DevOps 流程:简化变更审核流程

大多数 IT 组织都制定有变更管理流程来管理内部和面向客户的 IT 服务的变更生命周期。这些流程通常是降低变更的运营和安全风险的主要控制措施。

变更管理流程通常包括外部审核人员或变更审核委员会 (CAB) 审核以将变更升级到整个系统中。

合规性管理人员和安全管理人员依赖变更管理流程来验证合规性要求,这通常需要有证据证明所有变更均已获得适当授权。

DevOps 研究和评估组织 (DORA) 在 2019 年 DevOps 现状报告 (PDF) 中的研究表明,变更审核流程最好是在开发流程期间通过代码互审来实现,通过在软件交付生命周期的早期阶段自动检测、预防和纠正错误,以此作为对审核流程的补充。持续测试持续集成全面监控和可观察性等技术提供早期自动检测、可见性和快速反馈。

此外,组织还可以更好地传达现有流程并帮助团队高效导航,从而提升其性能。如果团队成员清楚了解变更审核流程,则这样做可以提升性能。

如何实施变更审核流程

变更审核流程的两个重要目标是降低更改风险和满足监管要求。一种常见的监管要求是职责分离,即要求更改必须由作者以外的其他人审核,从而确保没有人对流程进行端到端控制。

传统上,这些目标已通过涉及审核(由提议更改的下列团队外部人员审核)的重量级流程达成:变更咨询委员会 (CAB) 或高级经理。但是,DORA 的研究表明,这些方法会对软件交付性能产生负面影响。此外,没有任何证据可证明外部审核流程越正式,更改失败率就越低这一假设。

这种重量级方法通常会降低交付流程的速度,导致大型批次的发布频率降低,同时对有可能与更高级别风险相关的生产系统造成更大影响,因此更改失败率也就更高。DORA 的研究发现数据支持这种假设。

相反,团队应该:

  • 使用代码互审达成职责分离的目标,并在开发过程中于团队的开发平台中获取评价、评论和审核。
  • 采用持续测试持续集成全面监控和可观测性快速检测、防止和更正错误的更改。
  • 您可以将开发平台视为一款产品,以便开发者能够轻松快速获取对多个方面(包括安全性、性能和稳定性)以及缺陷更改带来的影响的反馈。

您的目标是使定期变更管理流程足够快速和可靠,便于您使用它进行紧急更改。

持续交付范式中,CAB 仍然发挥着重要作用,其中包括:

  • 方便通知和团队协作。
  • 帮助团队进行流程改进以提高软件交付性能。
  • 权衡重要的业务决策,这些决策需要在较高的业务级别进行权衡和签核,例如在上市时间和业务风险之间作出决策。

CAB 的这个新角色是战略性的。将详细的代码审核转移到从业者和自动化方法后,投入领导和管理职位的时间和注意力就可以得到释放以便专注于更具战略意义的工作。从 gatekeeper 到 Process Architecture 和 Information Beacon 的转变,与软件交付性能表现优异的组织保持一致。

变更审核流程中的常见问题

变更审核流程中通常会出现以下问题:

依靠集中的变更审核委员会 (CAB) 发现错误并审核变更。这种方法会造成延迟,并且经常出错。CAB 擅长宣传变更,但距离变更较远的人可能不了解这些变更背后的意义。

平等对待所有变更。如果所有变更都遵循相同的审核流程,变更审核就会效率低下,由于风险概况或时间存在差异,人们就无法将时间和精力投在真正需要注意的地方。

无法应用持续改进。与所有流程一样,关键的性能指标(如准备时间和更改失败率)应以改善更改管理流程的性能为目标,包括为团队提供工具和培训,帮助他们更有效地进行调整。

通过添加更多流程来回复问题。当生产中遇到稳定性问题时,组织通常会采用额外的流程,并承担更重量级的审核责任。分析表明,此方法会使情况变差,因为这种方法会导致准备时间和批次大小增加,从而形成严格的循环。相反,您应致力于进行更快更安全的更改。

改善变更审核流程的方法

如需改善您的变更审核流程,请重点实施以下内容:

  1. 迁移到基于代码互审的个别更改流程,已在代码检查时强制实施且自动化测试支持该流程。
  2. 在提交更改后,请以自动化方式尽快找出用来发现回归、性能问题和安全问题等问题的各种方法。
  3. 通过不断分析来尽早检测并标记高风险变更,以便对其进行额外的审查。
  4. 以端到端的方式查看变更流程、确定瓶颈,并尝试各种方法以将验证转移到开发平台。
  5. 在平台和基础架构层以及开发工具链中实现信息安全控制,而不是在软件交付过程中手动对其进行检查。

2019 年 DevOps 现状报告 (PDF) 的研究表明,尽管弃用传统的正式变更管理流程是最终目标,但更好地传达现有流程并帮助团队高效导航会对软件交付性能产生积极影响。如果团队成员清楚了解更改获准实施的流程,则这样做可以提升性能。这表示对于团队成员通常执行的所有类型的更改,他们确信更改能够及时通过审核流程,并且了解更改每次从“已提交”变为“已接受”的步骤。

衡量系统中变更审核的方法

现在,您的团队可以列出衡量变更审核的可能方法:

测试的因素 衡量的指标
能否在未经人工变更审核的情况下将变更升级到生产中? 需要(或无需)进行手动变更才能(就能)升级到生产中的变更所占百分比。

提示:您还可以根据风险概况衡量该因素:多大百分比的低风险、中风险和高风险变更升级到生产中之前需要手动变更?
生产变更在部署或实施之前是否需要外部机构审核? 变更等待外部机构审核所需时间量。

提示:随着您将审核权限转移给距离工作较近的人员,请衡量等待本地审核机构或审核人员进行审核所需的时间。

您还可以按风险概况衡量该因素。衡量需要外部机构审核的变更数量或比例,以及等待审核所花的时间。
您是否依靠同行评审来管理变更? 由同行评审管理的变更所占的百分比。

您还可以按风险概况衡量该因素。
团队成员是否清楚地了解了更改获准实施的流程? 对于团队成员通常执行的所有类型的更改,团队成员对于更改能够及时通过审核流程的确信程度,以及对于更改每次从“已提交”变为“已接受”的步骤的了解程度。

考虑我们自己的环境时,您可能会制定自己的措施,以便了解并深入洞察您的变更审核流程。我们建议您不仅要衡量自己的流程,还要努力改善这些流程。

后续步骤

DevOps process: Streamlining change approval

Most IT organizations have change management processes to manage the life cycle of changes to IT services, both internal and customer-facing. These processes are often the primary controls to reduce the operational and security risks of change.

Change management processes often include approvals by external reviewers or change approval boards (CABs) to promote changes through the system.

Compliance managers and security managers rely on change management processes to validate compliance requirements, which typically require evidence that all changes are appropriately authorized.

Research by DevOps Research and Assessment (DORA), presented in the 2019 State of DevOps Report (PDF), finds that change approvals are best implemented through peer review during the development process, supplemented by automation to detect, prevent, and correct bad changes early in the software delivery life cycle. Techniques such as continuous testing, continuous integration, and comprehensive monitoring and observability provide early and automated detection, visibility, and fast feedback.

Further, organizations can improve their performance by doing a better job of communicating the existing process and helping teams navigate it efficiently. When team members have a clear understanding of the change approval process, this drives higher performance.

How to implement a change approval process

Two important goals of the change approval process are decreasing the risk of making changes, and satisfying regulatory requirements. One common regulatory requirement is segregation of duties, which states that changes must be approved by someone other than the author, thus ensuring that no individual has end-to-end control over a process.

Traditionally, these goals have been met through a heavyweight process involving approval by people external to the team proposing the change: a change advisory board (CAB) or a senior manager. However, DORA's research shows that these approaches have a negative impact on software delivery performance. Further, no evidence was found to support the hypothesis that a more formal, external review process was associated with lower change fail rates.

Such heavyweight approaches tend to slow down the delivery process leading to the release of larger batches less frequently, with an accompanying higher impact on the production system that is likely to be associated with higher levels of risk and thus higher change fail rates. DORA's research found this hypothesis was supported in the data.

Instead, teams should:

  • Use peer review to meet the goal of segregation of duties, with reviews, comments, and approvals captured in the team's development platform as part of the development process.
  • Employ continuous testing, continuous integration, and comprehensive monitoring and observability to rapidly detect, prevent, and correct bad changes.
  • Treat your development platform as a product that makes it easy for developers to get fast feedback on the impact of their changes on multiple axes, including security, performance, and stability, as well as defects.

Your goal should be to make your regular change management process fast and reliable enough that you can use it to make emergency changes too.

In the continuous delivery paradigm the CAB still has a vital role, which includes:

  • Facilitating notification and coordination between teams.
  • Helping teams with process improvement work to increase their software delivery performance.
  • Weighing in on important business decisions that require a trade-off and sign-off at higher levels of the business, such as the decision between time-to-market and business risk.

This new role for the CAB is strategic. By shifting detailed code review to practitioners and automated methods, the time and attention of those in leadership and management positions is freed up to focus on more strategic work. This transition, from gatekeeper to process architect and information beacon, is consistent with the practices of organizations that excel at software delivery performance.

Common pitfalls in change approval processes

The following pitfalls are common to change approval processes:

Reliance on a centralized Change Approval Board (CAB) to catch errors and approve changes. This approach can introduce delay and often error. CABs are good at broadcasting change, but people that far removed from the change might not understand the implications of those changes.

Treating all changes equally. When all changes are subject to the same approval process, change review is inefficient, and people are unable to devote time and attention to those that require true concentration because of differences in risk profile or timing.

Failing to apply continuous improvement. As with all processes, key performance metrics such as lead time and change fail rate should be targeted with the goal of improving the performance of the change management process, including providing teams with tools and training to help them navigate it more effectively.

Responding to problems by adding more process. Often organizations use additional process and more heavyweight approvals when faced with stability problems in production. Analysis suggests this approach will make things worse because this drives up lead times and batch sizes, creating a vicious cycle. Instead, invest in making it quicker and safer to make changes.

Ways to improve your change approval process

To improve your change approval processes, focus on implementing the following:

  1. Moving to a peer-review based process for individual changes, enforced at code check-in time, and supported by automated tests.
  2. Finding ways to discover problems such as regressions, performance problems, and security issues in an automated fashion as soon as possible after changes are committed.
  3. Performing ongoing analysis to detect and flag high risk changes early on so that they can be subjected to additional scrutiny.
  4. Looking at the change process end-to-end, identifying bottlenecks, and experimenting with ways to shift validations into the development platform.
  5. Implementing information security controls at the platform and infrastructure layer and in the development tool chain, rather than reviewing them manually as part of the software delivery process.

Research from the 2019 State of DevOps Report (PDF) shows that while moving away from traditional, formal change management processes is the ultimate goal, simply doing a better job of communicating the existing process and helping teams navigate it efficiently has a positive impact on software delivery performance. When team members have a clear understanding of the process to get changes approved for implementation, this drives high performance. This means they are confident that they can get changes through the approval process in a timely manner and know the steps it takes to go from "submitted" to "accepted" every time for all the types of changes they typically make.

Ways to measure change approval in your systems

Now your teams can list possible ways to measure change approval:

Factor to test What to measure
Can changes be promoted to production without manual change approvals? The percentage of changes that do (or do not) require a manual change to be promoted to production.

Tip: You can also measure this factor based on risk profile: what percentage of low-, medium-, and high-risk changes require a manual change to be promoted to production?
Do production changes need to be approved by an external body before deployment or implementation? The amount of time changes spend waiting for approval from external bodies.

Tip: As you shift approvals closer to the work, measure the amount of time spent waiting for approval from local approval bodies or reviewers.

You can also measure this factor by risk profile. Measure number or proportion of changes that require approval from external bodies, as well as the time spent waiting for those approvals.
Do you rely on peer review to manage changes? Percentage of changes that are managed by peer-review.

You can also measure this factor by risk profile.
Do team members have a clear understanding of the process to get changes approved for implementation? The extent to which team members are confident they can get changes through the approval process in a timely manner and know the steps it takes to go from "submitted" to "accepted" every time for all the types of changes they typically make.

While you consider your own environment, you will likely develop your own measures to understand and gain insight into your change approval processes. We suggest you use these to not only measure your process but also work to improve it.

What's next