关于机器学习数据集内的敏感数据的注意事项

在开发机器学习 (ML) 程序时,平衡公司内部的数据访问与访问的安全隐患非常重要。您可能希望原始数据集中包含可以指导机器学习训练的数据洞见,即使对敏感数据的访问会受限也是如此。为实现这两个目标,可以在原始数据的子集上训练机器学习系统,或者在部分应用任意数量的聚合或混淆技术之后,在整个数据集上训练机器学习系统。

例如,您可能希望数据工程师训练机器学习模型来衡量客户对产品的反馈,但您不希望他们知道是谁提交了反馈。然而,收货地址和购买历史等信息对于训练机器学习模型至关重要。将数据提供给数据工程师后,他们需要查询数据以进行数据探索,因此在使用敏感数据字段之前对其进行保护非常重要。在涉及商品推荐引擎的机器学习模型中,这种困境也很常见。换言之,要创建能够返回用户特定结果的模型,通常需要访问用户特定数据。

幸运的是,您可以使用一些技术从数据集中移除一些敏感数据,同时仍然可以训练高效的机器学习模型。本文重点介绍了一些识别和保护敏感信息的策略,以及帮助解决机器学习数据可能存在的安全问题的流程。

处理敏感信息

敏感信息是指您和您的法律顾问希望通过额外的安全措施(如限制访问或加密)保护的任何数据。例如,姓名、电子邮件地址、帐单信息等字段,以及可能允许数据工程师或恶意行为者间接推断出敏感信息的信息通常被视为敏感信息。

HIPAA 和 PCI-DSS 等标准规定了一套保护敏感数据的最佳做法,同时告知客户其敏感数据可能的处理方式。这些认证允许客户就其信息的安全性做出明智的决策。

出于以下原因,处理机器学习数据集中的敏感数据可能很困难:

  • 大多数基于角色的安全性都是针对所有权概念实现的,具体表现为用户可以查看和/或修改自己的数据,但无法访问不属于他们的数据。但在汇总了许多用户的数据的机器学习数据集中,这种所有权的概念失效了。因为您需要授予数据工程师对整个数据集的查看权限,以便他们有效地使用数据集。
  • 为提高安全性,我们通常会加密或降低敏感字段的解析度,但对于机器学习数据集来说,这种方法并不总是奏效。原因在于聚合数据集本身就可提供通过频率分析攻击来破解加密的方法。
  • 从数据集中随机标记化、禁用或移除敏感字段可能会隐藏必要的数据,这样就会妨碍有效的机器学习模型训练,从而导致预测性能不佳。

组织通常会开发工具和一组最佳做法,以便在安全性和实用性之间取得适当的平衡。为了帮助保护机器学习数据集中的敏感数据,请记住以下三个目标,本文档的其余部分将对此进行介绍:

  • 识别数据集中高置信度的敏感数据。
  • 保护敏感数据,同时确保不对项目产生负面影响。可以通过移除、遮盖或粗化已确定的敏感数据来实现。
  • 创建治理计划和最佳做法文档。这样,您的数据工程师和客户就可以针对敏感数据做出合适的决策,尤其是在无法可靠地识别、遮盖或移除敏感数据的场景中。

以下各部分将详细介绍这三个目标,并主要关注数据集在公司内保持不公开的场景。本文不涉及要公开共享数据集的场景。

识别敏感数据

在某些场景中,您的环境可能存在敏感数据。以下部分介绍了五种最常见的场景,并为您提供了识别每种场景中的敏感数据的方法。

列中的敏感数据

敏感数据可以限制在结构化数据集的特定列中。例如,您可能有一组包含用户名字、姓氏和邮寄地址的列。在这种情况下,您可以确定哪些列中具有敏感数据、确定如何保护这些数据,并记录这些决策。

非结构化文本数据集中的敏感数据

敏感数据可以是基于非结构化文本的数据集的一部分,通常可以使用已知模式对其进行检测。例如,可以使用信用卡号的通用正则表达式模式可靠地检测聊天记录中的信用卡号。使用更复杂的工具可以最大限度地减少导致错误分类的正则表达式检测错误,例如 Cloud Data Loss Prevention API (DLP)。

自由格式非结构化数据中的敏感数据

敏感数据可以存在于自由格式的非结构化数据中,例如文本报告、录音、照片或扫描收据。在这些数据集中识别敏感数据变得更加困难,但有许多工具可以帮到您。

  • 对于自由文本文档,您可以使用自然语言处理系统(如 Cloud Natural Language API)来识别实体、电子邮件地址和其他敏感数据。
  • 对于录音,您可以使用语音转文字服务(如 Cloud Speech API),然后应用自然语言处理程序。
  • 对于图像,您可以使用文本检测服务(如 Cloud Vision API)从图像中提取原始文本,并隔离图像中文本的位置。Vision API 可以为图像中的某些目标项提供位置坐标,例如,您可以使用此信息在训练机器学习模型之前遮掩收银台排队图中的所有人脸,以估算平均客户等待时间。
  • 对于视频,您可以将每个视频解析为单个图像帧并将其视为图像文件,或者您可以使用视频处理工具(如 Cloud Video Intelligence API 和 Cloud Speech API)来处理音频。

这些技术仍需经过您自己的法律顾问的审查和批准,其识别潜在敏感数据的效果取决于您的系统能够处理自由文本、转录音频、解析图像和分割视频的程度。上文列出的 Google API 以及 DLP API 是您可以整合到预处理流水线中的强大工具。但是,这些自动化方法并不完善,您需要考虑维护一项治理政策以处理清理后仍然存在的任何敏感信息。

字段组合中的敏感数据

敏感数据可以作为字段的组合存在,或者随着时间的推移从受保护字段的变更信息中显现出来。例如,降低识别用户的可能性的标准做法是将邮政编码的最后两位数字模糊处理,将邮政编码从五位缩减为三位 ("zip3")。但是,与工作相关联的 zip3 和与家庭住址相关联的 zip3 的组合可能足以识别具有不寻常的家庭工作组合信息的用户。同样,随着时间的推移,zip3 家庭住址的变更信息可能足以识别已经搬家多次的个体。

确定数据集在面对频率分析攻击时是否真正受到保护需要具备统计专业知识。任何依赖于人类专家的场景都存在可伸缩性的挑战,并且可能自相矛盾地要求同一数据工程师清理数据以检查原始数据是否存在潜在问题。理想情况下,您可以创建自动化方法来识别和量化这种风险,但这超出了本文的讨论范围。

总之,您应该与您的法律顾问和数据工程师一起评估您在这些场景中面临的风险。

非结构化内容中的敏感数据

由于嵌入了上下文信息,敏感数据有时会存在于非结构化内容中。例如,聊天记录可能包含短句“我昨天在办公室给你打电话了,但是四楼的移动信号太差,所以我必须前往十八楼 Cafe Deluxe Espresso 咖啡厅旁边的休息室。”

根据您的训练数据的上下文和范围以及您的法律顾问的建议,您可能希望过滤此内容的某些信息。由于这种场景具有非结构化性质并存在能够产生类似推断的大量短句的复杂组合,因此很难用程序化工具来解决问题,但您可以考虑对整个非结构化数据集的访问执行更严格的治理。

对于模型开发,通常有效的做法是采用已被可信人员清理和审查过的数据的子样本,并使其可用于模型开发。然后,您将能够使用安全限制和软件自动化来通过生产模型训练流程处理完整数据集。

保护敏感数据

识别敏感数据后,必须确定如何保护它。

移除敏感数据

如果项目不需要用户特定信息,请考虑在将数据集提供给数据工程师以构建机器学习模型之前从数据集中删除这些信息。但是,如前所述,在某些情况下,移除敏感数据会大幅降低数据集的价值,在这些情况下,应使用“遮盖敏感数据”部分中介绍的一种或多种技术来遮盖敏感数据。

针对数据集的不同结构,移除敏感数据需要采用不同的方法:

  • 当数据仅存在于结构化数据集中的特定列时,您可以创建一个不提供对相关列的访问权限的视图。数据工程师无法查看数据,但同时数据仍然有效,并且不需要人工干预来去除其标识以进行持续训练。
  • 当敏感数据为非结构化内容的一部分,但可以使用已知模式识别时,它可以被自动移除并替换为通用字符串。这就是 Cloud DLP 应对这一挑战的方法。
  • 当敏感数据存在于图像、视频、音频或非结构化自由格式数据中时,您可以扩展已部署的工具以识别敏感数据并对其进行遮盖或移除处理。
  • 当由于字段组合而存在敏感数据,并且您已合并自动化工具或手动数据分析步骤来量化每列所带来的风险时,您的数据工程师可以针对保留或移除任何相关列做出明智的决策。

遮盖敏感数据

当您无法移除敏感数据字段时,您的数据工程师仍有可能使用经过遮盖的数据来训练出有效模型。如果您的数据工程师确定可以遮盖部分或全部敏感数据字段而不影响机器学习训练,则您可以采用多种方式来遮盖数据。

  • 最常见的方法是使用替换加密,这种方法使用所有出现的纯文本标识符的哈希值和/或加密值对其进行替换。通常认为使用强加密哈希算法(如 SHA-256)或强加密算法(如 AES-256)来存储所有敏感字段是最佳做法。重要的是要记住,加密时使用盐不会产生可重复的值,这对机器学习训练是不利的。

  • 标记化是一种遮盖技术,它用不相关的假值替换存储在每个敏感字段中的实际值。假值到实际值的映射会在完全不同且可能更安全的数据库中加密/哈希化。值得注意的是,只有在相同的值重复使用同一标记值时,此方法才适用于机器学习数据集。在这种情况下,它类似于替换加密,并且易受频率分析攻击。两者的主要区别在于标记化通过将加密值推送到单独的数据库中来增加额外的保护层。

  • 另一种通过多列保护数据的方法使用主成分分析法 (PCA) 或其他降维技术来组合多个特征,然后仅对得到的 PCA 向量进行机器学习训练。例如,给定三个不同的字段,包括“年龄”、“是否吸烟”(以 1 或 0 表示)和“体重”。然后,这些数据会被压缩到单个 PCA 列中,该列使用以下等式:1.5 * 年龄 + 30 * 是否吸烟 + 0.2 * 体重。那么,一个 20 岁、有吸烟习惯、体重 140 磅的人的 PCA 值就是 88。这与 30 岁、不吸烟、体重 215 磅的人的 PCA 值相同。

    这种方法非常强大,因为即便能够通过某个独特属性识别出某人,也很难在没有 PCA 向量公式解释的情况下唯一确定这个人。但是,所有 PCA 处理都会减少数据分布,以准确性换取安全性。

如前所述,有时可以使用不同标识符在自然情况下出现的频率的先验知识来破坏替换密文,并从各种加密标识符的实际出现频率得出推论。例如,婴儿姓名公开数据集中的名字分布可用于推断特定加密标识符可能代表的名字。鉴于不良行为者可能有权访问完整数据集,加密、哈希化和标记化很容易受到频率分析攻击。此外,泛化和量化在其替换中使用多对一映射,相应的推断会稍弱,但仍然容易受到频率分析攻击。由于机器学习数据集具有许多相应的变量,因此频率分析攻击可以使用出现的联合概率,使得密文更容易被破解。

因此,所有遮盖方法都必须与有效的审计和治理机制相结合,以限制对可能包含敏感数据的所有机器学习数据集的访问。这包括所有敏感字段已禁用、加密、量化或泛化的数据集。

粗化敏感数据

粗化是另一种用于降低数据精度或粒度的技术,旨在使数据集中的敏感数据更难以识别,同时仍然可以提供接近使用粗化前数据训练模型的性能。以下字段特别适合使用此方法:

  • 位置。全球各地有着各不相同的人口密度,并且您很难确定应该将位置坐标粗化到哪种程度。例如,基于小数的经纬度,四舍五入到小数点后一位(例如 -90.3,约 10 公里内),可能足以确定农村地区拥有大农场的居民。当舍入不足以粗化坐标时,您可以使用位置标识符,例如城市、州或邮政编码。它们覆盖了更大的区域,因此更难区分某个人。请选择足够大的存储分区大小以充分粗化任何一行的独特特征。
  • 邮政编码。5+4 形式的美国邮政编码可以识别家庭,但也可以进行粗化,使其仅包含前三位(“zip3”)。这限制了通过将许多用户放入同一个存储分区来识别特定用户的能力。同样,建议您量化这种风险,因为巨大的数据集可能会带来越来越复杂的攻击。
  • 数字。可以对数字进行分箱以降低通过它识别出某个人的可能性。例如,通常不需要知道精确的生日,只需要用户出生的年份或月份即可。因此,可以通过替换范围来粗化年龄、生日和类似的数字字段。
  • IP 地址。IP 地址通常是涉及应用日志的任何机器学习工作流的一部分,并且在敏感程度方面,它们经常被视为物理地址。使 IPv4 地址的最后八位字节归零(如果使用 IPv6,则为最后 80 位)是一种很好的粗化技术。这与将经纬度四舍五入或将街道地址精简为邮政编码相同,即以地理准确性换取安全性。我们的建议是在流水线中尽早进行 IP 地址粗化,您甚至可以修改日志记录软件,在将 IP 地址写入磁盘之前遮盖或禁用 IP 地址。

制定治理政策

如果您的数据集包含任意数量的敏感数据,建议您咨询法律顾问以制定治理政策并编写最佳做法文档。政策详情由您自行决定,也有很多资源供您参考,例如 PCI 安全标准委员会的维护 PCI DSS 合规性的最佳做法,以及 ISO/IEC 27001:2013 安全技术要求(可点击此处预览)。以下列表还包含您在制定政策框架时可以考虑的一些常见概念:

  • 为治理文档建立安全位置。
  • 从文档中排除加密密钥、哈希函数或其他工具。
  • 记录所有已知的传入敏感数据来源。
  • 记录存储的敏感数据的所有已知位置以及存在的数据类型。包括为保护它而采取的所有补救措施。
  • 记录已知、且在其中很难或不可能实施补救措施、或者补救措施不一致的敏感数据位置。这包括怀疑可能受到频率分析攻击的情况。
  • 建立一个持续扫描和识别敏感数据新来源的流程。
  • 记录已被授予临时或永久访问敏感数据权限的角色和个人员工姓名(尽量)。包括他们需要此访问权限的原因信息。
  • 记录员工请求访问敏感数据的过程。指定他们可以访问敏感数据的位置,复制敏感数据的权限、方式和地点,以及与访问权限相关的任何其他限制。
  • 建立流程以定期审核哪个员工有权访问哪些敏感数据,并确定其是否仍需要访问权限。在离职流程中加入一段内容,概述员工离职或更改角色时应采取的措施。
  • 建立流程来传达、执行并定期审查政策。

后续步骤

Considerations for Sensitive Data within Machine Learning Datasets

When you are developing a machine learning (ML) program, it's important to balance data access within your company against the security implications of that access. You want insights contained in the raw dataset to guide ML training even as access to sensitive data is limited. To achieve both goals, it's useful to train ML systems on a subset of the raw data, or on the entire dataset after partial application of any number of aggregation or obfuscation techniques.

For example, you might want your data engineers to train an ML model to weigh customer feedback on a product, but you don't want them to know who submitted the feedback. However, information such as delivery address and purchase history is critically important for training the ML model. After the data is provided to the data engineers, they will need to query it for data exploration purposes, so it is important to protect your sensitive data fields before making it available. This type of dilemma is also common in ML models that involve recommendation engines. To create a model that returns user-specific results, you typically need access to user-specific data.

Fortunately, there are techniques you can use to remove some sensitive data from your datasets while still training effective ML models. This article aims to highlight some strategies for identifying and protecting sensitive information, and processes to help address security concerns you might have with your ML data.

Handling sensitive information

Sensitive information is any data that you and your legal counsel want to protect with additional security measures such as restricted access or with encryption. For example, fields such as name, email address, billing information, or information that could allow a data engineer or malicious actor to indirectly deduce the sensitive information are often considered sensitive.

Standards such as HIPAA and PCI-DSS specify a set of best practices for protecting sensitive data, while also informing customers about the way their sensitive data is supposed to be handled. These certifications allow customers to make informed decisions about the security of their information.

Handling sensitive data in machine learning datasets can be difficult for the following reasons:

  • Most role-based security is targeted towards the concept of ownership, which means a user can view and/or edit their own data but can't access data that doesn't belong to them. The concept of ownership breaks down with ML datasets that are an aggregate of data from many users. Essentially, data engineers need to be granted view-access to an entire set of data in order to effectively use the dataset.
  • Encrypting or reducing the resolution of sensitive fields is often used as a preventive measure, but isn't always sufficient for an ML dataset. The aggregate dataset itself often provides the means of breaking the encryption through frequency analysis attacks.
  • Random tokenization, suppression, or removal of the sensitive fields from the dataset can degrade effective ML model training by obscuring necessary data, resulting in poor performance of your predictions.

Organizations often develop tools and a set of best practices in order to strike an appropriate balance between security and utility. To help protect sensitive data in ML datasets, keep in mind the following three goals, which are discussed in the rest of this document:

  • Identify sensitive data in the dataset with a high level of confidence.
  • Protect sensitive data without adversely impacting the project. This can be accomplished by removing, masking, or coarsening the data you have determined to be sensitive.
  • Create a governance plan and best practices documentation. This allows your data engineers as well as customers to make appropriate decisions about your sensitive data, particularly those scenarios where the sensitive data cannot be identified reliably, masked, or removed.

These three goals are discussed in detail in the following sections, which focus on scenarios where your datasets remain private within your company. This article does not cover scenarios where the datasets are meant to be shared publicly.

Identifying sensitive data

Sensitive data might exist in your environment in several scenarios. The following sections cover five of the most common scenarios, and present methods you can use to identify sensitive data in each.

Sensitive data in columns

Sensitive data can be restricted to specific columns in structured datasets. For example, you might have a set of columns containing a user's first name, last name, and mailing address. In this case, you identify which columns have sensitive data, decide how to secure them, and document these decisions.

Sensitive data in unstructured text-based datasets

Sensitive data can be part of an unstructured text-based dataset, and it can often be detected using known patterns. For example, credit card numbers in chat transcripts can be reliably detected using a common regular expression pattern for credit card numbers. Regular expression detection errors, leading to misclassification, can be minimized using more complex tools like the Google Data Loss Prevention API (DLP API).

Sensitive data in free-form unstructured data

Sensitive data can exist in free-form unstructured data such as text reports, audio recordings, photographs, or scanned receipts. These datasets make it considerably more difficult to identify your sensitive data, but there are many tools available to help you.

  • For free-text documents, you might use a natural language processing system such as the Cloud Natural Language API to identify entities, email addresses, and other sensitive data.
  • For audio recordings, you can use a speech-to-text service such as the Cloud Speech API, and subsequently apply the natural language processor.
  • For images, you can use a text-detection service such as the Cloud Vision API to yield raw text from the image and isolate the location of that text within the image. The Vision API can provide the coordinates for locations of some targeted items within images, and you might use this information for example, to mask all faces from images of a cash register line before training a machine learning model to estimate average customer wait times.
  • For videos, you can parse each video into individual picture frames and treat them as image files, or you can use a video processing tool such as the Cloud Video Intelligence API along with the Cloud Speech API to process the audio.

These techniques are still subject to the review and approval of your own legal counsel and depend on how well your systems are able to process free text, transcribe audio, understand images, and segment video in order to identify potential sensitive data. The Google APIs listed above, as well as the DLP API, are powerful tools you can incorporate into your preprocessing pipeline. However, these automated methods are imperfect, and you will want to consider maintaining a governance policy to deal with any sensitive information that remains after scrubbing.

Sensitive data in a combination of fields

Sensitive data can exist as a combination of fields, or manifest from a trend in a protected field over time. For example, a standard practice to reduce the likelihood of identifying a user is to blur the last two zip-code digits, reducing the zip code from five to three ("zip3"). However, a combination of zip3 associated with work and a zip3 associated with a home address might be enough to identify users with unusual home-work combinations. Similarly, a zip3 home address trend over time might be enough to identify an individual who has moved several times.

Identifying whether a dataset is truly protected in the face of a frequency analysis attack requires statistical expertise. Any scenario dependent upon human experts presents scalability challenges, and can paradoxically require the same data engineer scrubbing the data to inspect the raw data for potential problems. Ideally, you would create automated ways to identify and quantify this risk, a task beyond the scope of this article.

Regardless, you should work with your legal counsel and data engineers to assess your exposure to risk in these scenarios.

Sensitive data in unstructured content

Sensitive data sometimes exists in unstructured content because of embedded contextual information. For example, a chat transcript might include the phrase "I called yesterday from my office. I had to go to the eighteenth floor lobby by the Cafe Deluxe Espresso, because the fourth floor has poor mobile reception."

Based on the context and scope of your training data and advice of your legal counsel, you might want to filter aspects of this content. Due to the unstructured nature and large set of complex combinations of phrases that could enable similar inferences, this is a difficult scenario to address with programmatic tools, but it is worth considering tighter governance around access to the entire unstructured dataset.

For model development it is often effective to take a subsample of this data that has been scrubbed and reviewed by a trusted person and make it available for model development. You would then be able to use security restrictions and software automation to process the full dataset through the production model training process.

Protecting sensitive data

After you have identified your sensitive data, you must determine how to protect it.

Removing sensitive data

If user-specific information is not necessary for your project, consider deleting all that information from the dataset before it is provided to the data engineers building your ML model. However, as discussed earlier, there are cases where removing the sensitive data dramatically reduces the value of the dataset and in these cases, sensitive data should be masked using one or more of the techniques discussed in the Masking Sensitive Data section.

Depending on the structure of the dataset, removing sensitive data requires different approaches:

  • When data is restricted to specific columns in structured datasets, you can create a view that doesn't provide access to the columns in question. The data engineers cannot view the data, but at the same time the data is "live," and doesn't require human intervention to de-id it for continuous training.
  • When sensitive data is part of unstructured content, but it's identifiable using known patterns, it can be automatically removed and replaced by a generic string. This is how the DLP API addresses this challenge.
  • When sensitive data exists within images, videos, audio, or unstructured free-form data, you can extend the tools you've deployed to identify the sensitive data to mask or remove it.
  • When sensitive data exists because of a combination of fields, and you have incorporated automated tools or manual data analysis steps to quantify the risk posed by each column, your data engineers can make informed decisions about retaining or removing any relevant column.

Masking sensitive data

When you can't remove sensitive data fields, it might still be possible for your data engineers to train effective models with the data in a masked format. If your data engineers determine that some or all of the sensitive data fields can be masked without impacting the ML training, several techniques can be used to mask the data.

  • The most common approach is to use a substitution cipher, which involves replacing all occurrences of a plain-text identifier by its hashed and/or encrypted value. It is generally accepted as a best practice to use a strong cryptographic hash such as SHA-256, or a strong encryption algorithm such as AES-256 to store all sensitive fields. It is important to remember that using a salt with your encryption will not create repeatable values, and it is detrimental to ML training.

  • Tokenization is a masking technique that substitutes an unrelated dummy value for the real value stored in each sensitive field. The mapping of the dummy value to the real value is encrypted/hashed in a completely different and presumably more secure database. It is worth noting that this method works for ML datasets only if the same token value is reused for identical values. In this case, it is akin to a substitution cipher and is vulnerable to frequency analysis attacks. The primary difference is that tokenization adds an additional layer of protection by pushing the encrypted values into a separate database.

  • Another method of protecting data with multiple columns uses Principal Components Analysis (PCA) or other dimension-reducing techniques to combine several features and then carry out ML training only on the resulting PCA vectors. For example, given three different fields, age, smoker (represented as 1 or 0), and body-weight, the data might get condensed into a single PCA column that uses the following equation: 1.5age+30smoker+0.2*body-weight. Somebody who is 20 years old, smokes, and weighs 140 pounds generates a value of 88. This is the same value generated by someone who is 30 years old, doesn't smoke, and weighs 215 pounds.

    This method can be quite robust because even if one identifies individuals who are unique in some way, it is hard to determine without an explanation of the PCA vector formula what makes them unique. However, all PCA processing reduces the data distribution, and trades accuracy for security.

As previously noted, it is sometimes possible to break a substitution cipher using a priori knowledge of the frequency with which different identifiers occur "in the wild," and deriving inferences from the actual occurrence of the various encrypted identifiers. For example, the distribution of first names in a public dataset of baby names can be used to infer the likely set of names for a particular encrypted identifier. Given that bad actors might have access to the complete dataset, encryption, hashing, and tokenization are vulnerable to frequency analysis attacks. Generalization and quantization use a many-to-one mapping in their substitution, and the corresponding inference is slightly weaker but still vulnerable to a frequency analysis attack. Because machine learning datasets have a number of corresponding variables, the frequency analysis attack can use joint-probabilities of occurrence, potentially making the cipher much easier to crack.

Therefore, all masking methods have to be combined with an effective auditing and governance mechanism to restrict access to all machine learning datasets that could potentially contain sensitive data. This includes datasets where all the sensitive fields have been suppressed, encrypted, quantized, or generalized.

Coarsening sensitive data

Coarsening is another technique used to decrease the precision or granularity of data in order to make it more difficult to identify sensitive data within the dataset, while still giving you comparable benefits versus training your model with the pre-coarsened data. The following fields are particularly well-suited to this approach:

  • Locations. Population density varies across the globe, and there is no easy answer to how much you should round off location coordinates. For example, decimal-based latitudes and longitudes, rounded off to single-digit precision (e.g. -90.3, approximately within 10 km), might be sufficient to pinpoint residents of rural areas with large farms. When rounding is insufficient for coordinates, you can use location identifiers such as city, state or zipcode. These cover much larger areas, and hence make it harder to distinguish one single individual. Choose a large enough bucket size to adequately obfuscate the unique characteristics of any one row.
  • Zip Codes. US zip codes in a 5+4 form can identify a household, but can be coarsened to include just the first three digits ("zip3"). This limits the ability to identify a specific user by putting many users into the same bucket. Again, you might want to quantify this risk since extremely large datasets enable increasingly sophisticated attacks.
  • Numeric quantities. Numbers can be binned to make them less likely to identify an individual. For example, an exact birthday is often not required, just the decade or month a user was born. Therefore, ages, birthdays, and similar numeric fields can be coarsened by substituting ranges.
  • IP addresses IP addresses are often part of any machine learning workflow that involves application logs, and they are often treated like physical addresses in terms of sensitivity. A good coarsening technique is to zero out the last octet of IPv4 addresses (the last 80 bits if using IPv6). This has the same function as rounding off the latitude/longitude or reducing a street address to a zip code, trading geographic accuracy for more protection. Engage in IP address coarsening as early in the pipeline as possible: you might even be able to modify your logging software to mask or suppress IP addresses before writing them to disk.

Establishing a governance policy

If your datasets have any amount of sensitive data, it is recommended that you consult legal counsel to establish some sort of governance policy and best practices documentation. The details of your policy are left to you, and there are many resources available, such as the PCI Security Standards Council's Best Practices for Maintaining PCI DSS Compliance, and the ISO/IEC 27001:2013 security techniques requirements available to preview here. The following list also contains a number of common concepts you can consider when establishing your policy framework:

  • Establish a secure location for governance documentation.
  • Exclude encryption keys, hash functions, or other tools from your documentation.
  • Document all known sources of incoming sensitive data.
  • Document all known locations of stored sensitive data along with what type of data is present. Include all remediation steps that have been taken to protect it.
  • Document known sensitive data locations where remediation steps are difficult, inconsistent, or impossible. This covers situations where it is suspected that frequency analysis attacks could be used.
  • Establish a process to continually scan for and identify new sources of sensitive data.
  • Document the roles and (possibly) individual employee names who have been granted temporary or permanent access to sensitive data. Include information as to why they required the access.
  • Document the processes by which employees request access to sensitive data. Specify where they can access sensitive data, if, how, and where they can copy it, and any other restrictions associated with access.
  • Establish a process to regularly review who has access to what sensitive data and determine whether access is still required. Outline what to do when employees leave or change roles as part of an off-boarding process.
  • Establish a process to communicate the policies, enforce them, and regularly review them.

Next steps

Send feedback about...