版本資訊

本頁面包含 Cloud Endpoints 的版本資訊,說明本服務的功能及異動項目。如需資訊瞭解可擴充服務 Proxy (ESP) 的更新內容,請參閱 GitHub 的 Endpoints 執行階段版本資訊

2018 年 9 月

Cloud Endpoints Frameworks v1 已關閉

適用於 App Engine 標準環境的 Cloud Endpoints Frameworks v1,已於 2017 年 8 月 2 日停用。2018 年 9 月 13 日已關閉該服務,並已移除文件。

Endpoints Frameworks Python:變更預設記錄層級

Endpoints Frameworks Python 之中新增變更預設記錄層級的功能。詳情請參閱在適合 Python 的 Endpoints Framework 中記錄

2018 年 8 月

Cloud Endpoints 入口網站更新

Cloud Endpoints 入口網站目前已正式推出。此版本包含下列新功能及強化功能:

透過 API 同步處理自訂說明文件

現在可利用 API 將自訂說明文件同步至您的入口網站。詳情請參閱以下與 API 實作相關的說明文件:

在自訂說明文件加入圖片

您可以新增圖片到自訂內容 Git 存放區,並在 Markdown 檔案中參照這些圖片。詳情請參閱以下與 API 實作相關的說明文件:

SmartDocs API 參考說明文件簡介

在入口網站顯示 API 參考說明文件,並提供試用這個 API 面板的元件稱為:「SmartDocs API 參考說明文件」。SmartDocs 原本是為 Cloud Endpoints 入口網站開發,目前也於 Apigee 的整合開發人員入口網站提供使用。

Cloud Endpoints Frameworks v1 即將關閉

適用於 App Engine 標準環境的 Cloud Endpoints Frameworks v1,已於 2017 年 8 月 2 日停用。該服務的預定關閉日期為 2018 年 9 月 3 日,並將移除說明文件。為了避免中斷運作,您必須遷移 v1 應用程式。如需更多詳細資訊,瞭解如何將應用程式遷移至 Endpoints Frameworks v2,請參閱下列資料:

停用 ESP 之中的追蹤記錄取樣功能

ESP 會針對傳送至您 API 的要求進行小量採樣,並將追蹤記錄傳送至 Stackdriver Trace。ESP 1.19.0 版新增 ESP 啟動選項,可停用追蹤記錄取樣功能。此選項目前已提供使用,可部署於 App Engine 彈性環境。

詳情請參閱以下 API 實作說明文件之中的「追蹤 API」:

Endpoints Frameworks 用於 App Engine 標準環境,並未使用 ESP 進行 API 管理,也不會傳送追蹤資料至 Stackdriver Trace。

2018 年 7 月

Cloud Endpoints 入口網站的全新角色與權限

Google Cloud Identity and Access Management (Cloud IAM) 角色、Endpoints 入口網站管理員及多項新的 Cloud IAM 權限目前已提供使用。新角色及權限可讓您控制專案成員對 Cloud Endpoints 入口網站的存取程度。

詳情請參閱以下 API 實作說明文件之中的「Cloud Endpoints 入口網站權限」:

2018 年 6 月

程式庫及外掛程式更新

  • 適用於 Python 程式庫的 Endpoints Frameworks 4.4.0 版,已新增強化功能,可由 endpoints 程式庫匯入 message_typesmessagesremote 類別,而不是由 protorpc 程式庫匯入。在您定義 API 的檔案中,我們建議您變更匯入陳述式,將以下項目:

    import endpoints
    from protorpc import message_types
    from protorpc import messages
    from protorpc import remote
    

    變更為:

    from endpoints import message_types
    from endpoints import messages
    from endpoints import remote
    

    此項匯入陳述式的選用變更,可簡化 Endpoints Frameworks 程式庫的程式碼。

  • 適用於 Java 程式庫的 Endpoints Frameworks 2.1.0 版,目前會驗證具有必要參數的要求。如果要求之中忽略了必要參數,Endpoints Frameworks 將傳回狀態碼 HTTP 400 Bad Request。

Cloud Endpoints 入口網站推出測試版

您可利用 Cloud Endpoints 入口網站建立開發人員入口網站;Cloud Endpoints API 使用者可存取此網站閱讀說明文件,並與 API 互動。

詳情請參閱以下 API 實作說明文件之中的「Cloud Endpoints 入口網站總覽」:

2018 年 3 月

ESP 代管發佈選項

ESP --rollout_strategy=managed 選項目前已提供使用,適用於以 OpenAPI 或 gRPC 描述的 API。此選項會將 ESP 設定為使用最新部署服務設定。指定此選項時,在您部署新的服務設定後的一分鐘內,ESP 便會偵測到變更並自動開始使用它。建議您指定此選項而非讓 ESP 使用特定的設定 ID。

此選項未於 Endpoints Frameworks 提供使用。

雖然代管發佈選項已自 1.7.0 版之後於 ESP 提供使用,gcloud 指令列工具現在已更新,讓該選項能在 App Engine 彈性環境提供使用。目前此選項僅於 gcloud 指令列工具測試版提供使用。您將選項新增至 app.yaml 之後,需要使用 gcloud beta app deploy 指令以部署 API 及 ESP。

如需部署 ESP 及此新選項的相關資訊,請參閱以下 API 實作說明文件:

程式庫及外掛程式更新

  • 適用於 Python 程式庫的 Endpoints Frameworks 3.0.0 版,可能含有破壞性變更。
    • 目前可以部署含多個 API 的單一服務,不過在使用此項功能時,有一些 API 名稱的額外限制。更多詳細資料請參閱部署及測試 API
    • 之前的 API 版本字串,會依照原樣嵌入至路徑中,例如 API echo 版本 v1 的路徑為 /echo/v1。對於不相容於 SemVer 標準的 API 版本字串,仍是採用這種方式處理。若字串與 SemVer 標準相容,部署 API 時就會擷取主要版本編號並嵌入至路徑中。例如名為 echo 的 API,在版本為 2.1.0 的情況下,路徑就是 /echo/v2。如果將您的 echo API 更新為 2.2.0 版,並部署具回溯相容性的變更,路徑仍然為 /echo/v2。這使您可以在進行具回溯相容性的變更時更新 API 版本編號,而不會破壞用戶端的現有路徑。但如果您將 echo API 更新為 3.0.0 版 (因為您正在部署破壞性變更),路徑將會變更為 /echo/v3

2018 年 1 月

Endpoints 資訊主頁目前能夠比較設定檔與之前版本。在排解特定部署的問題時,查看設定檔中的差異可能會有所幫助。詳情請參閱以下與 API 實作相關的說明文件:

程式庫及外掛程式更新

  • 適用於 Python 程式庫的 Endpoints Frameworks 2.5.0

2017 年 12 月

Endpoints DNS

Endpoints DNS 功能目前已正式推出。您可設定 Endpoints 以註冊網址,用於呼叫 API。對於並未使用 App Engine 的使用者,這是呼叫 API 的便利方式,無需使用 IP 位址或註冊網域名稱。API 可利用網址呼叫,例如:

echo-api.endpoints.my-project-id.cloud.goog

詳情請參閱以下 API 實作說明文件的「在 cloud.goog 網域設定 DNS」頁面:

Endpoints DNS 搭配 SSL

目前提供範例,顯示如何針對設定使用 cloud.goog 網域的 API 啟用 SSL。詳情請參閱以下與 API 實作相關的說明文件:

2017 年 11 月

篩選特定的消費者專案

針對特定消費者專案篩選指標的功能,目前於 Endpoints 資訊主頁以 Alpha 測試版功能的方式提供使用。詳情請參閱以下與 API 實作相關的說明文件:

程式庫及外掛程式更新

  • 適用於 Python 程式庫的 Endpoints Frameworks 2.4.5

  • Endpoints Framework Gradle 外掛程式 1.0.3

  • Endpoints Framework Maven 外掛程式 1.0.3

2017 年 10 月

推出配額測試版

您可設定配額以指定用量上限,避免您的 API 要求數量過多。若要瞭解更多配額相關資訊,請參閱以下 API 實作說明文件的「關於配額」頁面:

gcloud 端點及 gcloud 服務

Cloud SDK 指令群組 gcloud 端點gcloud 服務目前已正式推出。gcloud 端點及 gcloud 服務指令群組,是用於取代已停用的 gcloud 服務管理。

程式庫更新

  • Python 程式庫適用的 Endpoints Frameworks 2.4.1 版已提供使用。

  • Java 程式庫適用的 Endpoints Frameworks 2.0.9 版已提供使用。

2017 年 8 月

API 指標目前於 Stackdriver 發佈。您可監控要求比率、延遲時間及其他項目。如需瞭解設定警示相關資訊,請參閱以下 API 實作說明文件的「監控 API」頁面:

您可在 Stackdriver 指標清單找到完整指標清單。

2017 年 7 月

您現在可透過身分與存取權管理 API,以程式輔助方式授予存取權至個別 API。詳情請參閱 API 實作的「API 存取權總覽」頁面。

2017 年 5 月

如果沒有提供 API 金鑰,Endpoints 目前會將呼叫歸類至生產端專案,並報告後端使用的通訊協定 (gRPC、HTTP)。

2017 年 4 月

Endpoints 現在可選擇註冊網址,用於呼叫 API。對於並未使用 App Engine 的使用者,這是呼叫 API 的便利方式,無需使用 IP 位址。API 可利用網址呼叫,例如:

echo-api.endpoints.my-project-id.cloud.goog

詳情請參閱 OpenAPI 設定頁面gRPC 設定頁面

2017 年 2 月

API 部署歷史記錄目前於 Google Cloud Console 提供,可讓您檢視 API 設定部署的歷史記錄。不過,這項功能目前還在測試階段。

API 部署歷史記錄可顯示是誰更新特定設定、設定更新時間,及其設定 ID 為何。這有助於尋找 API 的設定 ID,以及設定變更屬性。

如欲檢視新畫面,請前往 Cloud Console 的 Endpoints UI 區段,並按下「部署歷史記錄」分頁標籤。

2017 年 1 月

我們正在變更可擴充服務 Proxy (ESP) 的行為,根據預設將拒絕跨源資源共享 (CORS) 要求;若您仰賴 CORS 要求,就必須變更設定,明確允許 CORS 要求,並在 2017 年 1 月 2 日前重新部署。

背景及目前行為

在使用 CORS 標準的情況下,瀏覽器會插入額外的 OPTIONS 要求至伺服器,判定是否有權限執行跨源要求。目前 ESP 一律接受 OPTIONS 要求,代表目前的 ESP 一律接受透過 CORS 的跨源要求。

近期異動內容

ESP 將允許服務生產端指定是否允許跨源流量。根據預設,ESP 將拒絕所有 OPTIONS 要求,以「封鎖」跨源要求。如果您要讓 API 允許跨源要求,就需要將下列程式碼片段新增至 OpenAPI 設定。

...
"host": "echo-api.endpoints.YOUR_PROJECT_ID.cloud.goog",
"x-google-endpoints": [
  {
    "name": "echo-api.endpoints.YOUR_PROJECT_ID.cloud.goog",
    "allowCors": true
  }
],
...

請配合以下事項

請按照下方相關分頁的操作說明執行。

App Engine Flex

於 2017 年 1 月 2 日推出 ESP 1.0 後,所有彈性環境 API 部署將採用新版 ESP,並將自動根據預設不允許 CORS 要求。App Engine 應用程式每 7 日會自動重新部署,所以在推出 ESP 1.0 之後 7 日期間,應用程式將以最新版重新啟動,並將獲得自動保護,避免非計劃中的跨源共享。

若您使用彈性環境,並希望繼續允許 CORS 要求,就必須將前述的「x-google-endpoints」程式碼片段新增至 API 設定 (又稱為 OpenAPI 規格或 Swagger 檔案)。若您仰賴 CORS,我們建議您儘快新增程式碼片段,並使用下列指令重新部署服務,避免服務中斷。之後新版 ESP 推出時,您就不會看到變更行為。

gcloud app deploy app.yaml

Kubernetes Engine

我們預計在 2017 年 1 月 2 日發佈 ESP 1.0 版時推出此項變更。

若您目前使用 CORS 啟用跨源流量至 API,在 1 月 2 日後將 ESP 升級為 1.0 版時,就需要變更 API 設定 (又稱 OpenAPI 規格或 Swagger 檔案)。請將以上的「x-google-endpoints」程式碼片段新增至 API 的 OpenAPI 設定,然後使用下列指令重新部署 API 設定。

gcloud service-management deploy openapi.yaml

請注意,以上步驟會將新服務設定推送至服務管理員。請記下新的 SERVICE_CONFIG_ID,在下個步驟將會用到。

現在您需要重新部署服務。您可利用下列指令,將 ESP-DEPLOYMENT 更換為您服務的部署名稱。

kubectl edit deployment/ESP-DEPLOYMENT

此項指令可開啟 GKE 設定 YAML,並讓您更新部署。請確保將 ESP 版本變更為 1.0,將 SERVICE_CONFIG_ID 更新為新的 SERVICE_CONFIG_ID,然後儲存部署。

containers:
    - name: esp
      image: gcr.io/endpoints-release/endpoints-runtime:1.0
      args: [
        "--http_port", "8080",
        "--backend", "localhost:8081",
        "--service", "SERVICE_NAME",
        "--version", "SERVICE_CONFIG_ID",
      ]

Compute Engine

我們預計在 2017 年 1 月 2 日發佈 ESP 1.0 版時推出此項變更。

若您目前使用 CORS 啟用跨源流量至 API,將 ESP 升級為 1.0 版時就需要變更 API 設定 (又稱 OpenAPI 規格或 Swagger 檔案)。請將以上的「x-google-endpoints」程式碼片段新增至 API 的 OpenAPI 設定,然後使用下列指令重新部署 API 設定。

gcloud service-management deploy openapi.yaml

請注意,以上步驟會將新服務設定推送至服務管理員。請記下新的 SERVICE_CONFIG_ID,在下個步驟將會用到。

在重新部署服務之前,需要以下列指令更新 VM 的中繼資料項目:

gcloud compute instances add-metadata --metadata=endpoints-service-name=SERVICE_NAME,endpoints-service-config-id=SERVICE_CONFIG_ID

之後您需要將安全殼層 (SSH) 加入至 VM,並執行下列指令以重新啟動 ESP。

sudo /etc/init.d/nginx restart

或者若您使用 start_esp.py 指令碼啟動 ESP (而非使用 init.d 指令碼),就可以停止 ESP,並以更新後的 SERVICE_CONFIG_ID 重新執行 start_esp.py 指令。

Compute Engine + Docker

我們預計在 2017 年 1 月 2 日發佈 ESP 1.0 版時推出此項變更。

若您目前使用 CORS 啟用跨源流量至 API,將 ESP 升級為 1.0 版時就需要變更 API 設定 (也就是 OpenAPI 規格或 Swagger 檔案)。請將以上的 x-google-endpoints 程式碼片段新增至 API 的 OpenAPI 設定,然後使用下列指令重新部署 API 設定。

gcloud service-management deploy openapi.yaml

這樣會將新服務設定推送至 Google Service Management。該指令將為您的 API 傳回新的 SERVICE_CONFIG_ID;請將其記下,在下個步驟中將會用到。

接下來請重新部署服務。首先請利用下列指令停止及移除現有的 ESP 執行個體 (例如「esp」)。您可利用 sudo docker ps 指令找出現有 ESP 執行個體。

sudo docker stop esp
sudo docker rm esp

接下來請執行下列指令,重新部署 ESP。請務必使用新的 SERVICE_CONFIG_ID 用於 -v 選項。

sudo docker run --name=esp -d -p 80:8080 --link=echo:echo gcr.io/endpoints-release/endpoints-runtime:1.0 -s [SERVICE_NAME] -v [SERVICE_CONFIG_ID] -a echo:8081
本頁內容對您是否有任何幫助?請提供意見:

傳送您對下列選項的寶貴意見...

這個網頁
Cloud Endpoints
需要協助嗎?請前往我們的支援網頁

Release notes

This page contains release notes for features and updates to Cloud Endpoints. For information about updates to the Extensible Service Proxy (ESP), see the Endpoints Runtime Release Notes on GitHub.

September 2018

Cloud Endpoints Frameworks v1 has been shutdown

Cloud Endpoints Frameworks v1 for the App Engine standard environment was deprecated on August 2, 2017. The service was shutdown on September 13, 2018, and the documentation has been removed.

Endpoints Frameworks Python: Changing the default logging level

The ability to the change the default logging level was added to Endpoints Frameworks Python. For more information, see Logging in Endpoints Framework for Python.

August 2018

Cloud Endpoints Portal updates

Cloud Endpoints Portal is now now generally available. This release includes the following new features and enhancements:

Sync custom documentation through an API

An API that allows you to sync custom documentation to your portal is now available. To learn more, see the documentation for your API implementation:

Include images in custom documentation

You can add images to the custom content Git repository and reference them in your Markdown files. To learn more, see the documentation for your API implementation:

Introducing SmartDocs API reference documentation

The component that displays API reference documentation in your portal and provides the Try this API panel has a name: SmartDocs API reference documentation. Originally developed for the Cloud Endpoints Portal, SmartDocs is also available in Apigee’s integrated developer portal.

Shutdown of Cloud Endpoints Frameworks v1 is approaching

Cloud Endpoints Frameworks v1 for the App Engine standard environment was deprecated on August 2, 2017. The service is scheduled to be shutdown on September 3, 2018, and the documentation will be removed. To avoid an outage, you must migrate your v1 application. For information on migrating your application to Endpoints Frameworks v2, see the following:

Disable trace sampling in ESP

By default, ESP samples a small number of requests to your API and sends traces to Stackdriver Trace. The ESP startup option to disable trace sampling was added in ESP release 1.19.0. This option is now available for deployments on the App Engine flexible environment.

To learn more, see "Tracing your API" in the documentation for your API implementation:

Endpoints Frameworks, which is used on the App Engine standard environment does not use ESP for API management and does not send trace data to Stackdriver Trace.

July 2018

New role and permissions for Cloud Endpoints Portal

The Google Cloud Identity and Access Management (Cloud IAM) role, Endpoints Portal Admin, and several new Cloud IAM permissions are now available. The new role and permissions allow you to control the degree of access that project members have to Cloud Endpoints Portal.

To learn more, see "Cloud Endpoints Portal permissions" in the documentation for your API implementation:

June 2018

Library and Plugin Updates

  • The Endpoints Frameworks for Python library, version 4.4.0, has been enhanced such that you can import the message_types, messages, and the remote classes from the endpoints library instead of the protorpc library. In the file where you define your API, we recommend that you change your import statements from:

    import endpoints
    from protorpc import message_types
    from protorpc import messages
    from protorpc import remote
    

    to:

    from endpoints import message_types
    from endpoints import messages
    from endpoints import remote
    

    This optional change in your import statements streamlines code in the Endpoints Frameworks library.

  • The Endpoints Frameworks for Java libraries, version 2.1.0, now validates that requests have required parameters. If a required parameter is omitted in a request, Endpoints Frameworks returns the status code HTTP 400, Bad Request.

Beta launch of Cloud Endpoints Portal

You use Cloud Endpoints Portal to create a developer portal, a website that users of your Cloud Endpoints API can access to read documentation and to interact with your API.

To learn more, see "Cloud Endpoints Portal Overview" in the documentation for your API implementation:

March 2018

ESP managed rollout option

The ESP --rollout_strategy=managed option is now available for APIs described with OpenAPI or gRPC. This option configures ESP to use the latest deployed service configuration. When you specify this option, within a minute after you deploy a new service configuration, ESP detects the change and automatically begins using it. We recommend that you specify this option instead of a specific configuration ID for ESP to use.

This option is not available in Endpoints Frameworks.

Although the managed rollout option has been available in ESP since version 1.7.0, the gcloud command line tool has now been updated to make the option available on the App Engine flexible environment. Currently, the option is available only in the beta version of the gcloud command line tool. After you add the option to your app.yaml, you will need to use the gcloud beta app deploy command to deploy your API and ESP.

For information on deploying ESP with this new option, see the documentation for your API implementation:

Library and Plugin Updates

  • The Endpoints Frameworks for Python library, version 3.0.0, contains potentially breaking changes.
    • It is now possible to deploy a single service comprising multiple APIs. However, there are additional restrictions on API names when using this functionality. See Deploying and Testing an API for more details.
    • Previously, API version strings were embedded in the path as-is. For example, an API echo with version v1 would have a path like /echo/v1. This continues to be the case for API version strings that are not compatible with the SemVer standard. If the string is compatible with the SemVer standard, the major version number will be extracted and embedded in the path when you deploy your API. So, for example, an API called echo with version 2.1.0 would have a path like /echo/v2. If you update the echo API to version 2.2.0 and deploy a backwards-compatible change, the path remains /echo/v2. This allows you to update the API version number when you make a backwards-compatible change without breaking existing paths for your clients. But if you update the echo API to version 3.0.0 (because you are deploying a breaking change), the path is changed to /echo/v3.

January 2018

The Endpoints dashboard now provides the ability to compare a configuration file with the previous version. Viewing the differences in your configuration files might be helpful when troubleshooting a problem with a particular deployment. To learn more, see the documentation for your API implementation:

Library and Plugin Updates

  • The Endpoints Frameworks for Python library, version 2.5.0

December 2017

Endpoints DNS

The Endpoints DNS feature is now generally available. You can configure Endpoints to register a URL that you can use to call your APIs. For people not using App Engine, this provides a convenient way to call APIs without using your IP address or registering a domain name. The API can be called with a URL such as:

echo-api.endpoints.my-project-id.cloud.goog

To learn more, see the "Configuring DNS on the cloud.goog domain" page in the documentation for your API implementation:

Endpoints DNS with SSL

A sample that shows how to enable SSL for APIs configured to use the cloud.goog domain is now available. To learn more, see the documentation for your API implementation:

November 2017

Filter for a specific consumer project

The ability to filter metrics for a specific consumer project is now available as an Alpha feature in the Endpoints dashboard. To learn more, see the documentation for your API implementation:

Library and Plugin Updates

  • The Endpoints Frameworks for Python library, version 2.4.5

  • The Endpoints Framework Gradle plugin, version 1.0.3

  • The Endpoints Framework Maven plugin, version 1.0.3

October 2017

Beta Launch of Quotas

Quotas let you specify usage limits to protect your API from an excessive number of requests. To learn more about quotas, see the "About Quotas" page in the documentation for your API implementation:

gcloud endpoints and gcloud services

The Cloud SDK command groups gcloud endpoints and gcloud services are now generally available. The gcloud endpoints and gcloud services command groups are a replacement for gcloud service-management, which is deprecated.

Library Updates

  • The Endpoints Frameworks for Python library, version 2.4.1 is available.

  • The Endpoints Frameworks for Java libraries, version 2.0.9 are available.

August 2017

API metrics are now published in Stackdriver. You can monitor request rates, latencies and much more. For information on setting up alerts, see the "Monitoring your API" page in the documentation for your API implementation:

You will find a complete list of metrics in the Stackdriver metrics list.

July 2017

You can now programmatically grant access to individual APIs via the IAM API. See the "API Access Overview" page for your API implementation to find details.

May 2017

Endpoints now attributes calls to the Producer project if no API key is provided and reports the protocol used by the backend (gRPC, HTTP).

April 2017

Endpoints can now optionally register a URL that you can use to call your APIs. For people not using App Engine, this gives a convenient way to call APIs without using your IP address. The API can be called with a URL such as

echo-api.endpoints.my-project-id.cloud.goog

For details, see the OpenAPI configuration page or the gRPC configuration page.

February 2017

API Deployment History is now available in the Google Cloud Console, allowing you to view the history of API config deployments. This functionality is currently in Beta.

The API deployment history shows you who uploaded a particular configuration, when it was uploaded, and what its configuration ID is. This is helpful for finding configuration IDs and attribution of configuration changes for your API.

To see the new screen, navigate to your API in the Endpoints UI section of the Cloud Console and click on the Deployment History tab.

January 2017

We are changing the behavior of the Extensible Service Proxy (ESP) to deny cross-origin resource sharing (CORS) requests by default; if you rely on CORS requests, you must change your configuration to explicitly allow them and redeploy by January 2, 2017.

Background & Current Behavior

With the CORS standard, a browser inserts an extra OPTIONS request to the server to determine whether it has permission to perform a cross-origin request. Currently the ESP always accepts OPTIONS requests. This means that currently ESP always allows cross-origin requests through CORS.

Upcoming Changes

ESP will allow service producers to specify whether or not to allow cross-origin traffic. By default, ESP will block cross-origin requests by rejecting all OPTIONS requests. If you want to allow cross-origin requests for your API, you will need to add the following snippet to the service's OpenAPI configuration.

...
"host": "echo-api.endpoints.YOUR_PROJECT_ID.cloud.goog",
"x-google-endpoints": [
  {
    "name": "echo-api.endpoints.YOUR_PROJECT_ID.cloud.goog",
    "allowCors": true
  }
],
...

What You Need to Do

Follow the instructions in the appropriate tab below.

App Engine Flex

After ESP 1.0 is released on January 2, 2017, all Flexible Environment API deployments will feature the new version of ESP and will automatically disallow CORS requests by default. App Engine applications are automatically redeployed every 7 days, so sometime in the 7 days following the release of ESP 1.0, your app will be restarted with the latest version and will automatically be protected from unintended cross origin sharing.

If you are using Flexible Environments and would like to continue to allow CORS requests, you must add the "x-google-endpoints" snippet above to your API configuration (aka OpenAPI specification aka Swagger file). If you are relying on CORS, we recommend that you add the snippet as soon as possible and redeploy your service using the following command to avoid service interruption. Then you will not see changed behavior when the new version of ESP rolls out.

gcloud app deploy app.yaml

Kubernetes Engine

We plan to introduce this change in the version 1.0 release of ESP on January 2, 2017.

If you are currently using CORS to enable cross-origin traffic to your API, you will need to make changes to your API configuration (aka OpenAPI specification aka Swagger file) when you upgrade ESP to version 1.0 after January 2. Add the above "x-google-endpoints" snippets to the OpenAPI config for your API, and re-deploy your API configuration using the following command.

gcloud service-management deploy openapi.yaml

Note that the above step pushed your new service config to the service manager. Note the new SERVICE_CONFIG_ID, you will need it in the next step.

Now you need to redeploy your service. You can use the following command, replacing ESP-DEPLOYMENT with the deployment name for your service.

kubectl edit deployment/ESP-DEPLOYMENT

This command opens up your GKE configuration YAML and let you update the deployment. Make sure to change your version of ESP to 1.0 and update the SERVICE_CONFIG_ID to the new SERVICE_CONFIG_ID, and save the deployment.

containers:
    - name: esp
      image: gcr.io/endpoints-release/endpoints-runtime:1.0
      args: [
        "--http_port", "8080",
        "--backend", "localhost:8081",
        "--service", "SERVICE_NAME",
        "--version", "SERVICE_CONFIG_ID",
      ]

Compute Engine

We plan to introduce this change in the ESP version 1.0 release on January 2, 2017.

If you are currently using CORS to enable cross-origin traffic to your API, you will need to make changes to your API configuration (aka OpenAPI specification aka Swagger file) when you upgrade ESP to version 1.0. Add the above "x-google-endpoints" snippets to the OpenAPI config for your API, and re-deploy your API configuration using the following command.

gcloud service-management deploy openapi.yaml

Note that the above step pushed your new service config to the service manager. Note the new SERVICE_CONFIG_ID, you will need it in the next step.

Before redeploying your service, you need to update the metadata entries on the VM with the following command:

gcloud compute instances add-metadata --metadata=endpoints-service-name=SERVICE_NAME,endpoints-service-config-id=SERVICE_CONFIG_ID

Then you need to SSH to the VM and run the following command to restart ESP.

sudo /etc/init.d/nginx restart

Alternatively, if you use the start_esp.py script to start ESP (instead of the init.d script), you can stop ESP and re-run the start_esp.py command with the updated SERVICE_CONFIG_ID.

Compute Engine + Docker

We plan to introduce this change in the version 1.0 release of ESP on January 2, 2017.

If you are currently using CORS to enable cross-origin traffic to your API, you will need to make changes to your API configuration (known as the OpenAPI specification or Swagger file) when you upgrade ESP to version 1.0. Add the above x-google-endpoints snippets to the OpenAPI config for your API, and re-deploy your API configuration using the following command.

gcloud service-management deploy openapi.yaml

This pushes your new service config to Google Service Management. That command will return a new SERVICE_CONFIG_ID for your API. Note it down because you will need it in the next step.

Next, redeploy your service. First stop and remove the current ESP instance (e.g., "esp") using the following commands. You can use sudo docker ps command to find out the current ESP instance.

sudo docker stop esp
sudo docker rm esp

Then, run the following command to redeploy ESP. Make sure to use the new SERVICE_CONFIG_ID for -v option.

sudo docker run --name=esp -d -p 80:8080 --link=echo:echo gcr.io/endpoints-release/endpoints-runtime:1.0 -s [SERVICE_NAME] -v [SERVICE_CONFIG_ID] -a echo:8081
Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Cloud Endpoints
Need help? Visit our support page.