防止过拟合

训练 BigQuery ML 模型时经过会遇到过拟合的问题。当模型与训练数据的匹配过于紧密时就会出现过拟合,这会导致模型在新数据上表现不佳。BigQuery ML 支持两种防止过拟合的方法:早停法正则化

如需了解如何修改下述选项,请参阅 CREATE MODEL 语句

早停法

早停法是 BigQuery ML 中预防过拟合的默认方法。启用早停法后,系统会在训练期间监控留出数据损失,并在最近迭代的损失改进幅度低于阈值时停止训练。由于训练期间不使用留出数据,因此这是对模型在新数据上的损失的合理估算。early_stopmin_rel_progressdata_split_methoddata_split_eval_fraction 选项用于控制早停法的行为。

正则化

正则化可防止模型权重过大,防止模型与训练数据的匹配过于紧密。BigQuery ML 支持两种方法来控制模型权重的大小:L1 正则化L2 正则化

默认情况下,l1_regl2_reg 的值为零,这会停用正则化。在某些数据集上,为 l1_regl2_reg 设置正值将改进经过训练的模型在新数据上的表现。正则化参数的最佳值通常是通过反复试验确定的,试验通常会使用几个数量级的值(例如,0.01、0.1、1、10 和 100)。

以下是关于使用正则化的一些建议:

  • 如果您正在试验正则化参数,请尝试停用早停法,以使正则化的效果更清晰。

  • 如果特征数量大于训练集的大小,请尝试使用较大的正则化参数值。当每个特征只有少量观察结果时,过拟合的风险会更大。

  • 如果您担心很多特征与预测标签无关,请尝试将 l1_reg 设置为大于 l2_reg 的值,反之亦然。有理论证据表明,当存在许多不相关特征时,L1 正则化的效果更好。

L1 正则化的另一个好处是,它会将许多模型权重设置为零,这有助于确定最相关特征以及训练紧凑模型。

后续步骤

Preventing overfitting

A common pitfall when training a BigQuery ML model is overfitting. Overfitting occurs when the model matches the training data too closely, causing it to perform poorly on new data. BigQuery ML supports two methods for preventing overfitting: early stopping and regularization.

To learn how to modify the options described below, see the CREATE MODEL statement.

Early stopping

Early stopping is the default option for overfitting prevention in BigQuery ML. When early stopping is enabled, the loss on the holdout data is monitored during training, and training is halted once the loss improvement in the latest iteration falls below a threshold. Since the holdout data is not used during training, it is a good estimate of the model's loss on new data. The early_stop, min_rel_progress, data_split_method, and data_split_eval_fraction options control the behavior of early stopping.

Regularization

Regularization keeps the model weights from growing too large, preventing the model from matching the training data too closely. BigQuery ML supports two methods for controlling the size of the model weights: L1 regularization and L2 regularization.

By default, the values of l1_reg and l2_reg are zero, which disables regularization. On some datasets, setting positive values for l1_reg and l2_reg will improve the trained model's performance on new data. The best values for the regularization parameters are typically found through trial-and- error, and it is common to experiment with values across several orders of magnitude (for example, 0.01, 0.1, 1, 10, and 100).

Here is some general advice on using regularization:

  • If you are experimenting with the regularization parameters, try disabling early stopping so that the effect of regularization is clear.

  • If the number of features is large compared to the size of the training set, try large values for the regularization parameters. The risk of overfitting is greater when there are only a few observations per feature.

  • If you are concerned that many features may be irrelevant for predicting the label, try setting l1_reg to be larger than l2_reg and vice versa. There is theoretical evidence that L1 regularization works better when many features are irrelevant.

Another benefit of L1 regularization is that it tends to set many model weights to exactly zero, which is helpful for identifying the most relevant features and training a compact model.

What's next