使用集合让一切井井有条 根据您的偏好保存内容并对其进行分类。

问题排查

本指南可帮助您解决 Cloud NAT 的常见问题。

常见问题

虚拟机无需 Cloud NAT 即可意外访问互联网

如果您的虚拟机 (VM) 实例或容器实例无需 Cloud NAT 即可访问互联网,但您不想让它们访问互联网,请检查以下问题:

  • 确定虚拟机的网络接口是否具有外部 IP 地址。如果网络接口分配有外部 IP 地址,Google Cloud 会自动对来源与该接口的主内部 IP 地址匹配的数据包执行一对一 NAT。如需了解详情,请参阅 Cloud NAT 规范

    如需确定虚拟机是否具有外部 IP 地址,请参阅为现有实例更改或分配外部 IP 地址

  • 确保您的 Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) 集群是一个专用集群。非专用集群中的每个节点虚拟机都具有外部 IP 地址,因此每个节点都可以使用 Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) 网络中下一个跃点为默认互联网网关而不依赖 Cloud NAT 的路由。如需了解详情,包括非专用集群如何与 Cloud NAT 网关互动,请参阅 GKE 互动

  • 列出您的 VPC 网络中的路由,查找可通过不同于默认互联网网关的下一个跃点提供互联网连接的路由。例如:

    • 下一个跃点是虚拟机、内部 TCP/UDP 负载平衡器或 Cloud VPN 隧道的自定义静态路由可能会间接提供互联网连接。例如,内部 TCP/UDP 负载平衡器的下一个跃点虚拟机或后端虚拟机本身可能有外部 IP 地址,或者 Cloud VPN 隧道可能连接到提供互联网访问权限的网络。

    • Cloud Router 在您的 VPC 网络中通过本地网络获知的自定义动态路由可能会连接到提供互联网访问权限的网络。

  • 请记住,您的 VPC 网络中的其他自定义路由的优先级可能高于其下一个跃点是默认互联网网关的路由。如需了解 Google Cloud 如何评估路由,请参阅路由适用范围和顺序

不会生成任何日志

某些日志会被排除

  • 验证是否启用了 NAT 日志记录,以及您的日志过滤条件是否未排除要保留的日志。您可以清除日志过滤条件,以免排除任何内容。

  • Cloud NAT 不会记录单个事件。如果出站流量庞大,NAT 日志记录会受限,与虚拟机的机器类型成正比。转换或错误日志可能会被舍弃,并且无法确定在限制期间省略的内容。

丢包的原因是资源不足

如果您看到使用 Cloud NAT 的虚拟机造成的数据包丢失,则可能是因为数据包丢失时没有足够的可用 NAT 源 IP 地址和源端口元组供虚拟机使用(端口耗尽)。5 元组(NAT 来源 IP 地址、来源端口和目标 3 元组)不能在 TCP TIME_WAIT 超时内重用。

如果没有足够的 NAT 元组可用,则 dropped_sent_packets_count 原因OUT_OF_RESOURCES。如需详细了解指标,请参阅使用虚拟机实例指标

如需了解如何减少端口用量,请参阅减少端口用量

如果您使用动态端口分配,请参阅以下部分,了解如何在使用动态端口分配时减少丢包问题。

配置动态端口分配时丢弃的包

动态端口分配用于检测某个虚拟机何时即将用尽端口,并将分配给该虚拟机的端口数加倍。这样可以确保端口不会浪费,但在分配的端口数量增加时可能会导致丢包。

如需减少丢包数,请考虑以下事项:

  • 如果您可以缓慢地增加连接数量,Cloud NAT 就有更多的时间来分配更多的端口。

  • 如果虚拟机正在建立 TCP 连接,您可以为虚拟机配置更大的 tcp_syn_retries 值。

    例如,对于 Linux 虚拟机,您可以查看当前设置:

      sysctl net.ipv4.tcp_syn_retries
      

    如果需要,您可以增大该设置的值:

      sudo sysctl -w net.ipv4.tcp_syn_retries=NUM
      

  • 如果您有突发性工作负载,并且需要快速分配更多端口,那么您可能需要调整每个虚拟机的端口数下限。查看端口用量相应地确定每个虚拟机的端口数下限

丢包的原因是端点独立冲突

如果您看到来自使用 Cloud NAT 的虚拟机的丢包,并且已启用端点独立映射,则丢包可能是由端点独立冲突引起的。如果是,则 dropped_sent_packets_count 原因ENDPOINT_INDEPENDENT_CONFLICT。如需详细了解指标,请参阅使用虚拟机实例指标

您可以使用以下方法降低端点独立冲突的可能性:

  • 停用端点独立映射。 这样,来自给定来源 IP 地址和端口的新连接可以使用不同于之前所用的 NAT 来源 IP 地址和端口。 停用或启用端点独立映射不会中断已建立的连接。

  • 提高每个虚拟机实例的 NAT 端口的默认数量下限,以便端口预留过程可以将更多 NAT 来源 IP 地址和端口元组分配给每个客户端虚拟机。这样可以降低为以下两个或更多客户端 IP 地址和临时来源端口元组分配相同的 NAT 来源 IP 地址和来源端口元组的可能性。

  • 检查正在使用的临时来源端口的数量:

    • 对于 Linux 虚拟机:

      netstat -an | egrep 'ESTABLISHED|TIME_WAIT|CLOSE_WAIT' | wc -l
      
    • 对于 Windows 虚拟机:

      netstat -tan | findstr "ESTABLISHED TIME_WAIT CLOSE_WAIT" | find /c /v ""
      
  • 将虚拟机实例配置为使用更多临时来源端口:

    • 对于 Linux 虚拟机:

      • 您可使用以下命令查看已配置的端口范围:

        cat /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_local_port_range
        
      • 您可以使用以下命令将 ip_local_port_range 设置为临时来源端口数最大值 (64,512):

        echo 1024 65535 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_local_port_range
        
    • 对于 Windows 虚拟机:

      • 您可使用以下命令查看已配置的端口范围:

        netsh int ipv4 show dynamicport tcp
        netsh int ipv4 show dynamicport udp
        
      • 您可以使用以下命令将临时来源 TCP 和 UDP 端口的数量设置为可能的最大值 (64,512):

        netsh int ipv4 set dynamicport tcp start=1024 num=64512
        netsh int ipv4 set dynamicport udp start=1024 num=64512
        
      • 在 GKE 节点上,您可以使用具有特权的 DaemonSet 自动完成此配置。

  • 对于 GKE 集群,请对发送到相关目标的数据包停用在每个节点上执行的来源 NAT。您可以使用以下两种方式之一来执行此操作:

需要分配更多 IP 地址

有时,您的虚拟机会因为您没有足够的 NAT IP 地址而无法访问互联网。有多重因素可能会导致此问题。有关详情,请参阅下表。

根本原因 症状 解决方案
您已手动分配地址,但根据当前端口使用情况,分配的地址还不足够。
  • Google Cloud 控制台会显示一个错误,指示您需要再分配至少“X”个 IP 地址才能使所有实例都能够访问互联网
  • nat_allocation_failed 指标的值为 true

执行下列其中一项操作:

您已经超过了 NAT IP 地址的硬性限制

如需监控因 IP 地址数量不足而导致的失败操作,请为 nat_allocation_failed 指标创建提醒。如果 Google Cloud 无法为 NAT 网关中的任何虚拟机分配足够的 IP 地址,则此指标设置为 true。如需了解提醒政策,请参阅定义提醒政策

减少端口用量

在无法分配或不需要更多 NAT IP 地址的情况下,您可以尽量减少每个虚拟机使用的端口数量。

如需减少端口用量,请完成以下步骤:

  1. 停用端点独立映射

  2. 启用动态端口分配。如需使用动态端口分配,您需要设置每个虚拟机的端口数下限以及每个虚拟机的端口数上限。Cloud NAT 会自动分配数量介于端口数下限与上限(含边界值)之间的 NAT 来源 IP 地址和来源端口元组。如果使用较小的端口数下限值,那么在虚拟机上的活跃连接较少的情况下,可减少浪费的 NAT 来源 IP 地址和来源端口元组。如果在分配端口时遇到连接超时问题,请参阅减少使用动态端口分配时的丢包问题

  3. 确定能够满足您需求的最小端口下限值。有几种方法可用来确定该值,大多数方法的决策过程都需要首先了解已用端口数 (compute.googleapis.com/nat/port_usage)。如需了解如何获取端口用量信息,请参阅查看端口用量。下面是确定端口数下限的两种示例方法:

    • 考虑一组数量具有代表性的虚拟机在具有代表性的一段时长内的 compute.googleapis.com/nat/port_usage 的平均值。
    • 考虑一组数量具有代表性的虚拟机在具有代表性的一段时长内最常出现的 compute.googleapis.com/nat/port_usage 值。
  4. 确定能够满足您需求的最小端口上限值。在该决策过程中,您也需要首先了解 compute.googleapis.com/nat/port_usage。确定端口数上限时,首先考虑一组数量具有代表性的虚拟机在具有代表性的一段时长内 compute.googleapis.com/nat/port_usage 的最大值。请注意,如果将此上限值设置得过高,可能会导致其他虚拟机无法接收 NAT 来源 IP 地址和来源端口元组。

  5. 若要找到适合的端口数下限和上限值,您需要进行迭代测试。如需了解更改端口数下限和上限值的步骤,请参阅如何在配置了动态端口分配时更改端口数下限或上限值

  6. 查看 NAT 超时,了解其含义及其默认值。如果您需要快速建立与同一目标 3 元组的一系列 TCP 连接,不妨考虑缩短 TCP 等待时长,以便 Cloud NAT 能够更快地重用 NAT 来源 IP 地址和来源端口元组。这样 Cloud NAT 便能更快地重用相同的 5 元组,而无需使用具有唯一性的 5 元组,后面这种情况可能需要为每个发送请求的虚拟机分配额外的 NAT 来源 IP 地址和来源端口元组。如需了解更改 NAT 超时的步骤,请参阅为 NAT 指定不同的超时

常见问题解答

Cloud NAT 的地区限制

我可以在多个地区中使用同一个 Cloud NAT 网关吗?

不可以。Cloud NAT 网关不能与多个区域、VPC 网络或 Cloud Router 路由器相关联。

如果您需要为其他区域或 VPC 网络提供连接,请为其创建其他 Cloud NAT 网关。

我可以在单个区域中使用多个 Cloud NAT 网关吗?

可以。如果满足以下任一条件,您可以在 VPC 网络的同一个区域中使用多个 Cloud NAT 网关:

  • 每个网关均针对不同的子网进行配置。

  • 在单个子网中,每个网关均针对不同的 IP 地址范围进行配置。

使用自定义 NAT 映射将 NAT 网关映射到特定子网或 IP 地址范围。

如需了解详情,请参阅子网 IP 地址范围适用性

Cloud NAT 网关使用的外部 NAT IP 地址是全球性还是地区性的?

Cloud NAT 网关使用地区性外部 IP 地址作为 NAT IP 地址。即使是地区性的,它们也可公开路由。如需了解可以分配 NAT IP 地址的不同方式,请参阅 NAT IP 地址

当 Cloud NAT 能够使用和不能使用时

Cloud NAT 是否会应用于 GKE 节点虚拟机等具有外部 IP 地址的实例?

通常不会。如果虚拟机的网络接口具有外部 IP 地址,则 Google Cloud 始终对从网络接口的主要内部 IP 地址发送的数据包执行 1 对 1 NAT,而不使用 Cloud NAT。但是,Cloud NAT 仍然可以为通过同一网络接口的别名 IP 地址范围发送的数据包提供 NAT 服务。如需了解更多详情,请参阅 Cloud NAT 规范GKE 互动

我可以使用 Cloud NAT 在 VPC 网络中的虚拟机之间通信吗?

不可以,Cloud NAT 只能连接到互联网。

我是否可以使用 Cloud NAT 将 VPC 网络连接到其他网络以解决 IP 地址重叠问题?

否,Cloud NAT 无法应用于下一个跃点不是默认互联网网关的任何自定义路由。例如,Cloud NAT 无法应用于发送到下一个跃点 Cloud VPN 隧道的流量,即使目标位置是可公开路由的 IP 地址也是如此。

Cloud NAT 是否允许其网络接口缺少外部 IP 地址的来源虚拟机向具有外部 IP 地址的目标虚拟机或负载平衡器发送流量,即使来源和目标位于同一个 VPC 网络中?

是。网络路径涉及通过默认互联网网关将流量从 VPC 网络发出,然后在同一网络中接收。

当源虚拟机将数据包发送到目标位置时,Cloud NAT 会在将数据包传送到第二个实例之前执行源 NAT (SNAT)。 Cloud NAT 会对从第二个实例到第一个实例的响应执行目标 NAT (DNAT)。如需查看分步说明示例,请参阅 NAT 流

不支持垃圾传入连接

Cloud NAT 是否允许入站连接(例如 SSH)到没有外部 IP 地址的实例?

否,Cloud NAT 不支持垃圾传入连接。如需了解详情,请参阅 Cloud NAT 规范

如果您需要连接到没有外部 IP 地址的虚拟机,请参阅连接到没有外部 IP 地址的实例。例如,在 Cloud NAT 示例 Compute Engine 设置过程中,您使用 Identity-Aware Proxy 连接到没有外部 IP 地址的虚拟机。

Cloud NAT 和端口

为什么虚拟机拥有固定数量的端口(默认为 64 个)?

Cloud NAT 网关为虚拟机提供 NAT 时,它会根据端口预留程序预留源地址和源端口元组。

如需了解详情,请参阅端口预留示例

我可以更改为虚拟机预留的端口数下限吗?

可以。您可以在创建新的 Cloud NAT 网关时提高或降低每台虚拟机的端口数下限,也可以稍后通过修改此下限来实现此目的。每个 Cloud NAT 网关都会根据端口预留程序预留源地址和源端口元组。

如需详细了解如何降低端口数下限,请参阅下一个问题

创建 Cloud NAT 网关后,我可以减少每台虚拟机的最小端口数吗?

可以;不过,降低最小端口数可能会导致端口预留程序为每台虚拟机预留更少的端口数。发生这种情况时,现有的 TCP 连接可能会被重置,并且必须重新建立连接。

将 NAT 映射从主要和次要范围切换到仅主要范围时,分配给每个实例的其他端口是否会立即释放?

不会。次要范围使用的其他任何端口会由实例保留,直到每个虚拟机的端口数下限设置值减小。当 Cloud NAT 配置为映射子网的次要(别名)范围时,Cloud NAT 会根据端口预留过程为每个实例至少分配 1024 个端口。

通过切换到仅主要范围,Cloud NAT 会保留已分配这些端口的实例的其他已分配端口。更改 Cloud NAT 仅应用于主要范围的范围后,分配给这些实例的实际端口数不会更改,直到每个虚拟机的端口数下限设置值也减小。

如需减小分配给这些实例的端口数量,请在切换到主要范围后,必须减小每个虚拟机的端口数下限设置值。减小该值之后,Cloud NAT 会自动下调每个实例分配的端口数量,从而减少端口消耗。

Cloud NAT 和其他 Google 服务

能否通过 Cloud NAT 访问 Google API 和服务?

当您为子网的主要 IP 范围启用 Cloud NAT 时,Google Cloud 会自动启用专用 Google 访问通道。如需了解详情,请参阅专用 Google 访问通道互动

后续步骤

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

Troubleshooting

This guide can help you solve common issues with Cloud NAT.

Common issues

VMs can reach the internet unexpectedly, without Cloud NAT

If your virtual machine (VM) instances or container instances can reach the internet without Cloud NAT, but you don't want them to, check for the following issues:

  • Determine if the VM's network interface has an external IP address. If the network interface has an external IP address assigned to it, Google Cloud automatically performs one-to-one NAT for packets whose sources match the interface's primary internal IP address. For more information, see Cloud NAT specifications.

    To determine if a VM has an external IP address, see changing or assigning an external IP address to an existing instance.

  • Ensure that your Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE) cluster is a private cluster. Each node VM in a non-private cluster has an external IP address, so each node can use routes in your Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) network whose next hop is the default internet gateway without relying on Cloud NAT. For more information, including how non-private clusters interact with Cloud NAT gateways, see GKE interaction.

  • List routes in your VPC network, looking for ones that could provide internet connectivity through a next hop different than the default internet gateway. As examples:

    • Custom static routes whose next hops are VMs, internal TCP/UDP load balancers, or Cloud VPN tunnels might indirectly provide internet connectivity. For example, the next hop VMs or backend VMs for an internal TCP/UDP load balancer might have external IP addresses themselves, or a Cloud VPN tunnel might connect to a network that offers internet access.

    • Custom dynamic routes learned from on-premises networks by Cloud Routers in your VPC network might connect to a network that offers internet access.

  • Keep in mind that other custom routes in your VPC network might have higher priorities than routes whose next hops are default internet gateways. For information about how Google Cloud evaluates routes, see routing applicability and order.

No logs are generated

  • Verify that NAT logging is enabled.
  • Double-check that your view of the logs isn't filtering out the logs that you are looking for. For instructions, see Viewing logs.

  • Make sure that a firewall rule isn't blocking traffic. Firewall rules that block egress (outbound) traffic are applied before the traffic would have been sent to the NAT gateway. You can use Firewall Rules Logging to see if your custom egress rules are blocking outbound traffic.

  • Review cases where NAT is not performed on traffic. The destination for your traffic might not be handled by NAT.

Certain logs are excluded

  • Verify that NAT logging is enabled and that your log filter is not excluding logs that you want to keep. You can clear a logs filter so that nothing is excluded.

  • Cloud NAT does not log every single event. During periods of heavy egress traffic, NAT logging is throttled, proportional to the machine type of the VM. Translation or error logs might be dropped, and it is not possible to determine what is omitted during throttling.

Packets dropped with reason: out of resources

If you see packet loss from VMs that use Cloud NAT, this might be because there are not enough available NAT source IP address and source port tuples for the VM to use at the time of the packet loss (port exhaustion). A five-tuple (NAT source IP address, source port, and destination 3-tuple) cannot be reused within the TCP TIME_WAIT timeout.

If there aren't enough available NAT tuples, the dropped_sent_packets_count reason is OUT_OF_RESOURCES. For more information about metrics, see Using VM instance metrics.

See Reduce your port usage for ways to reduce port usage.

If you use dynamic port allocation, see the following section for ways to reduce packet drops when dynamic port allocation is used.

Packets dropped when dynamic port allocation is configured

Dynamic port allocation detects when a VM is close to being out of ports, and doubles the number of ports that are allocated to the VM. This ensure that ports aren't wasted, but can result in dropped packets while the number of allocated ports is increasing.

To reduce the number of dropped packets, consider the following:

  • If you can ramp up connections more slowly, Cloud NAT has more time to allocate more ports.

  • If VMs are making TCP connections, you can configure the VMs with a larger value for tcp_syn_retries.

    For example, for Linux VMs, you can view the current setting:

      sysctl net.ipv4.tcp_syn_retries
      

    If needed you can increase the setting:

      sudo sysctl -w net.ipv4.tcp_syn_retries=NUM
      

  • If you have bursty workloads and need to quickly allocate more ports, you might need to adjust the minimum number of ports per VM. View your port usage and determine an appropriate minimum number of ports per VM.

Packets dropped with reason: endpoint independent conflict

If you see packet loss from VMs that use Cloud NAT, and you have Endpoint-Independent Mapping turned on, the packet loss might be caused by an endpoint independent conflict. If it is, the dropped_sent_packets_count reason is ENDPOINT_INDEPENDENT_CONFLICT. For more information about metrics, see Using VM instance metrics.

You can reduce the chances of endpoint independent conflicts by using the following techniques:

  • Turn off Endpoint-Independent Mapping. This allows the new connection from a given source IP address and port to use a different NAT source IP address and port than it used before. Disabling or enabling Endpoint-Independent Mapping does not interrupt established connections.

  • Increase the minimum default number of NAT ports per VM instance, so that the port reservation procedure can assign more NAT source IP address and source port tuples to each client VM. This decreases the probability that two or more client IP address and ephemeral source port tuples are assigned the same NAT source IP address and source port tuple.

  • Check how many ephemeral source ports are being used:

    • For Linux VMs:

      netstat -an | egrep 'ESTABLISHED|TIME_WAIT|CLOSE_WAIT' | wc -l
      
    • For Windows VMs:

      netstat -tan | findstr "ESTABLISHED TIME_WAIT CLOSE_WAIT" | find /c /v ""
      
  • Configure your VM instances to use a larger set of ephemeral source ports:

    • For Linux VMs:

      • You can view what port range is configured with this command:

        cat /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_local_port_range
        
      • You can set the ip_local_port_range to the maximum number of ephemeral source ports (64,512) with this command:

        echo 1024 65535 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_local_port_range
        
    • For Windows VMs:

      • You can view what port ranges are configured with these commands:

        netsh int ipv4 show dynamicport tcp
        netsh int ipv4 show dynamicport udp
        
      • You can set the number of ephemeral source TCP and UDP ports to the maximum possible (64,512) with these commands:

        netsh int ipv4 set dynamicport tcp start=1024 num=64512
        netsh int ipv4 set dynamicport udp start=1024 num=64512
        
      • On GKE nodes, you can automate this configuration by using a privileged DaemonSet.

  • For GKE clusters, disable the source NAT performed on each node for packets sent to destinations of interest. You can do this in one of two ways:

Need to allocate more IP addresses

Sometimes your VMs are unable to reach the internet because you don't have enough NAT IP addresses. Multiple factors can cause this problem. For more information, see the following table.

Root cause Symptom Solution
You've manually allocated addresses, but you haven't allocated enough of them, given your current port usage.
  • The Google Cloud console displays an error that reads You need to allocate at least 'X' more IP addresses to allow all instances to access the internet.
  • The value of the nat_allocation_failed metric is true.

Do one of the following:

You have surpassed a hard limit for NAT IP addresses.

To monitor failures caused by an insufficient number of IP addresses, create an alert for the nat_allocation_failed metric. This metric is set to true if Google Cloud is unable to allocate sufficient IP addresses for any VM in your NAT gateway. For information about alert policies, see Defining alerting policies.

Reduce your port usage

You can minimize the number of ports that each VM uses in situations where allocating more NAT IP addresses is not possible or desirable.

To reduce port usage, complete the following steps:

  1. Disable Endpoint-Independent Mapping.

  2. Enable dynamic port allocation. To use dynamic port allocation, you set a minimum number of ports per VM and a maximum number of ports per VM. Cloud NAT automatically allocates a number of NAT source IP address and source port tuples between the minimum and maximum number of ports, inclusive. Using a low number for the minimum number of ports reduces wasting NAT source IP address and source port tuples on VMs with fewer active connections. If you encounter connection timeouts while ports are being allocated, see Reduce packet drops with dynamic port allocation.

  3. Determine the lowest possible minimum number of ports to meet your needs. There are several methods to do this, and most rely on reviewing the number of used ports (compute.googleapis.com/nat/port_usage) as input to the decision-making process. For information about how to find port usage, see View port usage. The following are two example methods to determine a minimum number of ports:

    • Consider the average value of compute.googleapis.com/nat/port_usage over a representative time period for a representative number of VMs.
    • Consider the most frequently occurring value of compute.googleapis.com/nat/port_usage over a representative time period for a representative number of VMs.
  4. Determine the lowest possible maximum number of ports to meet your needs. Once again, review compute.googleapis.com/nat/port_usage as input to your decision-making process. Consider the maximum value of compute.googleapis.com/nat/port_usage over a representative time period for a representative number of VMs as a starting point for the maximum number of ports. Keep in mind that setting the maximum number too high can prevent other VMs from receiving NAT source IP address and source port tuples.

  5. Finding the right values for minimum and maximum ports involves iterative testing. For steps to change minimum and maximum port numbers, see Change minimum or maximum ports when dynamic port allocation is configured.

  6. Review the NAT timeouts, their meanings, and their default values. If you need to rapidly create a series of TCP connections to the same destination 3-tuple, consider reducing the TCP time wait so that Cloud NAT can more quickly re-use NAT source IP address and source port tuples. This allows Cloud NAT to more quickly use the same 5-tuple instead of needing to use a unique 5-tuple, which might require allocation of additional NAT source IP address and source port tuples for each sending VM. For steps to change NAT timeouts, see Specify different timeouts for NAT.

Frequently asked questions

Regional restriction for Cloud NAT

Can I use the same Cloud NAT gateway in more than one region?

No. A Cloud NAT gateway cannot be associated with more than one region, VPC network, or Cloud Router.

If you need to provide connectivity for other regions or VPC networks, create additional Cloud NAT gateways for them.

Can I use multiple Cloud NAT gateways in a single region?

Yes. You can have multiple Cloud NAT gateways in the same region of a VPC network if one of the following conditions is true:

  • Each gateway is configured for a different subnet.

  • Within a single subnet, each gateway is configured for a different IP address range.

You map a NAT gateway to a specific subnet or IP address range by using a custom NAT mapping.

For more information, see subnet IP address range applicability.

Are the external NAT IP addresses used by Cloud NAT gateways global or regional?

Cloud NAT gateways use regional external IP addresses as NAT IP addresses. Even though they are regional, they are publicly routable. For information about different ways that NAT IP addresses can be allocated or assigned, see NAT IP addresses.

When Cloud NAT can and cannot be used

Does Cloud NAT apply to instances, including GKE node VMs, that have external IP addresses?

Generally, no. If the network interface of a VM has an external IP address, Google Cloud always performs 1-to-1 NAT for packets sent from the primary internal IP address of the network interface without using Cloud NAT. However, Cloud NAT could still provide NAT services to packets sent from alias IP address ranges of that same network interface. For additional details, see Cloud NAT specifications and GKE interaction.

Can I use Cloud NAT for communication between VMs in a VPC network?

No, Cloud NAT is designed to provide connectivity to the internet only.

Can I use Cloud NAT to connect a VPC network to another network to work around overlapping IP addresses?

No, Cloud NAT cannot apply to any custom route whose next hop is not the default internet gateway. For example, Cloud NAT cannot apply to traffic sent to a next hop Cloud VPN tunnel, even if the destination is a publicly routable IP address.

Does Cloud NAT let a source VM whose network interface lacks an external IP address send traffic to a destination VM or load balancer that has an external IP address, even when the source and destination are in the same VPC network?

Yes. The network path involves sending traffic out of the VPC network through a default internet gateway, and then receiving it in the same network.

When the source VM sends a packet to the destination, Cloud NAT performs source NAT (SNAT) before delivering the packet to the second instance. Cloud NAT performs destination NAT (DNAT) for responses from the second instance to the first. For a step-by-step example, see NAT flow.

Unsolicited incoming connections not supported

Does Cloud NAT allow for inbound connections (for example, SSH) to instances without external IP addresses?

No, Cloud NAT does not support unsolicited incoming connections. For more information, see Cloud NAT specifications.

If you need to connect to a VM that doesn't have an external IP address, see connecting to instances that do not have external IP addresses. For example, as part of the Cloud NAT example Compute Engine setup, you connect to a VM without an external IP address by using Identity-Aware Proxy.

Cloud NAT and ports

Why does a VM have a fixed number of ports (64 by default)?

When a Cloud NAT gateway provides NAT for a VM, it reserves source address and source port tuples according to the port reservation procedure.

For more information, see port reservation examples.

Can I change the minimum number of ports reserved for a VM?

Yes. You can increase or decrease the minimum number of ports per VM when you create a new Cloud NAT gateway or by editing it later. Each Cloud NAT gateway reserves source address and source port tuples according to the port reservation procedure.

For additional information about decreasing the minimum number of ports, see the next question.

Can I decrease the minimum number of ports per VM after creating the Cloud NAT gateway?

Yes; however, decreasing the minimum number of ports could result in the port reservation procedure reserving a smaller number of ports per VM. When this happens, existing TCP connections might be reset and, if so, must be re-established.

When switching NAT mapping from Primary and Secondary ranges to Primary range only, are additional ports allocated to each instance immediately released?

No. Any additional ports used by secondary ranges are retained by instances until the minimum ports per VM setting is reduced. When Cloud NAT is configured to map Secondary (alias) ranges for subnets, Cloud NAT assigns a minimum of 1,024 ports per instance, based on the port reservation procedure.

By switching to Primary ranges only, Cloud NAT conserves those additional allocated ports for instances that have already had those ports assigned. After changing the ranges for which Cloud NAT is applied to Primary only, the actual number of ports assigned to those instances is not changed until the minimum ports per VM setting is also reduced.

To reduce the amount of ports allocated to those instances, after switching to primary ranges, the minimum ports per VM setting must be reduced. After that value is reduced, Cloud NAT automatically adjusts the number of ports allocated per instance down, which reduces port consumption.

Cloud NAT and other Google services

Does Cloud NAT enable access to Google APIs and services?

When you enable Cloud NAT for a subnet's primary IP range, Google Cloud automatically enables Private Google Access. For more information, see Private Google Access interaction.

What's next