Connections Page

Feature Availability: This feature is available in the following editions:


  • Cloud Dataprep Standard by TRIFACTA® INC.
  • Cloud Dataprep Premium by TRIFACTA INC.

Through the Connections page, you can add new connections or modify the connections that you have already created. Select User menu > Preferences > Connections.

NOTE: Before you can connect to relational sources, you must whitelist the Cloud Dataprep service to access your relational database instances. For more information, see Getting Started with Cloud Dataprep.

Figure: Connections page

Actions

Create: Click Create Connection to create a new connection. See Create Connection Window.

Filter: In separate tabs, you can review connections that you own, that are shared with you, or all connections to which you have access.

Search: Search connections by name.

Review details: Select a connection or click the icon to review details through the right-side panel.

Key Fields

Name: Display name for the connection.

NOTE: If the connection has been shared, you can review whether its credentials have also been shared.

Type: The type of connection.

NOTE: After you create a connection, you cannot modify its type.

For more information, see Connection Types.

Shared: Review the sharing status of the connection:

  • X Users:
    • If this value is 1, the connection is private.
    • If this value is greater than 1, the connection has been shared.

Context menu actions

View Details: Open the details of the connection in the side panel. See below.

Edit: If you own the connection, you can review and modify the connection.

  • If the connection has been shared with you, you can edit it to modify the credentials.

Share: For connections that you own, you can modify the sharing status of them. See Share Connection Window.

Delete: Delete the connection.

NOTE: This option is only available to the connection owner if the connection is not used for any datasets.

Connection Details Panel

When a connection is selected, you can review its details and make modifications as needed through the panel on the right.

Figure: Connection Details panel

Key Fields

Shared: Number of users sharing the connection. If a link is present, click it to modify sharing of the connection. See Share Connection Window.

Server Information: For server-based connections, you can review the connection properties.

Actions

Edit Connection: If you own the connection, you can review and modify the connection.

Share:You can share connections that you own or that are shared with you. See Share Connection Window.

Delete: Delete the connection.

Deleting a connection cannot be undone.