kubernetes 网络政策。如有需要,您可以同时使用它们。

如需了解详情,请参阅以下文档:

声明式安全

使用 Anthos Config Management 政策控制器

Kubernetes 准入控制器是负责管理和实施 Kubernetes 集群使用方式的插件。准入控制器是强化集群安全性的深度防御方法的重要组成部分。

最佳做法是使用 Anthos Config Management 的政策控制器。政策控制器使用 OPA 限制框架将政策描述和实施为 CRD。您希望应用于集群的限制是在集群中部署的限制模板中定义的。

如需了解如何使用政策控制器限制条件来实现与 PodSecurityPolicy 相同的许多保护措施,以及在强制执行政策前对其进行测试的功能,请参阅使用限制条件来强制执行 Pod 安全

如需了解详情,请参阅以下文档:

维护

升级 Anthos

Kubernetes 经常引入新的安全功能并提供安全补丁程序。

您需要确保您的 Anthos clusters on VMware 集群保持最新状态。对于每个版本,请查看版本说明。此外,请规划更新,每个月更新到最新的补丁程序版本,每三个月更新到次要版本。了解如何升级集群

此外,您还需负责升级和保护 vSphere 基础架构:

监控安全公告

Anthos 安全团队会针对严重程度为“高”和“严重”的漏洞发布安全公告

这些公告遵循通用的 Google Cloud 漏洞编号方案,并且在链接到 Google Cloud 公告主页和 Anthos clusters on VMware 版本说明。每个安全公告页面都有一个 RSS 源,供用户订阅更新。

如果需要客户操作才能解决这些严重程度为高和严重的漏洞,Google 会通过电子邮件与客户联系。此外,Google 可能还会通过支持渠道就支持合同事宜联系客户。

如需了解详情,请参阅以下文档:

监控和日志记录

设置 Anthos 集群日志记录选项

Anthos clusters on VMware 包含多种集群日志记录和监控选项,其中包括云端代管式服务、开放源代码工具,以及经过验证的与第三方商业解决方案的兼容性:

  • Cloud Logging 和 Cloud Monitoring,由使用 Anthos clusters on VMware 部署的集群内代理启用
  • Prometheus 和 Grafana,默认情况下处于停用状态
  • 经过验证且适用于第三方解决方案的配置

无论您基于业务要求选择哪种日志记录解决方案,我们强烈建议您将转发相关事件和提醒记录到集中式安全信息和事件管理 (SIEM) 服务中,以管理安全突发事件。

如需了解详情,请参阅以下文档:

Version 1.8. This version is supported as outlined in the Anthos version support policy, offering the latest patches and updates for security vulnerabilities, exposures, and issues impacting Anthos clusters on VMware (GKE on-prem). Refer to the release notes for more details. This is the most recent version.

Hardening your cluster's security

With the speed of development in Kubernetes, there are often new security features for you to use. This document describes how to harden your Anthos clusters on VMware (GKE on-prem) clusters.

This document prioritizes high-value security mitigations that require your action at cluster creation time. Less critical features, secure-by-default settings, and those that can be enabled after cluster creation are mentioned later in the document. For a general overview of security topics, review Security.

Checklist

The following deployment checklist highlights best practices for hardening your Anthos clusters platform deployment. For more information about each practice, see the sections in this document.

Deployment checklist Description
Identity and access control

Use vSphere account privileges:
Use a vSphere administrator account with minimal privileges.

Secure Google Cloud service accounts:
Minimize Google Cloud service account privileges.

Configure OpenID Connect (OIDC):
Configure OpenID Connect for user authentication.

Use Kubernetes namespaces and RBAC to restrict access:
Use namespaces with RBAC for administrative isolation and least privilege roles and entitlements.

Data protection

Encrypt vSphere virtual machines:
Set vSphere to encrypt the volumes used by Anthos clusters on VMware.

Manage secrets:
Encrypt secrets at rest.

Network protection

Restrict network access to the control plane and nodes:
Set up controls to isolate and protect the control plane networks and nodes.

Use network policies to restrict traffic:
Implement network policies to restrict intra-cluster traffic.

Declarative security

Use Anthos Config Management policy controller:
Install Anthos Config Management Policy Controller for declarative security policy within your clusters.

Maintenance

Upgrade Anthos:
Make sure that you're running the latest version of Anthos for your platform.

Monitor security bulletins:
Check Anthos security bulletins for the latest advice and guidance on versioning.

Monitoring and logging

Set options for Anthos clusters logging:
Ensure logging is enabled and integrated into a SIEM solution.

Identity and access control

Use vSphere account privileges

The vCenter user account that you use to install Anthos clusters on VMware must have sufficient privileges. For example, a user account that is assigned the vCenter's Administrator role has privileges for complete access to all vCenter objects and provides an Anthos clusters on VMware cluster administrator with full access.

The principle of least privilege is recommended, granting only the necessary privileges to successfully install Anthos. We have predefined the minimum set of privileges needed to perform the installation, as well as the commands needed to grant these permissions.

Secure Google Cloud service accounts

Anthos clusters on VMware requires three Google Cloud service accounts:

  • A predefined service account for accessing the Anthos clusters on VMware software. You create this when you purchase Anthos.
  • A register service account to be used by Connect for registering Anthos clusters on VMware clusters with Google Cloud.
  • A Cloud Logging service account for collecting cluster logs for use by Cloud Logging.

During installation, you bind Identity and Access Management roles to these service accounts. Those roles grant the service accounts specific privileges within your project and can be generated for you during installation.

Configure OpenID Connect

You can only configure authentication at cluster creation time. To configure user authentication for your clusters, use OpenID Connect (OIDC).

Anthos clusters on VMware supports OIDC as one of the authentication mechanisms for interacting with a user cluster's Kubernetes API server. With OIDC, you can manage access to Kubernetes clusters by using the standard procedures in your organization for creating, enabling, and disabling user accounts.

For specific OIDC support, see the following documentation:

Use Kubernetes namespaces and RBAC to restrict access

To give teams least-privilege access to Kubernetes, create Kubernetes Namespaces or environment-specific clusters. Assign cost centers and appropriate labels to each namespace for accountability and chargeback. Only give developers the level of access to their Namespaces that they need to deploy and manage their applications, especially in production.

Map the tasks that users need to complete against the cluster and define the permissions required to complete each task. To grant cluster- and namespace-level permissions, use Kubernetes RBAC.

Beyond the permissions for Google Cloud service accounts used to install Anthos clusters on VMware, IAM does not apply to Anthos clusters on VMware clusters.

For more information, see the following documentation:

Data protection

Encrypt vSphere virtual machines

Anthos clusters on VMware cluster nodes run on virtual machines (VMs) in your vSphere cluster. Google strongly recommends that you encrypt all data at rest. To do so on vSphere, follow the VMware vSphere security PDF and best practice guidance for encrypting VMs.

This must be done prior to the installation of Anthos.

Manage secrets

To provide an extra layer of protection for sensitive data, such as Kubernetes Secrets stored in etcd, configure a secrets manager that is integrated with Anthos clusters on VMware clusters.

If you are running workloads across multiple environments, you might prefer a solution that works for both Google Kubernetes Engine and Anthos clusters on VMware. If you choose to use an external secrets manager, such as HashiCorp Vault, set it up prior to integrating your Anthos clusters on VMware clusters.

You have several options for secrets management:

  • You can use Kubernetes Secrets natively in Anthos clusters on VMware. We expect clusters to be using vSphere encryption for VMs as described earlier, which provides basic encryption-at-rest protection for secrets. Secrets are not further encrypted by default.
  • You can use an external secrets manager, such as HashiCorp Vault. You can authenticate to HashiCorp using either a Kubernetes service account or a Google Cloud service account.

For more information, see the following documentation:

Network protection

Restrict network access to the control plane and nodes

Limit exposure of your cluster control plane and nodes to the internet. These choices cannot be changed after cluster creation. By default, Anthos clusters on VMware cluster nodes are created using RFC 1918 addresses, and it is best practice to not change this. Implement firewall rules in your on-premises network to restrict access to the control plane.

Use network policies to restrict traffic

By default, all Services in a Anthos clusters on VMware cluster can communicate with each other. For information about controlling Service-to-Service communication as needed for your workloads, see the following sections.

Restricting network access to services makes it much more difficult for attackers to move laterally within your cluster and offers services some protection against accidental or deliberate denial of service. There are two recommended ways to control traffic:

  • To control L7 traffic to your applications' endpoints, use Istio. Choose this if you're interested in load balancing, service authorization, throttling, quota, and metrics.
  • To control L4 traffic between Pods, use Kubernetes network policies. Choose this if you're looking for the basic access control functionality managed by Kubernetes.

You can enable both Istio and Kubernetes network policy after you create your Anthos clusters on VMware clusters. You can use them together if you need to.

For more information, see the following documentation:

Declarative security

Use Anthos Config Management policy controller

Kubernetes admission controllers are plugins that govern and enforce how a Kubernetes cluster is used. Admission controllers are an important part of the defence-in-depth approach to hardening your cluster.

The best practice is to use Anthos Config Management's Policy Controller. Policy Controller uses the OPA Constraint Framework to describe and enforce policy as CRDs. The constraints that you apply to your cluster are defined in constraint templates, which are deployed in your clusters.

For information about how to use Policy Controller constraints to achieve many of the same protections as PodSecurityPolicies, with the added ability to test your policies before enforcing them, see Using constraints to enforce Pod security.

For more information, see the following documentation:

Maintenance

Upgrade Anthos

Kubernetes regularly introduces new security features and provides security patches.

You are responsible for keeping your Anthos clusters on VMware clusters up to date. For each release, review the release notes. Additionally, plan to update to new patch releases every month and minor versions every three months. Learn how to upgrade your clusters.

You are also responsible for upgrading and securing the vSphere infrastructure:

Monitor security bulletins

The Anthos security team publishes security bulletins for high and critical severity vulnerabilities.

These bulletins follow a common Google Cloud vulnerability numbering scheme and are linked from the main Google Cloud bulletins page and the Anthos clusters on VMware release notes. Each security bulletin page has an RSS feed where users can subscribe to updates.

When customer action is required to address these high and critical vulnerabilities, Google contacts customers by email. In addition, Google might also contact customers with support contracts through support channels.

For more information, see the following documentation:

Monitoring and logging

Set options for Anthos clusters logging

Anthos clusters on VMware includes multiple options for cluster logging and monitoring, including cloud-based managed services, open source tools, and validated compatibility with third-party commercial solutions:

  • Cloud Logging and Cloud Monitoring, enabled by in-cluster agents deployed with Anthos clusters on VMware
  • Prometheus and Grafana, disabled by default
  • Validated configurations with third-party solutions

Whichever logging solution you choose based on business requirements, we strongly advise logging forward-relevant events and alerts to a centralized security information and event management (SIEM) service for management of security incidents.

For more information, see the following documentation: