Managing queues and tasks

This page describes how to manage existing tasks and queues, including deleting them. In some cases you might need to delete a task that cannot be completed successfully, no matter how many times it is retried.

Deleting a task from a queue

To delete a task using Cloud Console:

  1. Open the Cloud Tasks page in the console.

    Go to the Cloud Tasks queues page

  2. Click the name of the queue that has the task you want to remove.

  3. Select the task that you want to delete and click Delete task.

  4. Click Delete.

Purging all tasks from a queue

To delete all tasks using Cloud Console:

  1. Open the Cloud Tasks queues page in the console. You might need to select the correct tab to access the your queue.

    Go to the Cloud Tasks queues page

  2. Click name of the queue whose tasks you want to remove.

  3. Click Purge queue.

  4. Confirm the action.

All tasks created before the moment of purging are expunged. Purge operations can take up to one minute to take effect.

Pausing queues

To pause or resume a queue using Cloud Console:

  1. Open the Cloud Tasks queues page in the console.

    Go to the Cloud Tasks queues page

  2. Select the name of the queue you want to pause and click Pause queue. To resume the queue, click Resume queue.

  3. Confirm the action.

Deleting queues

To delete a queue using Cloud Console:

  1. Open the Cloud Tasks queues page in the console.

    Go to the Cloud Tasks queues page

  2. Select the name of the queue you want to delete and click Delete queue.

  3. Confirm the action.

If you delete a queue from the Cloud Console, you must wait 7 days before recreating with the same name.