使用 k-匿名性直观呈现重标识风险

本主题说明如何使用 Cloud Data Loss Prevention (DLP) 衡量数据集的 k-匿名性,并在 Google Data Studio 中将其直观呈现。这样,您也可以更好地了解风险,同时有助于评估您在工具中对数据进行遮盖和去标识化时可能采用的折中。API 中也提供了 l-多样性之类的其他指标,但本主题的重点是介绍 k-匿名性。

简介

在您处理或使用数据时,去标识化技术非常有助于保护您主体的隐私。但是,如何知道数据集是否已充分进行去标识化?如何知道去标识化对于您的用例来说是否损失了太多数据?也就是说,如何将重标识风险与数据的效用进行比较,从而帮助您做出数据驱动型决策?

计算数据集的 k-匿名性值可帮助您解答这些问题,因为此操作会评估数据集记录的可重标识性。Cloud DLP 包含内置功能,可根据您指定的准标识符计算数据集上的 k-匿名性值。借此功能,您可以快速评估对某个列或列组合进行去标识化是否或多或少有可能导致对数据集进行重标识。

示例数据集

以下是某个大型数据集示例的前几行。

user_id zip_code age score
121317473 94043 25 52
121317474 92104 43 87
... ... ... ...

在本教程中,我们的侧重点在于准标识符,因此不处理 user_id。在实际场景中,您需要确保对它进行适当的遮盖或标记化处理。由于 score 列并非此数据集专有,并且攻击者不太可能通过其他方式了解,因此您不用将其包含在分析中。您将重点关注剩下的 zip_codeage 列,利用这些列,攻击者可以通过其他数据源了解个人信息。您需要回答以下有关数据集的问题:

  • 对于进行了去标识化的数据来说,这两个准标识符(zip_codeage)对其整体的重标识风险有什么影响?
  • 应用去标识化转换将如何影响这种风险?

您希望确保 zip_codeage 的组合不会映射到少数用户。例如,假设数据集中只有一个用户居住在邮编为 94043 的地区且年龄为 25 岁。攻击者可能会将这些信息与该地区的人口统计信息或其他可用信息进行交叉引用,查出该用户的身份并了解真实情报的价值。要详细了解此现象,请参阅风险分析概念主题中的实体 ID 和计算 k-匿名性部分。

步骤 1:计算数据集的 k-匿名性

首先,使用 Cloud DLP 计算数据集上的 k-匿名性。将以下 JSON 发送到资源。在此 JSON 中,将 DlpJob 实体 ID 设置为 user_id 列,并将两个准标识符标识为 zip_codeage 列。同时指示 Cloud DLP 将结果保存到 BigQuery 表格。

JSON 输入:

POST https://dlp.googleapis.com/v2/projects/[PROJECT_ID]/dlpJobs?key={YOUR_API_KEY}

{
  "riskJob":{
    "privacyMetric":{
      "kAnonymityConfig":{
        "entityId":{
          "field":{
            "name":"user_id"
          }
        },
        "quasiIds":[
          {
            "name":"zip_code"
          },
          {
            "name":"age"
          }
        ]
      }
    },
    "actions":[
      {
        "saveFindings":{
          "outputConfig":{
            "table":{
              "projectId":"dlp-demo-2",
              "datasetId":"risk",
              "tableId":"risk1"
            }
          }
        }
      }
    ],
    "sourceTable":{
      "projectId":"dlp-demo-2",
      "datasetId":"deid",
      "tableId":"source1"
    }
  }
}

k-匿名性作业完成后,Cloud DLP 会将作业结果发送到名为 dlp-demo-2.risk.risk1 的 BigQuery 表格。

步骤 2:将结果连接到 Google Data Studio

接下来,将步骤 1 中生成的 BigQuery 表连接到 Google Data Studio 中的新报告。

  1. 打开 Google Data Studio,然后点击开始新报告 (Start a new report) 下的空白选项。
  2. 在右侧的添加数据源 (Add a data source) 窗格中,点击底部的新建数据源 (CREATE NEW DATA SOURCE)。
  3. Google 连接器 (Google Connectors) 部分中,将光标指向 BigQuery,然后点击选择
  4. 在 BigQuery 数据源页面上,从列选择器中选择项目、数据集和表格。在本例中,对于项目,选择 dlp-demo-2;对于数据集,选择 risk;对于表格,选择 risk1
  5. 点击连接按钮,当三列都选择完成后,此按钮将变为蓝色。连接后,您会看到一个以不同颜色标示的字段列表,如下所示:Data Studio 中的字段列表。
  6. 字段列中,找到 upper_endpoint 字段。在汇总 (Aggregation) 下方的行中,从下拉菜单中选择求和
  7. 点击添加到报告 (Add to report)。

k-匿名性扫描结果现已添加到新的 Data Studio 报告中。在下一步中,您将创建图表。

步骤 3:创建图表

最后,根据导入的字段创建图表。执行以下操作以插入图表:

  1. 在 Data Studio 的插入菜单上,点击组合图表
  2. 在编辑器页面上想要显示图表的位置点击并绘制一个矩形。

接下来配置图表数据,以便图表显示更改存储分区大小和值范围的效果:

  1. 在右侧的数据标签下,将光标指向时间戳,然后点击带圆圈的 X 以移除日期范围维度 (Date Range Dimension)(如下图所示):
    启用了删除按钮的时间戳字段的详细信息。
  2. upper_endpoint 字段拖动到右列中的维度排序字段,然后从排序字段下的下拉菜单中选择升序
  3. bucket_sizebucket_value_count 字段拖动到指标字段中,然后移除右列中的任何其他指标选项。完成后,列应显示如下:
    字段列表的屏幕截图。
  4. 将光标指向 bucket_size 指标左侧的图标,此时将显示修改(铅笔)图标。点击修改图标,然后从相应的下拉菜单中选择以下两项:

    • 显示方式 (Display as) > 占总数的百分比 (Percent of total)
    • 应用运行计算 (Apply running calculation) > 运行求和 (Running sum)
  5. 重复上一步,不过是针对 bucket_value_count 指标。

最后,将图表配置为显示两个指标的折线图:

  1. 点击窗口右侧窗格中的样式标签。
  2. 对于这两个系列(#1 和 #2,表示 bucket_sizebucket_value_count),选择直线
  3. 要单独查看最终图表,请点击窗口右上角的查看按钮。

突出显示 k-匿名性 = 10 的最终图表。

解读图表

在生成的图表中,x 轴表示 k-匿名性值,y 轴表示数据泄露百分比。例如,在上面的屏幕截图中,突出显示的数据点的 k-匿名性值为 10。我们可以这样理解:如果删除 k-匿名性值最大为 10 的所有行,则会泄露数据集中 82% 的行。此外。还会泄露 92% 的年龄和邮编的唯一组合。上图说明,若要不泄露大量行和值,在此数据集中的 k-匿名性值很难超过 2 或 3

所幸的是,删除数据并不是唯一的选择。使用其他去标识化技术可以更好地平衡泄露和效用。例如,为了解决这种与较高的 k-匿名性值和此类数据集相关的数据泄露问题,您可以尝试对年龄或邮编进行分桶,以降低年龄/邮编组合的唯一性。例如,您可以尝试使用 20-25、25-30、30-35 等范围对年龄进行分桶。如需详细了解如何执行此操作,请参阅泛化和分桶以及对文本内容中的敏感数据进行去标识化

Visualizing re-identification risk using k‑anonymity

This topic shows how to measure k-anonymity of a dataset using Cloud Data Loss Prevention (DLP) and visualize it in Google Data Studio. By doing so, you'll also be able to better understand risk and help evaluate the trade-offs in utility you might be making if you redact or de-identify data. Additional metrics like l-diversity are also available in the API, but the focus of this topic will be on k-anonymity.

Introduction

De-identification techniques can be very helpful in protecting your subjects' privacy while you process or use data. But how do you know if a dataset has been sufficiently de-identified? And how will you know whether your de-identification has resulted in too much data loss for your use case? That is, how can you compare re-identification risk with the utility of the data to help make data-driven decisions?

Calculating the k-anonymity value of a dataset helps answer these questions by assessing the re-identifiability of the dataset's records. Cloud DLP contains built-in functionality to calculate a k-anonymity value on a dataset based on quasi-identifiers that you specify. This helps enable you to quickly evaluate whether de-identifying a certain column or combination of columns will result in a dataset that is more or less likely to be re-identified.

Example dataset

Following are the first few rows of a large example dataset.

user_id zip_code age score
121317473 94043 25 52
121317474 92104 43 87
... ... ... ...

For the purposes of this tutorial, user_id will not be addressed, as the focus is on quasi-identifiers. In a real-world scenario, you would want to ensure that it is redacted or tokenized appropriately. The score column is proprietary to this dataset, and it's unlikely an attacker would be able to learn it by other means, so you will not include it in the analysis. Your focus will be on the remaining zip_code and age columns, with which an attacker could potentially learn about an individual through other sources of data. The questions you're trying to answer for the dataset are:

  • What effect will the two quasi-identifiers—zip_code and age—have on the overall re-identification risk of the de-identified data?
  • How will applying a de-identification transformation affect this risk?

You want to be sure that the combination of zip_code and age won't map to a small number of users. For example, suppose there is only one user in the dataset who lives in ZIP code 94043 and who is age 25. An attacker might be able to cross-reference that information with demographics about the area or other available information, figure out who the person is, and learn the value of their score. For more information about this phenomenon, see the "Entity IDs and computing k-anonymity" section in the Risk analysis conceptual topic.

Step 1: Calculate k-anonymity on the dataset

First, use Cloud DLP to calculate k-anonymity on the dataset. Send the following JSON to the resource. Within this JSON, you set the DlpJob entity ID to the user_id column, and identify the two quasi-identifiers as both the zip_code and age columns. You're also instructing Cloud DLP to save the results to a BigQuery table.

JSON Input:

POST https://dlp.googleapis.com/v2/projects/[PROJECT_ID]/dlpJobs?key={YOUR_API_KEY}

{
  "riskJob":{
    "privacyMetric":{
      "kAnonymityConfig":{
        "entityId":{
          "field":{
            "name":"user_id"
          }
        },
        "quasiIds":[
          {
            "name":"zip_code"
          },
          {
            "name":"age"
          }
        ]
      }
    },
    "actions":[
      {
        "saveFindings":{
          "outputConfig":{
            "table":{
              "projectId":"dlp-demo-2",
              "datasetId":"risk",
              "tableId":"risk1"
            }
          }
        }
      }
    ],
    "sourceTable":{
      "projectId":"dlp-demo-2",
      "datasetId":"deid",
      "tableId":"source1"
    }
  }
}

Once the k-anonymity job has completed, Cloud DLP sends the job results to a BigQuery table named dlp-demo-2.risk.risk1.

Step 2: Connect results to Google Data Studio

Next, you'll connect the BigQuery table you produced in Step 1 to a new report in Google Data Studio.

  1. Open Google Data Studio, and then click the Blank option under Start a new report.
  2. In the Add a data source pane on the right, click Create New Data Source at the bottom.
  3. In the Google Connectors section, point to BigQuery, and then click Select.
  4. On the BigQuery data source page, choose the project, dataset, and table from the column picker. For this example, choose dlp-demo-2 for the project, risk for the dataset, and risk1 for the table.
  5. Click the Connect button, which turns blue once you've chosen from all three columns. Once you've connected, you see a color-coded list of fields, shown here: List of fields in Data Studio.
  6. In the Field column, find the upper_endpoint field. In its row under Aggregation, choose Sum from the drop-down menu.
  7. Click Add to Report.

The k-anonymity scan results have now been added to the new Data Studio report. In the next step, you'll create the chart.

Step 3: Create the chart

Finally, you create the chart based on the imported fields. Do the following to insert the chart:

  1. In Data Studio, on the Insert menu, click Combo chart.
  2. Click and draw a rectangle on the editor page where you want the chart to appear.

Next, configure the chart data so that the chart shows the effect of varying the size and value ranges of buckets:

  1. Under the Data tab on the right, remove the Date Range Dimension by pointing at timestamp and then clicking the circled X, as shown here:
    Detail of timestamp field with delete button enabled.
  2. Drag the upper_endpoint field into the Dimension and Sort fields in the right column, and then select Ascending from the drop-down menu under the Sort field.
  3. Drag the bucket_size and bucket_value_count fields into the Metric field, and then remove any additional Metric selections in the right column. Once you're done, the column should appear as shown here:
    Screen shot of fields list.
  4. Point to the icon to the left of the bucket_size metric and an edit (pencil) icon appears. Click the edit icon, and then select both of the following from the corresponding drop-down menus:

    • Display as > Percent of total
    • Apply running calculation > Running sum
  5. Repeat the previous step, but for the bucket_value_count metric.

Finally, configure the chart to display a line chart for both metrics:

  1. Click the STYLE tab in the pane on the right of the window.
  2. For both series (#1 and #2, which represent bucket_size and bucket_value_count), choose Line.
  3. To view the final chart on its own, click the View button in the upper-right corner of the window.

Final chart, with k-anonymity = 10 highlighted.

Interpreting the chart

The chart that is generated has k-anonymity values on its x-axis, and percentage of data loss on its y-axis. For example, in the screenshot above, the highlighted data point is a k-anonymity value of 10. This can be interpreted as follows: If you drop all rows with a k-anonymity value of at most 10, you will lose 82% of the rows from the dataset. Additionally, this would result in a 92% loss of unique age/ZIP code combinations. The chart above illustrates that it is difficult to achieve a k-anonymity value above 2 or 3 in this dataset without dropping a significant number of rows and values.

Thankfully, dropping data is not the only option. Other de-identification techniques can strike a better balance between loss and utility. For example, to address the kind of data loss associated with higher k-anonymity values and this dataset, you could try bucketing ages or ZIP codes to reduce the uniqueness of age/ZIP code combinations. For example, you could try bucketing ages in ranges of 20-25, 25-30, 30-35, and so on. For more information about how to do this, see Generalization and bucketing and De-identifying sensitive data in text content.

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Data Loss Prevention Documentation