Datadog:為 Evernote 提供前所未有的優質雲端服務新視野

關於 Evernote

Evernote 是跨平台的應用程式,設計宗旨是協助個人和團隊捕捉、整理、尋找及分享想法。該應用程式由 Evernote Corporation 開發,這間公司是一家總部位於加州紅木城的私人企業。

產業別:科技
地點:美國

關於 Datadog

Datadog 針對雲端等級應用程式提供全球頂尖的監控服務。該公司會整合來自伺服器、資料庫、工具和服務的資料,並在軟體即服務的資料分析平台上,呈現客戶整體應用程式堆疊的整合式檢視。有了 Datadog,企業可避免停機時間、將效能最佳化,並且加速產品的開發與部署時程。

由於服務需求不斷成長,Evernote 已將服務中的資料 (約有 3.5 PB) 從私人雲端遷移至 Google Cloud Platform 這個更安全且可擴充的基礎架構。由於 Datadog 可讓客戶進一步掌握多變的環境,因此能夠協助 Evernote 改善應用程式的效能、運作時間和員工效率。

Google Cloud Platform 帶來的成果

  • 藉由移至 Google Cloud Platform 提升效能、運作時間以及安全性
  • 透過 Datadog 進一步掌握整體應用程式堆疊
  • 更快速地提供全新的強大服務與功能
  • 釋出 2 位全職人員的人力,以加速開發週期

只用了 70 天,就將 50 億則使用者筆記遷移至 Google Cloud Platform

Evernote 是一個熱門應用程式,可將文字、網頁、相片、語音備忘錄甚至是手寫的筆記內容轉化為數位筆記,協助消費者與企業提高生產力。使用者可以在這些「筆記」中加入附檔,並透過慣用的裝置輕鬆捕捉靈感及培養想法。

現在,超過 2 億名 Evernote 使用者能以更安全的方式儲存數十億則筆記和附件,數量約等同於近代已出版書籍的 10 倍之多。隨著資料不斷增長,Evernote 亦致力於提供流暢的使用者體驗和推出全新功能與服務。Evernote 的私人雲端無法再負擔如此龐大的基礎架構,因此將服務遷移至 Google Cloud Platform 並關閉原有的資料中心,讓員工能專注於產品創新,不必費心處理維護作業。

「我們的技術策略已精簡到可迅速回應工程師需求的程度,讓他們專注在打造高品質且創新的生產力工具。藉由遷移至 Google Cloud Platform 和使用 Datadog 提升應用程式監控效能,我們因此能夠快速推出全新服務和功能,進而在瞬息萬變的市場中脫穎而出。」

- Evernote 技術營運經理 Garrett Plasky

運作時間和效能對 Evernote 而言至關重要,Evernote 必須為客戶提供快速且全天候不中斷的服務體驗。因此,監控應用程式堆疊中的每個元件變得十分重要。為了進一步瞭解效能與資源的運用情形,Evernote 選用 Google Cloud 合作夥伴 Datadog 所開發的監控和分析雲端平台。Evernote 運用 Datadog 的雲端服務,打造了自訂的資訊主頁,可提供更詳盡的應用程式和基礎架構資訊,進而改善效能並減少停機時間。

Evernote 技術營運經理 Garrett Plasky 表示:「一言以蔽之,我們的技術策略重點就是以最快的速度支援我們的工程師,讓他們能專注在打造高品質且創新的生產力工具。藉由遷移至 Google Cloud Platform 和使用 Datadog 提升應用程式監控效能,我們因此能夠快速推出全新服務和功能,進而在瞬息萬變的市場中脫穎而出。」

Datadog 產品管理部門主管 Ilan Rabinovitch 表示:「透過善用 Google Cloud Platform API 提供的各種中繼資料,我們協助了 Evernote 等公司大幅改進監控效能和整合資料,進一步瞭解應用程式的效能。」

Google Cloud Platform 提供更堅實的基礎

Evernote 原本預計需要耗時 9 至 12 個月,才能將 50 億則筆記與 120 億個附檔遷移至 Google Cloud Platform。然而,Evernote 從方案規劃到架構設定皆採納 Google Professional Services 小組的指導,只花費 70 天的時間就完成遷移 3.5 PB 的資料,同時將客戶所受到的影響降到最低。全體客戶受益於 Google Cloud Platform 強大的資料處理能力,並且明顯感受到效能大幅成長。此外,Google Cloud Platform 預設會對客戶所存放的靜態資料進行加密,Evernote 藉此提升了安全性,讓客戶對儲存的資料安心又放心。

「透過善用 Google Cloud Platform API 提供的各種中繼資料,我們協助了 Evernote 等公司大幅改進監控效能和整合資料,進一步瞭解應用程式的效能。」

- Datadog 產品管理部門主管 Ilan Rabinovitch

透過 Datadog 強化應用程式監控

藉由使用 Datadog 進行監控並自動收集來自 Google Compute Engine 主機、Google Kubernetes Engine 叢集,以及 Google App Engine 專案的主要效能指標,Evernote 能夠更清楚瞭解基礎架構和資源的利用率。工程師可以從中找出指標之間的關係、將效能最佳化,並且在發生重要事件時收到通知。

Datadog 會將 Evernote 的 Google Cloud Platform 資料完整保留 15 個月,以便 Evernote 比對即時指標與過去的數值。工程師可以運用代碼分割指標、找出主機中的特定子集,並迅速判斷問題肇因以快速解決問題。

更快速地提供新功能

Evernote 的員工現在可以將時間與精力專注在開發新功能及回應客戶需求,而不必將大量資源投注在基礎架構的日常維護和監控作業。

Garrett 補充:「有了 Google Cloud Platform 和 Datadog 的協助,我們公司的反應更加迅速。大部分的工程人員都能專注於創新,以及提供新功能給客戶使用。我們已經釋出兩名全職員工的人力來發展微服務,以加快開發新功能的速度。」

「Google 致力於不斷地創新、保障安全,並與 Datadog 等公司合作推出更實用的功能,這點完全符合我們對雲端供應商的要求。」

- Evernote 技術營運經理 Garrett Plasky

輕鬆與 G Suite 整合

Evernote 的服務已與 G Suite 整合,讓使用者能輕鬆將 Google 雲端硬碟的檔案下載至筆記、透過方便操作的工具列圖示新增內容,以及加入縮圖預覽來提供豐富的瀏覽體驗。使用者對雲端硬碟中的檔案做出的任何變更都會自動與筆記同步處理。

Evernote 產品總監 Erik Wrobel 表示:「人們運用 Evernote 捕捉靈感和醞釀想法,與 Google 雲端硬碟的整合則可讓使用者透過各種內容來交流這些想法並激發創意。」

在發想時就記錄想法

Evernote 選用 Google Cloud Platform 的原因還包含內建的進階資料分析和機器學習功能。Evernote 預計將於日後使用 Google Cloud Machine Learning Engine,在服務中加入語音辨識和翻譯功能,讓使用者更能即時捕捉剛萌生的想法。

Garrett 表示:「Google 致力於不斷地創新、保障安全,並與 Datadog 等公司合作推出更實用的功能,這點完全符合我們對雲端供應商的要求。我們期待能使用機器學習等 Google 創新技術來強化競爭力,為使用者提供更優質的服務。」

關於 Evernote

Evernote 是跨平台的應用程式,設計宗旨是協助個人和團隊捕捉、整理、尋找及分享想法。該應用程式由 Evernote Corporation 開發,這間公司是一家總部位於加州紅木城的私人企業。

產業別:科技
地點:美國

關於 Datadog

Datadog 針對雲端等級應用程式提供全球頂尖的監控服務。該公司會整合來自伺服器、資料庫、工具和服務的資料,並在軟體即服務的資料分析平台上,呈現客戶整體應用程式堆疊的整合式檢視。有了 Datadog,企業可避免停機時間、將效能最佳化,並且加速產品的開發與部署時程。

Google Cloud Platform 標誌

免費試用 12 個月

我們提供了 $300 美元的免費額度,讓您在 12 個月內試用 Kubernetes Engine、BigQuery 和其他 Cloud Platform 產品。

免費試用
Google Cloud Platform 標誌

免費試用 12 個月

我們提供了 $300 美元的免費額度,讓您在 12 個月內試用 Kubernetes Engine、BigQuery 和其他 Cloud Platform 產品。

免費試用

Datadog: Giving Evernote unprecedented visibility for competitive cloud services

About Evernote

Evernote is a cross-platform app designed to help individuals and teams capture, organize, find, and share ideas. It is developed by the Evernote Corporation, a private company headquartered in Redwood City, California.

Industries: Technology
Location: United States

About Datadog

Datadog is the world’s leading monitoring service for cloud-scale applications. The company brings together data from servers, databases, tools, and services to present a unified view of a customer’s entire stack on a SaaS-based data analytics platform. With Datadog, companies can avoid downtime, optimize performance, and accelerate product development and deployment.

With its services in high demand, Evernote migrated from a private cloud to Google Cloud Platform, moving 3.5PB of data to a more scalable and secure infrastructure. By providing better visibility into a dynamic environment, Datadog helped Evernote improve application performance, uptime, and staff efficiency.

Google Platform Results

  • Improved performance, uptime, and security by moving to Google Cloud Platform
  • Better visibility across the entire application stack with Datadog
  • Faster delivery of powerful new services and features
  • Freed time for 2 FTEs to accelerate development cycles

Moved 5 billion user notes into Google Cloud Platform in only 70 days

Evernote is a popular app that helps consumers and businesses increase productivity by creating digital notes from text, webpages, photos, voice memos, and even handwritten notes. These “notes” can include file attachments, giving users a handy way to capture and nurture their ideas using their favorite devices.

More than 200 million Evernote users now more securely store billions of notes and attachments—the equivalent of roughly 10 copies of every modern book ever published. As data grows, Evernote is committed to providing seamless user experiences and introducing new features and services. The company’s private cloud was no longer enough to scale to support such a dynamic infrastructure, so Evernote migrated its service to Google Cloud Platform and closed its data center, allowing employees to focus on product innovation instead of maintenance.

“Our technology strategy boils down to how fast we can empower our engineers to focus on building high-quality, innovative productivity tools. By moving to Google Cloud Platform and using Datadog to improve application monitoring, we can quickly launch new services and features that will help us succeed in a changing market.”

Garrett Plasky, Technical Operations Manager, Evernote

Uptime and performance are critical to Evernote. The company must keep its services fast and available to customers at all times. As a result, the ability to monitor every component in the application stack is vital. To better understand performance and resource utilization, Evernote chose a cloud-based monitoring and analytics platform from Datadog, a Google Cloud partner. Using Datadog’s cloud service, Evernote built custom dashboards for greater visibility into its applications and infrastructure, improving performance and reducing downtime.

“Our technology strategy boils down to how fast we can empower our engineers to focus on building high- quality, innovative productivity tools,” says Garrett Plasky, Technical Operations Manager at Evernote. “By moving to Google Cloud Platform and using Datadog to improve application monitoring, we can quickly launch new services and features that will help us succeed in a changing market.”

“By taking advantage of the rich metadata available from Google Cloud Platform APIs, we’re helping companies such as Evernote vastly improve monitoring and bring data together to better understand how their applications are performing,” says Ilan Rabinovitch, Director, Product Management at Datadog.

A stronger foundation with Google Cloud Platform

Evernote moved 5 billion notes and 12 billion attachment files to Google Cloud Platform, an endeavor that was expected to take 9-12 months. With Google’s help, Evernote migrated 3.5PB of data in only 70 days, and with minimal customer impact. Customers benefit from the data processing power of Google Cloud Platform and are enjoying noticeable performance boosts. And because Google Cloud Platform encrypts customer data stored at rest by default, Evernote offers increased security, giving customers peace of mind that their data is safe.

“By taking advantage of the rich metadata available from Google Cloud Platform APIs, we’re helping companies such as Evernote vastly improve monitoring and bring data together to better understand how their applications are performing.”

Ilan Rabinovitch, Director, Product Management, Datadog

Enhanced application monitoring with Datadog

By using Datadog to monitor and automatically collect key performance metrics from Google Compute Engine hosts, Google Kubernetes Engine clusters, and Google App Engine projects, Evernote has more visibility into its infrastructure and resource utilization. Engineers can correlate metrics to optimize performance and get notified of important events.

Datadog retains Evernote’s Google Cloud Platform data for 15 months at full granularity, allowing the company to compare real-time metrics against historical values. Engineers can easily slice metrics using tags to isolate certain subsets of hosts and quickly drill down for fast problem resolution.

Delivering new features faster

Rather than pouring resources into day-to-day infrastructure maintenance and monitoring, Evernote’s employees can now focus more time and energy into developing new features and responding to customer needs.

“With Google Cloud Platform and Datadog, we can move faster as a company. We’re focusing a larger portion of our engineering staff on innovation and getting new features into the hands of our customers,” adds Garrett. “We’ve already freed up two full-time employees to develop microservices to increase our feature velocity.”

“Google’s commitments to continuing innovation, security, and partnering with companies such as Datadog for enhanced capabilities give us everything we need from a cloud provider.”

Garrett Plasky , Technical Operations Manager, Evernote

Convenient integration with G Suite

Evernote services integrate with G Suite, allowing users to easily drop any file from Google Drive into their notes to add context via a handy toolbar icon and include thumbnail previews for a rich viewing experience. Any changes users make to files in Drive sync automatically with their notes.

“Evernote is where people capture and nurture ideas, and integration with Google Drive helps people cultivate and communicate those ideas with rich context,” says Erik Wrobel, Chief Product Officer at Evernote.

Capturing ideas at the speed of thought

Evernote also chose Google Cloud Platform for its built-in advanced data analytics and machine learning capabilities. In the future, Evernote plans to add voice recognition and translation features to its service using Google Cloud Machine Learning Engine, giving customers even more power to capture their ideas on the fly.

“Google’s commitments to continuing innovation, security, and partnering with companies such as Datadog for enhanced capabilities give us everything we need from a cloud provider,” says Garrett. “We’re looking forward to using Google technologies such as machine learning to increase our competitive edge and offer users even better experiences.”

About Evernote

Evernote is a cross-platform app designed to help individuals and teams capture, organize, find, and share ideas. It is developed by the Evernote Corporation, a private company headquartered in Redwood City, California.

Industries: Technology
Location: United States

About Datadog

Datadog is the world’s leading monitoring service for cloud-scale applications. The company brings together data from servers, databases, tools, and services to present a unified view of a customer’s entire stack on a SaaS-based data analytics platform. With Datadog, companies can avoid downtime, optimize performance, and accelerate product development and deployment.

Google Cloud Platform logo

12 Months FREE TRIAL

Try Kubernetes Engine, BigQuery, and other Cloud Platform products with $300 in free credit and 12 months.

TRY IT FREE
Google Cloud Platform logo

12 Months FREE TRIAL

Try Kubernetes Engine, BigQuery, and other Cloud Platform products with $300 in free credit and 12 months.

TRY IT FREE

Monitor your resources on the go

Get the Google Cloud Console app to help you manage your projects.