Disabling Cloud Dataprep

Cloud Dataprep is a managed by Trifacta, a third-party developer, and integrated with the Google Cloud Platform Console. To use Cloud Dataprep, users share project data with Trifacta. To do this, GCP Console creates a service account that belongs to Trifacta and supplies it with read/write access to Google Cloud Dataflow, Google Cloud Storage, and Google BigQuery. These accounts are created and permissioned on a per-project basis. See Cloud Dataprep Permissions and IAM Roles for more information.

How to Disable Cloud Dataprep

You can disable Cloud Dataprep from the GCP Console.

Effect of Disabling Cloud Dataprep

If a user chooses to disable Cloud Dataprep:

  • User retains access to data (including transformed data) stored within the user's associated Google Cloud project
  • Trifacta loses access to project data. Trifacta won't be able to view or transform project data.
  • To allow users to pick up where they left off if they choose to re-enable Cloud Dataprep, Trifacta retains metadata, which includes:
    • recipes for transforming data, settings, and rules
    • jobs run on project data before Cloud Dataprep was disabled (including filenames/descriptions of data)

Contact Google Support to Delete Metadata

Users can request permanent deletion of metadata retained by Trifacta after disabling Cloud Dataprep by contacting Google Cloud Support. Google support will verify that the user is a project owner, then send the request to Trifacta. The deletion is performed by Trifacta; Google never touches metadata.

Send feedback about...

Google Cloud Dataprep Documentation