Google Cloud Platform 上的数据删除

数据删除视频缩略图

Google Cloud Platform 上的数据删除

概览

首席信息官级别的摘要

  • Google 采用原则性方法来存储和删除客户数据。Google Cloud Platform 旨在实现高级别的速度、可用性、耐用性和一致性,并且必须在针对这些性能属性进行优化的系统设计与实现及时数据删除的需求之间进行仔细权衡。
  • 当您删除客户数据时,Google 的删除流水线首先确认删除请求,然后从活动存储系统和备份存储系统中的应用和存储层,以迭代方式清除数据。Google 的删除和保留声明中概括地介绍了此过程。
  • 逻辑删除分阶段进行,首先立即在活动存储系统中标记要删除的数据,然后将数据与应用层的普通处理隔离开来。Google 存储层中的连续压缩和“标记-清除”删除周期用于覆盖一段时间的已删除数据。加密清除也用于使已删除的数据不可恢复。最后,包含 Google 活动系统快照的备份系统会在标准周期内停用。
  • 应用和存储层中的删除可能会立即发生,具体取决于数据存储的配置方式以及相关存储层和数据中心中正在进行的删除周期的时间。活动系统中的删除通常大约在发出删除请求后的两个月内完成。最后,客户数据将从 Google 的长期备份系统中删除,该系统保留 Google 系统的快照长达六个月(180 天),以防范自然灾害和灾难性事件。

简介

本文档概述了删除存储在 Google Cloud Platform 中的客户数据(根据 Google Cloud Platform 服务条款中的定义)时发生的安全流程。确保在客户数据的生命周期结束时将其安全删除是在任何计算平台上处理数据的基本方面。

在任何承诺高可用性、高速性、从任意位置的可访问性以及防止数据丢失或灾难的耐用性的云平台中处理数据,都需要技术创新,以实现大规模的快速删除。Google 作为设计可处理数万亿数据元素的产品的存储平台的早期参与者,拥有为此任务优化高性能存储系统所需的十多年行业经验。

本白皮书将首先概述客户数据在 Google Cloud Platform 中的存储方式。接下来,我们将介绍 Google 的删除流水线以及在每个阶段完成删除通常所需的时间。最后,我们将介绍如何通过安全的硬件停用和清理过程来防止对存储在我们平台中的数据进行任何重建。

数据存储和复制

为了介绍 Google Cloud Platform 如何删除客户数据,有必要先简要描述数据存储在 Google 基础架构中的运作方式。Google Cloud Platform 提供存储服务,例如 Cloud Bigtable 和 Cloud Spanner。大多数 Google Cloud Platform 应用和服务通过这些 Cloud Storage 服务或 Google 使用的其他内部存储服务间接访问 Google 的存储系统。

Google Cloud Platform 旨在提供低延迟、高可用性、可扩展且耐用的解决方案。数据复制对于实现这些关键性能目标至关重要。客户数据的冗余副本可以存储在本地、区域甚至全球,具体取决于您的配置和客户项目的需求。对 Google Cloud Platform 中的数据采取的操作可以同时在多个数据中心中复制,从而使客户数据具备高可用性。当硬件、软件或网络环境中发生影响性能的变化时,客户数据会根据客户的配置设置自动从一个系统或设施转移到另一个系统或设施,继续大规模且不间断地执行客户项目。

在物理存储层级,客户数据静态存储在两种类型的系统中:活动存储系统和备份存储系统。这两种类型的系统以不同方式处理数据。活动存储系统是运行 Google 应用和存储层的 Google Cloud Platform 生产服务器。活动系统是大量磁盘和驱动器阵列,用于写入新数据以及在多个复制副本中存储和检索数据。活动存储系统经过优化,可以快速对客户数据执行大规模实时读/写操作。

Google 的备份存储系统可存储指定时间段内 Google 活动系统的完整副本和增量副本,以帮助 Google 在发生灾难性中断或灾难时恢复数据和系统。与活动系统不同,备份系统旨在接收 Google 系统的定期快照,并且在创建新备份副本后的有限时间范围内,备份副本将停用。

在上述所有存储系统中,客户数据在静态存储时加密。Google Cloud 安全性白皮书中详细介绍了 Google 加密技术。静态数据的加密发生在活动和备份存储媒介上的应用和存储层。

安全有效的数据删除

数据删除流水线

在 Google Cloud Platform 中存储客户数据后,我们的系统会安全地存储数据,直到完成 Google 数据删除流水线的各个阶段。本部分会详细介绍此过程。

第 1 阶段 - 删除请求

客户发起删除请求时,将开始删除客户数据。通常,删除请求会指向特定资源、Google Cloud Platform 项目或客户的 Google 帐号。删除请求的处理方式可能会有所不同,具体取决于客户请求的范围:

  • 资源删除:可以从 Cloud Console 或通过 API 以多种方式删除包含客户数据的具体资源(如 Google Cloud Storage 存储分区)。例如,客户可以通过命令行发出 remove bucket 或 rm -r 命令来删除存储分区,客户也可以选择一个存储分区,然后将其从 Cloud Storage 浏览器中删除。
  • 项目删除:作为 Google Cloud Platform 项目所有者,您可以关闭项目。删除项目相当于针对与相应 project_number 关联的所有资源的批量删除请求。
  • 帐号删除:当您删除自己的 Google 帐号时,这会删除您单独拥有的所有 Google Cloud Platform 项目。请注意,如果项目有多个所有者,则在从项目中移除所有所有者或删除其 Google 帐号之前,不会删除该项目。这可以确保只要存在所有者,Google Cloud Platform 项目就会继续。

虽然删除请求主要是为客户管理其数据而设计,但 Google 可能会自动发出删除请求,例如当客户终止与 Google 的关系时。

第 2 阶段 - 软删除

软删除是此过程中提供短期内部暂存和恢复期的自然点,可以确保有时间恢复因意外或错误而被标记为删除的任何数据。只要数据符合 Google 的整体删除时间轴,Google Cloud Platform 各产品就可以采用和配置从基础存储系统中删除数据前的此类指定恢复期。

举例说明,删除项目时,Google Cloud Platform 首先识别唯一的 project_number,然后向包含该 project_number 的 Google Cloud Platform 产品(例如 App Engine 和 Cloud Bigtable)广播暂停信号。在此情况下,App Engine 将立即暂停对该 project_number 键控的操作,Cloud Bigtable 中的相关表将进入最长 30 天的内部恢复期。在恢复期结束时,Google Cloud Platform 会向同一产品广播信号,以开始逻辑删除与该唯一 project_number 相关的资源。然后,Google 会等待(并在必要时重新广播信号)从适用产品中收集确认信号 (ACK) 以完成项目删除。

关闭 Google 帐号后,Google Cloud Platform 可能会强制实行长达 30 天的内部恢复期,具体取决于过去的帐号活动。宽限期到期后,会向 Google 产品广播包含已删除的结算帐号 user_id 的信号,并且会将仅与该 user_id 关联的 Google Cloud Platform 资源标记为删除。

第 3 阶段 - 活动系统中的逻辑删除

将数据标记为删除且任何恢复期已过期后,将相继从 Google 的活动和备份存储系统中删除数据。在活动系统上,数据通过两种方式删除。

在除 Google Cloud Storage 之外的计算、存储和数据库以及大数据下的所有云产品中,已删除数据的副本都会标记为可用存储并随着时间的推移被覆盖。在活动存储系统(如 Cloud Bigtable)中,已删除的数据会作为条目存储在大量结构化表中。压缩现有表以覆盖已删除的数据可能费用很高,因为这需要重写现有(未删除)数据的表,因此会定期进行“标记-清除”垃圾回收和主要压缩事件,以收回存储空间并覆盖已删除的数据。

在 Google Cloud Storage 中,还可以通过加密清除来删除客户数据。这是一种行业标准技术,通过删除解密该数据所需的加密密钥,使数据无法读取。使用加密清除的一个优点是,可以在 Google Cloud Platform 的活动和备份存储系统中覆盖所有已删除的数据块之前完成逻辑删除操作,无论是由 Google 还是由客户提供加密密钥,都是如此。

第 4 阶段 - 备份系统过期

与从 Google 的活动系统中删除类似,可以使用覆盖和加密技术从备份系统中消除已删除的数据。但是,对于备份系统,客户数据通常存储在活动系统的大型聚合快照中,这些快照会在静态时间段内保留,以确保在发生灾难(例如,影响整个数据中心的中断)时维持业务连续性,此时从备份系统完全恢复系统必须花费时间和费用。遵循合理的业务连续性做法,按照每日、每周和每月的周期拍摄活动系统的完整和增量快照,并在预定义的时段后停用,以便为最新的快照腾出空间。

备份停用后,会将其标记为可用空间,并在每日/每周/每月执行新的备份时进行覆盖。

请注意,任何合理的备份周期都会在备份系统中传播数据删除请求时实施预定义的延迟。从活动系统中删除客户数据时,不再将其复制到备份系统中。删除前执行的备份会根据预定义的备份周期定期过期。

最后,在包含客户数据的备份过期之前,可能会加密清除已删除的数据。如果没有用于加密特定客户数据的加密密钥,即使在 Google 备份系统的剩余生命周期内,客户数据也将无法恢复。

删除时间轴

Google Cloud Platform 旨在实现高级别的速度、可用性、耐用性和一致性,并且必须在针对这些性能属性进行优化的系统设计与实现及时数据删除的需求之间进行仔细权衡。Google Cloud Platform 承诺在最长大约六个月(180 天)内删除客户数据。此承诺包含上述 Google 删除流水线的各个阶段,包括:

  • 第 2 阶段 - 发出删除请求后,数据通常会立即标记为删除,我们的目标是在最长 24 小时内执行此步骤。将数据标记为删除后,可能会应用最长 30 天的内部恢复期,具体取决于服务或删除请求。

  • 第 3 阶段 - 完成垃圾回收任务和实现活动系统中的逻辑删除所需的时间。这些过程可能会在收到删除请求后立即发生,具体取决于数据复制级别和正在进行的垃圾回收周期的时间。自收到删除请求起,从活动系统中删除数据通常花费约两个月的时间,这通常足以完成两个主要的垃圾回收周期并确保完成逻辑删除。

  • 第 4 阶段 - Google 备份周期旨在在收到删除请求后的六个月内使数据中心备份中的已删除数据过期。删除可能会在更早时间发生,具体取决于数据复制级别和 Google 正在进行的备份周期的时间。

删除流水线图 图 1:Google Cloud Platform 删除流水线的阶段

确保安全可靠的媒介清理

除了 Google Cloud Platform 的删除流水线之外,严格的媒介清理计划还通过防止物理存储媒介在生命周期结束后受到取证或实验室攻击,提高了删除过程的安全性。

通过在 Google 资产数据库中跟踪的条形码和资产标签,Google 细致地跟踪数据中心内所有存储设备在获取、安装、停用和销毁各环节的位置和状态。我们使用生物识别、金属探测、摄像头、车辆栏障和激光入侵检测系统等各种技术防止设备在未经授权的情况下离开数据中心。请在 Google 基础架构安全设计概览中了解详情。

由于各种原因,物理存储媒介可能会停用。如果某个组件在其生命周期中的任何时间点均未通过性能测试,则会从库存中删除该组件并停用。Google 还会升级过时的硬件,以提高处理速度和能源效率,或增加存储容量。无论硬件是由于故障、升级还是任何其他原因停用,我们都会使用适当的安全措施停用存储媒介。Google 硬盘使用全盘加密 (FDE) 和驱动器锁定等技术来保护停用期间的静态数据。当硬盘停用时,经授权的人员通过用零覆盖驱动器并执行多步验证过程来确保驱动器不包含任何数据,以验证磁盘是否已清空。

如果由于任何原因无法清空存储媒介,我们会将其安全存储直至可以物理销毁为止。我们可以压碎驱动器使其变形,或将其粉碎成小块,具体方式取决于可用设备。这两种方式都可以使磁盘在安全设施中回收,确保没有人能够读取已停用的 Google 磁盘上的数据。每个数据中心都遵守严格的处置政策,并使用所述技术,以符合 NIST SP 800-88 修订版 1“Guidelines for Media Sanitization”和 DoD 5220.22-M“National Industrial Security Program Operating Manual”的要求。

此页内容是否有用?请给出您的反馈和评价:

发送以下问题的反馈:

此网页

Data deletion on Google Cloud Platform

Data Deletion Video thumbnail

Data deletion on Google Cloud Platform

Overview

CIO-level Summary

  • Google takes a principled approach to the storage and deletion of Customer Data. Google Cloud Platform is engineered to achieve a high degree of speed, availability, durability, and consistency, and the design of systems optimized for these performance attributes must be balanced carefully with the need to achieve timely data deletion.
  • When you delete your Customer Data, Google’s deletion pipeline begins by confirming the deletion request and eliminating the data iteratively from application and storage layers, from both active and backup storage systems. This process is described generally in Google’s statement on deletion and retention.
  • Logical deletion occurs in phases, beginning with marking the data for deletion in active storage systems immediately and isolating the data from ordinary processing at the application layer. Successive compaction and mark-and-sweep deletion cycles in Google’s storage layers serve to overwrite the deleted data over time. Cryptographic erasure is also used to render the deleted data unrecoverable. Finally, backup systems containing snapshots of Google’s active systems are retired on a standard cycle.
  • Deletion from application and storage layers may occur immediately depending on how storage of the data has been configured and the timing of ongoing deletion cycles in the relevant storage layers and data centers. Deletion from active systems typically completes within about two months of the deletion request. Finally, Customer Data is removed from Google’s long-term backup systems, which preserve snapshots of Google systems for up to six months (180 days) to guard against natural disasters and catastrophic events.

Introduction

This document gives you an overview of the secure process that occurs when you delete your Customer Data (as defined in the Google Cloud Platform Terms of Service) stored in Google Cloud Platform. Ensuring safe deletion of Customer Data at the end of its life cycle is a basic aspect of working with data on any computing platform.

Working with data in any cloud platform that commits to high levels of availability, speed and accessibility from any location, and durability against data loss or disasters requires technical innovation to achieve prompt deletion at scale. Google, as an early player in engineering storage platforms for products that process trillions upon trillions of data elements, brings more than a decade of industry experience to bear on optimizing high performance storage systems for this task.

This whitepaper will start with an overview of how Customer Data is stored in Google Cloud Platform. Next, we will describe Google’s deletion pipeline and the period of time it generally takes to complete deletion at each stage. Finally, we will describe how we prevent any reconstruction of data stored in our platform through a secure hardware decommissioning and sanitization process.

Data Storage and Replication

Our description of how Google Cloud Platform deletes Customer Data necessarily begins with a brief overview of how data storage works within Google’s infrastructure. Google Cloud Platform offers storage services, such as Cloud Bigtable and Cloud Spanner. Most Google Cloud Platform applications and services access Google’s storage systems indirectly via these Cloud storage services or through other internal storage services used by Google.

Google Cloud Platform is designed to provide low latency, highly available, scalable, and durable solutions. Data replication is critical to achieve these key performance goals. Redundant copies of Customer Data could be stored locally and regionally and even globally, depending on your configuration and the demands of customer projects. Actions taken on data in Google Cloud Platform may be simultaneously replicated in multiple data centers, so that Customer Data is highly available. When performance-impacting changes occur in the hardware, software, or network environment, Customer Data is automatically shifted from one system or facility to another, subject to customers’ configuration settings, so that customer projects continue performing at scale and without interruption.

At the physical storage level, Customer Data is stored at rest in two types of systems: active storage systems and backup storage systems. These two types of systems process data differently. Active storage systems are Google Cloud Platform’s production servers running Google’s application and storage layers. Active systems are mass arrays of disks and drives used to write new data as well as store and retrieve data in multiple replicated copies. Active storage systems are optimized to perform live read / write operations on Customer Data at speed and scale.

Google’s backup storage systems house full and incremental copies of Google’s active systems for a defined period of time to help Google recover data and systems in the event of a catastrophic outage or disaster. Unlike active systems, backup systems are designed to receive periodic snapshots of Google systems and backup copies are retired after a limited window of time as new backup copies are made.

Throughout the storage systems described above, Customer Data is encrypted when stored at rest. The details of Google’s encryption techniques are discussed in greater detail in Google’s Cloud Security Whitepapers. Encryption of data at rest occurs at the application and storage layers, on both active and backup storage media.

Secure and Effective Data Deletion

Data Deletion Pipeline

Once Customer Data is stored in Google Cloud Platform, our systems are designed to store the data securely until it completes the stages of Google’s data deletion pipeline. This section describes this process in detail.

Stage 1 - Deletion request

The deletion of Customer Data begins when the customer initiates a deletion request. Generally, a deletion request is directed to a specific resource, a Google Cloud Platform project, or the customer’s Google account. Deletion requests may be handled in different ways depending on the scope of the customer’s request:

  • Resource Deletion: Individual resources containing Customer Data, such as Google Cloud Storage buckets, can be deleted in a number of ways from the Cloud Console or via API. For example, Customers may issue a remove bucket or rm -r command to delete a storage bucket through the command line or customers may select a storage bucket and delete it from the Cloud Storage Browser.
  • Project Deletion: As a Google Cloud Platform project owner, you can shut down a project. Deleting a project acts as a bulk deletion request for all resources tied to the corresponding project_number.
  • Account Deletion: When you delete your Google account, it deletes all Google Cloud Platform projects that are solely owned by you. Note that when there are multiple owners for a project, the project is not deleted until all owners are removed from the project or delete their Google accounts. This ensures that Google Cloud Platform projects continue so long as they have an owner.

While deletion requests are designed primarily to be used by Customers to manage their data, Google may issue deletion requests automatically, for instance when a customer terminates their relationship with Google.

Stage 2 - Soft Deletion

Soft deletion is the natural point in the process to provide a brief internal staging and recovery period to ensure that there is time to recover any data that has been marked for deletion by accident or error. Individual Google Cloud Platform products may adopt and configure such a defined recovery period before the data is deleted from the underlying storage systems so long as it fits within Google's overall deletion timeline.

To illustrate, when projects are deleted, Google Cloud Platform first identifies the unique project_number, then it broadcasts a suspension signal to the Google Cloud Platform products containing that project_number, for example App Engine and Cloud Bigtable. In this case, App Engine will immediately suspend operations keyed to that project_number and relevant tables in Cloud Bigtable will enter an internal recovery period for up to 30 days. At the end of the recovery period, Google Cloud Platform broadcasts a signal to the same products to begin logical deletion of resources tied to the unique project_number. Then Google waits (and, when necessary, rebroadcasts the signal) to collect an acknowledgement signal (ACK) from the applicable products to complete project deletion.

When a Google account is closed, Google Cloud Platform may impose an internal recovery period up to 30 days, depending on past account activity. Once that grace period expires, a signal containing the deleted billing account user_id is broadcasted to Google products and Google Cloud Platform resources tied solely to that user_id are marked for deletion.

Stage 3 - Logical Deletion from Active Systems

After the data is marked for deletion and any recovery period has expired, the data is deleted successively from Google’s active and backup storage systems. On active systems, data is deleted in two ways.

In all Cloud products under Compute, Storage & Databases, and Big Data except Google Cloud Storage, copies of the deleted data are marked as available storage and overwritten over time. In an active storage system, like Cloud Bigtable, deleted data is stored as entries within a massive structured table. Compacting existing tables to overwrite deleted data can be expensive, as it requires re-writing tables of existing (non-deleted) data, so mark-and-sweep garbage collection and major compaction events are scheduled to occur at regular intervals to reclaim storage space and overwrite deleted data.

In Google Cloud Storage, Customer Data is also deleted through cryptographic erasure. This is an industry standard technique that renders data unreadable by deleting the encryption keys needed to decrypt that data. One advantage of using cryptographic erasure, whether it involves Google-supplied or customer-supplied encryption keys, is that logical deletion can be completed even before all deleted blocks of that data are overwritten in Google Cloud Platform’s active and backup storage systems.

Stage 4 - Expiration from Backup Systems

Similar to deletion from Google’s active systems, deleted data is eliminated from backup systems using both overwriting and cryptographic techniques. In the case of backup systems, however, Customer Data is typically stored within large aggregate snapshots of active systems that are retained for static periods of time to ensure business continuity in the event of a disaster (e.g., an outage affecting an entire data center), when the time and expense of restoring a system entirely from backup systems may become necessary. Consistent with reasonable business continuity practices, full and incremental snapshots of active systems are made on a daily, weekly, and monthly cycles and retired after a predefined period of time to make room for the newest snapshots.

When a backup is retired, it is marked as available space and overwritten as new daily / weekly / monthly backups are performed.

Note that any reasonable backup cycle imposes a pre-defined delay in propagating a data deletion request through backup systems. When Customer Data is deleted from active systems, it is no longer copied into backup systems. Backups performed prior to deletion are expired regularly based on the pre-defined backup cycle.

Finally, cryptographic erasure of the deleted data may occur before the backup containing Customer Data has expired. Without the encryption key used to encrypt specific Customer Data, the Customer Data will be unrecoverable even during its remaining lifespan on Google’s backup systems.

Deletion Timeline

Google Cloud Platform is engineered to achieve a high degree of speed, availability, durability, and consistency, and the design of systems optimized for these performance attributes must be balanced carefully with the need to achieve timely data deletion. Google Cloud Platform commits to delete Customer Data within a maximum period of about six months (180 days). This commitment incorporates the stages of Google’s deletion pipeline described above, including:

  • Stage 2 - Once the deletion request is made, data is typically marked for deletion immediately and our goal is to perform this step within a maximum period of 24 hours. After the data is marked for deletion, an internal recovery period of up to 30 days may apply depending on the service or deletion request.

  • Stage 3 - The time needed to complete garbage collection tasks and achieve logical deletion from active systems. These processes may occur immediately after the deletion request is received, depending on the level of data replication and the timing of ongoing garbage collection cycles. From deletion request, it generally takes about two months to delete data from active systems, which is typically enough time to complete two major garbage collection cycles and ensure that logical deletion is completed.

  • Stage 4 - Google backup cycle is designed to expire deleted data within data center backups within six months of the deletion request. Deletion may occur sooner depending on the level of data replication and the timing of Google’s ongoing backup cycles.

Deletion Pipeline Diagram Figure 1: The Stages of Google Cloud Platform’s Deletion Pipeline

Ensuring Safe and Secure Media Sanitization

In addition to Google Cloud Platform’s deletion pipeline, a disciplined media sanitization program enhances the security of the deletion process by preventing forensic or laboratory attacks on the physical storage media once it has reached the end of its life cycle.

Google meticulously tracks the location and status of all storage equipment within our data centers, through acquisition, installation, retirement, and destruction, via barcodes and asset tags that are tracked in Google’s asset database. Various techniques such as biometric identification, metal detection, cameras, vehicle barriers, and laser-based intrusion detection systems are used to prevent equipment from leaving the data center floor without authorization. Learn more in the Google Infrastructure Security Design Overview.

Physical storage media may be decommissioned for a range of reasons. If a component fails to pass a performance test at any point during its life cycle, it is removed from inventory and retired. Google also upgrades obsolete hardware to improve processing speed and energy efficiency, or increase storage capacity. Whether hardware is decommissioned due to failure, upgrade, or any other reason, storage media is decommissioned using appropriate safeguards. Google hard drives use technologies like full disk encryption (FDE) and drive locking to protect data at rest during decommission. When a hard drive is retired, authorized individuals verify that the disk is erased by overwriting the drive with zeros and performing a multi-step verification process to ensure the drive contains no data.

If the storage media cannot be erased for any reason, it is stored securely until it can be physically destroyed. Depending on available equipment, we either crush and deform the drive or shred the drive into small pieces. In either case, the disk is recycled at a secure facility, ensuring that no one will be able to read data on retired Google disks. Each data center adheres to a strict disposal policy and uses the techniques described to achieve compliance with NIST SP 800-88 Revision 1 “Guidelines for Media Sanitization” and DoD 5220.22-M “National Industrial Security Program Operating Manual.”.

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Documentation