Managing billing for Cloud Marketplace products

This page describes how to manage, change, or cancel billing for Cloud Marketplace products.

For information on pricing plans and how you are billed, see Understanding billing.

Before you begin

  • To manage billing for your organization, you must have the correct Identity and Access Management (IAM) roles or permissions for Cloud Billing, which are explained in relevant sections of this page. For details on billing permissions, see the Overview of Cloud Billing access control.

  • If you are managing billing for a Kubernetes app within your organization:

    • Ensure that all users who will deploy the product have the following IAM roles:

      • Viewer (roles/viewer) for the project where a Kubernetes app will be deployed.

      • Editor (roles/editor) for any project that you want to add a managed service for.

      • Service Account User (roles/iam.serviceAccountUser) for the project or above service account.

      • Service Account Key Admin (roles/iam.serviceAccountKeyAdmin) for the project or above service account.

    • Create a service account, which is used to report usage data for the product to Google.

      The service account does not require any specific roles or permissions, but must be linked to your plan. To add a service account to your billing plan, see Updating your billing plan for Kubernetes apps.

  • Depending on the product, you might need to grant additional IAM roles to your users. For example, if you are deploying a Kubernetes app, users must also have the Kubernetes Engine Admin role (roles/container.admin) for the project or cluster where the app will be deployed.

    For steps to grant roles to users, see the IAM documentation.

Managing a project's Cloud Billing account

If your project uses any commercial Cloud Marketplace products that are not free, it must be linked to a Cloud Billing account. The cost of the products is charged to your project's linked Cloud Billing account.

You can link one Cloud Billing account to multiple projects, but you can't link more than one Cloud Billing account at a time to a single project.

Changing a project's Cloud Billing account

Before you change which billing account is linked to a project, verify that the new billing account has purchased all of the resources required to run the project that were previously purchased from Cloud Marketplace. This prevents your project from being disabled or losing data as a result of losing required resources.

To change a project's billing account, go to the Billing page. You might need to select the account that is currently linked to the project. Click Account Management to see the details of your available billing account or accounts, including a list of projects linked to each available billing account.

Click on a linked project to disable or change that project's billing account. If the new billing account you select has not purchased any Cloud Marketplace resources that are required to run the project, the Cloud Console detects the discrepancy and displays a warning message as a reminder.

Viewing your purchases

You can view purchased Google Cloud Marketplace software as a service (SaaS) products and any products with an accepted private offer that are linked to your billing account on the Your Orders page. No Google products, such as the Maps SDK, appear on the page.

To view purchases associated with a billing account:

  1. Go to Cloud Marketplace.

    Go to Cloud Marketplace

  2. Click Your Orders. You might need to select a billing account.

Managing billing plans

When you purchase a commercial Kubernetes app or SaaS product in Google Cloud Marketplace, you must select a billing plan on behalf of your organization.

After setting up a billing plan, you can make the product available to users in your organization so that they can deploy it. Users in your organization can deploy a product in all projects that are linked to the same billing account.

Selecting a billing plan

To select a billing plan for a SaaS product:

  1. In Your Orders, click Actions available to manage your orders for the product.
  2. Select Change Plan.
  3. Review the terms of service for the app. When you are ready to accept the terms, click Continue.

If the products have the option available, you can also modify your auto-renewal options.

Depending on the type of plan, some plan changes take effect immediately, and some go into effect at the end of the subscription term.

Updating your billing plan for Kubernetes apps

For Kubernetes apps offered through Google Cloud Marketplace, you must link your billing plan to a service account that reports usage data.

  1. In Cloud Marketplace, open the product page.
  2. Select Manage Accounts.
  3. Add another service account by entering the account in the Service account field.

Viewing billing reports

In Your Orders, you can go directly to the billing report for a selected product, or you can go to the credits billing page, if available.

  1. In Your Orders, click Actions available to manage your orders for the product.
  2. Select View billing report or View credit.

Canceling your plan

If you want to cancel your plan for a product or any pending plan changes, use the following steps.

Anthos trial

See Disabling Anthos.

VMs

Delete your deployment. If you're billed separately by the vendor, you might need to contact them to cancel your license.

SaaS products

  1. In Your Orders, select the billing account linked to the purchase.
  2. Select the product with the plan you want to cancel.
  3. Click Actions available to manage your orders.
  4. Select Cancel purchase or Cancel subscription. If you don't want your subscription to renew automatically, select Cancel auto-renewal.

If you granted access to a service account for the app, you must manually revoke the access through the IAM page and remove any resources created for the service account.

Kubernetes apps

  1. In Your Orders, select the billing account linked to the purchase.
  2. Select the product with the plan you want to cancel.
  3. Click Actions available to manage your orders.
  4. Select Cancel plan.

If you're billed separately by the vendor, you might also need to contact them to cancel your license.

What's next