Processus de gestion des incidents liés aux données

Télécharger la version PDF

Présentation

La priorité absolue de Google Cloud est d'offrir un environnement sûr et sécurisé pour les données client. Afin de protéger ces données, Google met en œuvre des mécanismes de sécurité de pointe qui combinent des processus stricts, une équipe d'envergure mondiale, ainsi qu'une infrastructure multicouche de sécurité et de confidentialité des informations. Ce document traite de l'approche de Google concernant la gestion des incidents liés aux données dans Google Cloud. Cette approche est basée sur plusieurs principes.

La gestion des incidents est un aspect essentiel du programme global de sécurité et de confidentialité de Google. Nous appliquons un processus rigoureux de gestion des incidents liés aux données. Ce processus spécifie les actions à entreprendre ainsi que les procédures de transmission, d'atténuation des risques, de résolution et de notification applicables en cas d'incidents affectant la confidentialité, l'intégrité ou la disponibilité des données client.

Google définit un incident lié aux données comme une violation de la sécurité qui entraîne, de manière accidentelle ou illégale, la destruction, la perte ou l'altération des données client sur des systèmes gérés ou contrôlés par Google, ou bien encore l'accès non autorisé à ces données ou leur divulgation illicite. Bien que Google ait pris des mesures visant à réduire les menaces prévisibles à l'encontre des données et des systèmes, les incidents liés aux données n'incluent pas les tentatives infructueuses ni les activités ne compromettant pas la sécurité des données client, telles que les échecs de connexion, les pings, les balayages de ports, les attaques par déni de service, ou les autres attaques réseau touchant les pare-feu ou les systèmes en réseau.

Comment Google aide à sécuriser les données client

La sécurité des données client, qui revêt une importance capitale, est le résultat de la collaboration entre Google et le client. Tandis que Google sécurise l'infrastructure et les services cloud sous-jacents, le client protège ses applications, ses appareils et ses systèmes en les faisant reposer sur l'infrastructure cloud de Google. Google fournit des conseils aux clients et leur propose de nombreuses fonctionnalités permettant d'appliquer ses pratiques de sécurité :

  • Gestion de l'authentification et des accès

  • Chiffrement au repos et en transit par défaut (c'est-à-dire sans aucune démarche supplémentaire de la part des clients)

  • Authentification multifacteur, y compris la clé matérielle antihameçonnage de deuxième facteur

  • Série d'options de sécurité réseau, telles que des clouds privés virtuels (VPC), des VPC partagés ou une protection contre les attaques DDoS, qui sont intégrées aux applications SaaS (Software as a Service) et aux solutions PaaS (Platform as a Service), et peuvent être étendues aux solutions IaaS (Infrastructure as a Service)

  • Journaux d'audit détaillés

Pour découvrir la façon dont Google sécurise le cloud, consultez la page Présentation de la sécurité sur l'infrastructure de Google ainsi que la présentation NEXT 2018 concernant la sécurité. Vous pouvez également accéder au site sur la sécurité de Google Cloud.

Google offre aux clients une visibilité sur les services qu'ils utilisent sur Google Cloud. Ils peuvent en effet accéder au centre de sécurité pour G Suite afin de prévenir, détecter et résoudre les problèmes liés à Gmail, à Drive, aux appareils, à OAuth et aux comptes utilisateur. Dans le cas de GCP, les clients peuvent se rendre sur la plateforme Cloud Security Command Center pour obtenir une visibilité sur les ressources, les failles, les risques et les règles au sein de leur organisation.

De leur côté, les clients doivent correctement configurer les fonctionnalités de sécurité afin de satisfaire leurs propres besoins, installer des mises à jour logicielles, paramétrer des zones de sécurité réseau et des pare-feu, et s'assurer que les utilisateurs finaux sécurisent leurs identifiants de compte et n'exposent pas de données sensibles à des tiers non autorisés.

La figure 1 illustre le partage de la responsabilité entre le client et Google en fonction de l'étendue des services gérés exploités par le client. Lorsque le client passe de solutions sur site à des offres de cloud computing IaaS, PaaS et SaaS, Google gère une plus grande partie du service cloud global, déchargeant d'autant le client en matière de responsabilités de sécurité.

Pour en savoir plus sur les configurations de la sécurité dans le cloud, les clients peuvent se reporter à la documentation produit applicable.

Graphique décrivant la responsabilité du client et de Google

Gestion des incidents liés aux données

Le programme de gestion des incidents de Google est géré par des équipes d'experts qui assument de nombreuses fonctions spécialisées afin de garantir que chaque réponse est adaptée aux défis présentés par chaque incident. En fonction de la nature de l'incident, l'équipe professionnelle de gestion des incidents peut intervenir dans les domaines suivants :

  • Gestion des incidents dans le cloud
  • Ingénierie produit
  • Ingénierie en fiabilité des sites
  • Sécurité et confidentialité dans le cloud
  • Investigation numérique
  • Investigation globale
  • Détection de signaux
  • Conseils sur la sécurité, la confidentialité et les produits
  • Fiabilité et sécurité
  • Technologie contre les abus
  • Service client

Les experts de ces équipes œuvrent de différentes manières. Par exemple, les chargés d'incidents coordonnent la gestion des incidents et, si nécessaire, l'équipe d'investigation numérique détecte les attaques en cours et procède à des enquêtes. Les ingénieurs produit cherchent à limiter l'impact sur les clients et proposent des solutions visant à corriger le ou les produits concernés. L'équipe juridique collabore avec les membres de l'équipe responsable des questions de sécurité et de confidentialité afin de mettre en œuvre la stratégie adoptée par Google pour la collecte de preuves. Elle communique également avec les organismes chargés de l'application des lois et les autorités de réglementation gouvernementales, et fournit des conseils sur les questions et les obligations légales. Le personnel d'assistance répond aux questions des clients ainsi qu'à leurs demandes d'informations et d'aide.

Organisation de l'équipe

Lorsque nous déclarons un incident, nous désignons un chargé d'incidents qui coordonne sa gestion et sa résolution. Le chargé d'incidents sélectionne des spécialistes issus de différentes équipes et forme une équipe de gestion des incidents. La figure 2 ci-dessous illustre l'organisation classique de cette équipe. Le chargé d'incidents délègue le traitement de divers aspects de l'incident à ces professionnels, et gère celui-ci depuis sa déclaration jusqu'à sa résolution. La figure 2 décrit l'organisation des différents rôles et leurs responsabilités lors de la gestion d'un incident.

Organisation de l'équipe de gestion des incidents liés aux données

Processus de gestion des incidents liés aux données

Chaque incident lié aux données est unique. Notre processus de gestion des incidents liés aux données vise à protéger les données des clients, à restaurer un fonctionnement normal le plus rapidement possible, ainsi qu'à respecter les exigences de conformité réglementaires et contractuelles. Le programme de gestion des incidents de Google suit le processus suivant :

Workflow de gestion des incidents

Identification

Pour pouvoir résoudre efficacement les incidents, il est essentiel de les identifier rapidement et précisément. L'objectif de cette phase est de surveiller les événements liés à la sécurité afin de détecter et de signaler les éventuels incidents affectant les données.

L'équipe de détection des incidents de Google emploie des outils de détection avancés, ainsi que des signaux et des mécanismes d'alerte qui permettent d'identifier rapidement les incidents potentiels.

Google exploite les sources suivantes pour détecter les incidents :

  • Analyse automatique des journaux système et réseau : l'analyse automatique du trafic réseau et de l'accès au système permet d'identifier les activités suspectes, abusives ou non autorisées. Elle est transmise au personnel de sécurité de Google.

  • Tests : l'équipe de sécurité de Google recherche activement les menaces de sécurité à l'aide de tests d'intrusion, de mesures de contrôle qualité, d'un processus de détection des intrusions et d'examens de la sécurité logicielle.

  • Examens de code internes : les examens du code source permettent d'identifier les failles cachées ou les défauts de conception, et de vérifier si les principaux contrôles de sécurité sont mis en œuvre.

  • Outils et processus propres au produit : des outils automatisés propres aux équipes sont employés autant que possible afin d'améliorer la capacité de Google à détecter les incidents au niveau du produit.

  • Détection des anomalies d'utilisation : Google exploite de nombreuses couches de systèmes de machine learning pour différencier les activités saines des activités anormales au niveau des navigateurs, des appareils ou des connexions aux applications, ainsi que lors d'autres événements d'utilisation.

  • Alertes de sécurité au niveau des centres de données et/ou des lieux de travail : des alertes de sécurité déclenchées dans les centres de données permettent d'analyser les incidents susceptibles d'affecter l'infrastructure de l'entreprise.

  • Employés Google : un employé Google détecte une anomalie et la signale.

  • Initiative Vulnerability Reward Program de Google : les éventuelles failles techniques qui affectent la confidentialité ou l'intégrité des données utilisateur dans les extensions de navigateur ou les applications mobiles et Web détenues par Google sont parfois signalées par des chercheurs en sécurité externes.

Coordination

Lorsqu'un incident est signalé, l'employé d'astreinte examine et évalue la nature du rapport d'incident pour déterminer s'il s'agit d'un éventuel incident lié aux données et lance le processus de gestion des incidents de Google.

Une fois confirmé, l'incident est transmis à un chargé d'incidents qui en évalue la nature et met en œuvre une approche coordonnée de l'intervention requise. À ce stade, l'intervention se traduit par l'évaluation de la nature de l'incident, l'ajustement de son niveau de gravité si nécessaire et le déploiement d'une équipe d'intervention adaptée, dont les responsables opérationnels/techniques appropriés examinent les faits et identifient les principaux domaines nécessitant une enquête. Nous désignons un chef de produit et un responsable juridique qui sont chargés de prendre les décisions clés concernant la démarche à suivre. Le chargé d'incidents attribue les rôles pour l'enquête et les faits sont rassemblés.

De nombreux aspects de l'intervention de Google dépendent de l'évaluation de la gravité, qui est basée sur les principaux faits recueillis et analysés par l'équipe de gestion des incidents. Les points pris en compte incluent :

  • Le risque de préjudice pour les clients, les tiers et Google

  • La nature de l'incident (par exemple, si des données ont été potentiellement détruites, si elles ont été consultées ou si elles sont devenues indisponibles)

  • Les types de données pouvant être affectés

  • L'impact de l'incident sur l'utilisation du service par les clients

  • L'état de l'incident (par exemple, s'il est isolé, continu ou maîtrisé)

Le chargé d'incidents et les autres responsables réévaluent régulièrement ces facteurs tout au long du processus à mesure que de nouvelles informations sont disponibles, afin de veiller à ce que le degré d'urgence soit correctement déterminé et que les ressources appropriées soient engagées. Les événements présentant l'impact le plus critique se voient attribuer le niveau de gravité le plus élevé. Un responsable des communications est nommé pour établir un plan de communication avec les autres responsables.

Résolution

À ce stade, l'accent est mis sur la recherche de la cause première, la limitation de l'impact de l'incident, la résolution des risques de sécurité immédiats (le cas échéant), la mise en œuvre des correctifs nécessaires dans le cadre de la résolution ainsi que la restauration des systèmes, données et services affectés.

Les données concernées sont restaurées à leur état d'origine dès que possible. En fonction des mesures nécessaires pour remédier à un incident spécifique, Google peut mettre en œuvre d'autres procédures afin de le résoudre. Par exemple, une investigation technique ou numérique peut être nécessaire pour détecter la cause première d'un problème ou identifier l'impact sur les données client. Google peut tenter de récupérer des copies des données à partir de ses copies de sauvegarde si les données ont été altérées ou détruites de façon inappropriée.

Un aspect important de la résolution consiste à informer les clients des incidents qui affectent leurs données. Les principaux faits sont évalués tout au long de l'incident afin de déterminer si des données client ont été touchées ou non. S'il est nécessaire d'informer le client d'un incident, le chargé d'incidents lance le processus de notification. Le responsable des communications élabore un plan de communication à l'aide des rapports établis par le chef de produit et le responsable juridique, informe les personnes concernées et traite les demandes du client après la notification avec l'aide de notre équipe d'assistance.

Google s'efforce de fournir des notifications rapides, claires et précises, et d'y inclure les informations connues concernant l'incident lié aux données, les mesures prises pour atténuer les risques éventuels, ainsi que les actions que Google recommande au client pour la gestion de l'incident. Nous faisons de notre mieux pour offrir une vision claire de l'incident, et pour permettre aux clients d'évaluer et de remplir leurs obligations de notification.

Clôture

Une fois qu'un incident lié aux données est résolu, l'équipe de gestion des incidents évalue les enseignements qu'elle a tirés de celui-ci. Lorsque l'incident soulève des problèmes critiques, le chargé d'incidents peut lancer une analyse post-mortem. Lors de ce processus, l'équipe de gestion des incidents examine les causes de l'incident ainsi que la réponse de Google, puis identifie les principaux points à améliorer. Dans certains cas, il est nécessaire d'instaurer un dialogue entre différentes équipes produit, opérationnelles et d'ingénierie, et d'œuvrer à l'amélioration du produit. Si un travail de suivi est requis, l'équipe de gestion des incidents élabore un plan d'action à cet effet et nomme des chefs de projet afin de mener à bien cette tâche sur le long terme. L'incident est clos une fois le travail de résolution terminé.

Amélioration continue

Nous mettons tout en œuvre pour tirer des leçons de chaque incident et établir des mesures préventives afin d'éviter que d'autres ne se produisent à l'avenir.

Les insights exploitables obtenus lors de l'analyse des incidents nous permettent d'améliorer nos outils, nos formations, nos processus, le programme global de sécurité et de protection des données confidentielles de Google, les règles de sécurité et/ou les efforts d'intervention. Ces enseignements facilitent également la hiérarchisation des démarches d'ingénierie à mener et la conception de meilleurs produits.

Les professionnels de la sécurité et de la confidentialité de Google améliorent le programme de sécurité en examinant les plans de l'entreprise concernant la sécurité pour tous les réseaux, systèmes et services, et fournissent aux équipes produit et d'ingénierie des services de conseil propres aux projets. Ils déploient des outils de machine learning et d'analyse de données, ainsi que d'autres techniques innovantes qui permettent de surveiller les activités suspectes sur les réseaux de Google, de gérer les menaces liées à la sécurité des informations, de procéder fréquemment à des évaluations et audits de sécurité, et de faire appel à des experts externes qui évaluent régulièrement la sécurité. En outre, notre équipe connue sous le nom de Project Zero s'attache à plein temps à prévenir les attaques ciblées en signalant les bugs aux fournisseurs de logiciels et en les archivant dans une base de données externe.

Google organise régulièrement des formations et des campagnes de sensibilisation pour stimuler l'innovation dans le domaine de la sécurité et de la confidentialité des données. Le personnel dédié à la gestion des incidents est formé à l'investigation numérique et au traitement des preuves, y compris à l'utilisation d'outils tiers et propriétaires. Les tests des processus et procédures de gestion des incidents sont menés sur des zones clés, telles que les systèmes stockant des informations client sensibles. Ces tests tiennent compte de divers scénarios (tels que la présence de menaces internes et de failles logicielles) et nous aident à mieux nous préparer aux incidents de sécurité et de confidentialité.

Les processus de Google sont régulièrement testés dans le cadre de nos programmes ISO-27017, ISO-27018, ISO-27001, PCI-DSS, SOC 2 et FedRAMP. Cela garantit à nos clients et aux autorités de réglementation que nos dispositifs de contrôle de la sécurité, de la confidentialité et de la conformité sont vérifiés de façon indépendante. Une liste plus complète des certifications tierces de Google Cloud est disponible sur cette page.

Résumé

Comme décrit ci-dessus, Google applique un programme de gestion des incidents d'envergure mondiale qui inclut les fonctions clés suivantes :

  • Un processus de résolution des incidents reposant sur des techniques de pointe et adapté pour fonctionner efficacement à l'échelle de Google

  • Des systèmes innovants de surveillance, d'analyse des données et de machine learning permettant de détecter et de contenir les incidents de manière proactive

  • Des experts dédiés pouvant être déployés pour remédier à tous les types d'incidents liés aux données, quelle que soit leur taille

  • Un processus éprouvé permettant d'informer rapidement les clients concernés, conformément aux engagements de Google stipulés dans ses conditions d'utilisation et ses contrats client

La protection des données se trouve au cœur de la démarche de Google. Nous investissons en permanence dans notre programme de sécurité global afin d'acquérir davantage de ressources et d'étendre notre expertise. Nos clients peuvent ainsi compter sur nous pour réagir efficacement en cas d'incident, protéger leurs données et offrir un service dont le degré de fiabilité est conforme à la qualité Google.

Data incident response process

Download pdf version

Introduction

Maintaining a safe and secure environment for customer data is Google Cloud’s highest priority. To protect customer data, Google runs an industry-leading information security operation that combines stringent processes, a world-class team, and multi layered information security and privacy infrastructure. This paper focuses on Google’s principled approach to managing and responding to data incidents for Google Cloud.

Incident response is a key aspect of Google’s overall security and privacy program. We have a rigorous process for managing data incidents. This process specifies actions, escalations, mitigation, resolution, and notification of any potential incidents impacting the confidentiality, integrity, or availability of customer data.

At Google, a data incident is defined as a breach of Google’s security leading to the accidental or unlawful destruction, loss, alteration, unauthorized disclosure of, or access to, customer data on systems managed by or otherwise controlled by Google. While Google takes steps to address foreseeable threats to data and systems, data incidents do not include unsuccessful attempts or activities that do not compromise the security of customer data, including unsuccessful login attempts, pings, port scans, denial of service attacks, and other network attacks on firewalls or networked systems.

How Google helps secure customer data

The security of customer data is of the utmost importance, but security is the outcome of the collaboration between Google and the customer. While Google secures the underlying cloud infrastructure and services, the customer secures their applications, devices, and systems when building on top of Google’s Cloud infrastructure. Google provides customers with guidance and multiple security features to enable Google-grade security practices:

  • Identity and access management

  • Data encryption at rest and in transit by default, i.e., without any additional effort from customers

  • Multi factor authentication, including phishing-resistant hardware second factor key

  • A range of network security options including virtual private cloud (VPC) and shared VPC, built-in DDoS protection for software-as-a-service (SaaS), platform-as-a-service (PaaS) solutions and the option to use these for infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) solutions as well

  • Detailed audit logging

To learn more about how Google secures the cloud, see Google’s Infrastructure Security Design Overview paper and the associated NEXT '18 security presentation or visit Google Cloud Security Site.

Google provides customers with visibility across the services they use on Google Cloud; customers can use the security center for G Suite to prevent, detect, and remediate issues with Gmail, Drive, Devices, OAuth, and User Accounts. Similarly for GCP, customers can use Cloud Security Command Center to gain visibility into their assets, vulnerabilities, risks, and policy across their organization.

On their end, customers must properly configure security features to meet their own needs, install software updates, set up networking security zones and firewalls, and ensure that end users secure their account credentials and are not exposing sensitive data to unauthorized parties.

Figure 1 provides an illustrative example of how the responsibility shifts between the customer and Google based on the extent of managed services leveraged by the customer. As the customer moves from on-premises solutions to IaaS, PaaS, and SaaS cloud computing offerings, Google manages more of the overall cloud service, and the customer has fewer security responsibilities.

For more information on cloud security configurations, customers should reference the applicable product documentation.

Responsibility Chart

Data incident response

Google's incident response program is managed by teams of expert incident responders across many specialized functions to ensure each response is well-tailored to the challenges presented by each incident. Depending on the nature of the incident, the professional response team may include:

  • Cloud incident management
  • Product engineering
  • Site reliability engineering
  • Cloud security and privacy
  • Digital forensics
  • Global investigations
  • Signals detection
  • Security, privacy, and product counsel
  • Trust and safety
  • Counter abuse technology
  • Customer support

Subject matter experts from these teams are engaged in a variety of ways. For example, incident commanders coordinate incident response and, when needed, the digital forensics team detects ongoing attacks and performs forensic investigations. Product engineers work to limit the impact on customers and provide solutions to fix the affected product(s). The legal team works with members of the appropriate security and privacy team to implement Google’s strategy on evidence collection, engage with law enforcement and government regulators, and advise on legal issues and requirements. Support personnel respond to customer inquiries and requests for additional information and assistance.

Team organization

When we declare an incident, we designate an incident commander who coordinates incident response and resolution. The incident commander selects specialists from different teams and forms a response team. A typical response organization appears in Figure 2 below. The incident commander delegates the responsibility for managing different aspects of the incident to these professionals and manages the incident from the moment of declaration to closure. Figure 2 depicts the organization of various roles and their responsibilities during incident response.

Data incident response team organization

Data incident response process

Every data incident is unique, and the goal of the data incident response process is to protect customers’ data, restore normal service as quickly as possible, and meet both regulatory and contractual compliance requirements. Google’s incident response program has the following process:

Incident response workflow

Identification

Early and accurate identification of incidents is key to strong and effective incident management. The focus of this phase is to monitor security events to detect and report on potential data incidents.

Google’s incident detection team employs advanced detection tools, signals, and alert mechanisms that provide early indication of potential incidents.

Google’s sources of incident detection include:

  • Automated network and system logs analysis — Automated analysis of network traffic and system access helps identify suspicious, abusive, or unauthorized activity and escalates to Google’s security staff

  • Testing — Google’s security team actively scans for security threats using penetration tests, quality assurance (QA) measures, intrusion detection, and software security reviews

  • Internal code reviews — Source code review discovers hidden vulnerabilities, design flaws, and verifies if key security controls are implemented

  • Product-specific tooling and processes — Automated tooling specific to the team function is employed wherever possible to enhance Google’s ability to detect incidents at product level

  • Usage anomaly detection — Google employs many layers of machine learning systems to differentiate between safe and anomalous user activity across browsers, devices, application logins, and other usage events

  • Data center and / or workplace services security alerts — Security alerts in data centers scan for incidents that might affect the company’s infrastructure

  • Google employees — A Google employee detects an anomaly and reports it

  • Google’s vulnerability reward program — Potential technical vulnerabilities in Google-owned browser extensions, mobile, and web applications that affect the confidentiality or integrity of user data are sometimes reported by external security researchers

Coordination

When an incident is reported, the on-call responder reviews and evaluates the nature of the incident report to determine if it represents a potential data incident and initiates Google’s Incident Response Process.

Once confirmed, the incident is handed over to an incident commander who assesses the nature of the incident and implements a coordinated approach to the response. At this stage, the response includes completing the triage assessment of the incident, adjusting its severity if required, and activating the required incident response team with appropriate operational/technical leads who review the facts and identify key areas that require investigation. We designate a product lead and a legal lead to make key decisions on how to respond. The incident commander assigns the responsibility for investigation and the facts are assembled.

Many aspects of Google's response depend on the assessment of severity, which is based on key facts that are gathered and analyzed by the incident response team. These may include:

  • Potential for harm to customers, third parties, and Google

  • Nature of the incident (e.g., whether data was potentially destroyed, accessed, or unavailable)

  • Type of data that may be affected

  • Impact of the incident on customers’ use of the service

  • Status of the incident (e.g., whether the incident is isolated, continuing, or contained)

The incident commander and other leads periodically re-evaluate these factors throughout the response effort as new information evolves to ensure that Google’s response is assigned the appropriate resources and urgency. Events that present the most critical impact are assigned the highest severity. A communications lead is appointed to develop a communications plan with other leads.

Resolution

At this stage, the focus is on investigating the root cause, limiting the impact of the incident, resolving immediate security risks (if any), implementing necessary fixes as part of remediation, and recovering affected systems, data, and services.

Affected data will be restored to its original state wherever possible. Depending on what is reasonable and necessary in a particular incident, Google may take a number of different steps to resolve an incident. For instance, there may be a need for technical or forensic investigation to reconstruct the root cause of an issue or to identify any impact on customer data. Google may attempt to recover copies of the data from Google's backup copies if data is improperly altered or destroyed.

A key aspect of remediation is notifying customers when incidents impact their data. Key facts are evaluated throughout the incident to determine whether the incident affected customers’ data. If notifying customers is appropriate, the incident commander initiates the notification process. The communications lead develops a communication plan with input from the product and legal leads, informs those affected, and supports customer requests after notification with the help of our support team.

Google strives to provide prompt, clear, and accurate notifications containing the known details of the data incident, steps Google has taken to mitigate the potential risks, and actions Google recommends customers take to address the incident. We do our best to provide a clear picture of the incident so that customers can assess and fulfill their own notification obligations.

Closure

Following the successful remediation and resolution of a data incident, the incident response team evaluates the lessons learned from the incident. When the incident raises critical issues, the incident commander may initiate a post-mortem analysis. During this process, the incident response team reviews the cause(s) of the incident and Google’s response and identifies key areas for improvement. In some cases, this may require discussions with different product, engineering, and operations teams and product enhancement work. If follow-up work is required, the incident response team develops an action plan to complete that work and assigns project managers to spearhead the long-term effort. The incident is closed after the remediation efforts conclude.

Continuous improvement

At Google, we strive to learn from every incident and implement preventative measures to avoid future incidents.

The actionable insights from incident analysis enable us to enhance our tools, trainings and processes, Google’s overall security and privacy data protection program, security policies, and / or response efforts. The key learnings also facilitate prioritization of engineering efforts and building of better products.

Google’s security and privacy professionals enhance the security program by reviewing the company’s security plans for all networks, systems, and services and provide project-specific consulting services to product and engineering teams. They deploy machine learning, data analysis, and other novel techniques to monitor for suspicious activity on Google’s networks, address information security threats, perform routine security evaluations and audits, and engage outside experts to conduct regular security assessments. Additionally, our full-time team, known as Project Zero, aims to prevent targeted attacks by reporting bugs to software vendors and filing them in an external database.

Google conducts regular trainings and awareness campaigns to drive innovation in security and data privacy. The dedicated incident response staff are trained in forensics and in handling evidence, including the use of third-party and proprietary tools. Testing of incident response processes and procedures is performed for key areas, such as systems that store sensitive customer information. These tests take into consideration a variety of scenarios, including insider threats and software vulnerabilities and help us better prepare for security and privacy incidents.

Google’s processes are tested on a regular basis as part of our ISO-27017, ISO-27018, ISO-27001, PCI-DSS, SOC 2 and FedRAMP programs to provide our customers and regulators with independent verification of our security, privacy, and compliance controls. A more comprehensive list of Google Cloud’s third-party certifications is available here.

Summary

As detailed above, Google operates a world-class incident response program that delivers these key functions:

  • A process built upon industry-leading techniques for resolving incidents and refined to operate efficiently at Google’s scale

  • Pioneering monitoring systems, data analytics, and machine learning services to proactively detect and contain incidents

  • Dedicated subject matter experts who can be deployed to respond to any type or size of data incident

  • A mature process for promptly notifying affected customers, in line with Google’s commitments in our terms of service and customer agreements

Protecting data is core to Google’s business. We continually invest in our overall security program, resources, and expertise, which enables our customers to rely on us to respond effectively in the event of an incident, protect their data, and maintain the high reliability customers expect of a Google service.

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Documentation