区域和地区

Compute Engine 资源托管在全球多个位置。这些位置由区域和地区构成。区域是指您可以在其中托管资源的特定地理位置。区域有三个或以上的地区。例如,us-west1 区域表示美国西海岸的一个区域,它有三个地区:us-west1-aus-west1-bus-west1-c

一个地区内的资源(例如虚拟机实例或地区永久性磁盘)称为地区资源。静态外部 IP 地址等其他资源则是地区资源。地区资源可由该地区中的任何资源(无论位于哪个区域)使用,而区域资源则只能由同一区域中的其他资源使用。

例如,如需将区域永久性磁盘挂接至实例,这两个资源必须位于同一区域中。类似地,如果要为一个实例分配静态 IP 地址,则该实例必须与这个静态 IP 地址位于同一区域。

将资源布置在一个区域内的不同地区可以降低基础架构影响所有资源的风险。将资源布置在不同地区中可以实现更高程度的故障独立性。这可让您设计强大的系统,将资源分布在不同的故障网域中。

只有某些资源才是特定于区域或地区的资源。诸如映像等其他资源是可由位于任何位置的任何其他资源使用的全球资源。如需了解全球、区域和地区 Compute Engine 资源,请参阅全球、区域和地区资源

准备工作

地区和集群

Compute Engine 在地区与托管地区的物理集群之间实现了一个抽象层。集群代表了数据中心内的一个独特物理基础架构。每个地区都托管在一个或多个集群中,而 Compute Engine 会独立地为各个组织将地区映射到集群中。例如,您所在组织的 us-central1-a 可用区可能不会映射到与另一个组织的 us-central1-a 可用区相同的集群。

请参阅可用区虚拟化文档,详细了解可用区到集群的映射以及可用区虚拟化等概念。

将地区与集群分离,对于您和 Compute Engine 都有多方面的好处:

  • 这让 Compute Engine 能够确保资源在一个区域内的各个集群之间平衡分布。
  • 您可以选择的地区列表仍然会保持易于管理的状态,因为 Compute Engine 会通过添加更多集群来不断扩充其区域。

对于大多数组织来说,Compute Engine 都会确保组织中的所有项目具有一致的地区到集群映射。对于使用 VPC 网络对等互连专用服务访问通道与其他组织共享网络或服务的组织,Compute Engine 会尽量确保对等互连的组织具有一致的地区到集群映射。例如,对于大型 SaaS 提供商,Compute Engine 可能无法为所有对等互连的组织提供一致的映射。在这类情况下,Compute Engine 可以确保对等互连的项目具有一致的地区到集群映射。

选择区域和地区

您选择用于托管资源的区域或地区,从而控制数据的存储和使用位置。区域和地区的选择由于下列若干原因而变得非常重要:

处理故障
您的资源将跨多个地区和区域分配,以防断电。Google 会设计地区,以最大限度地降低因物理基础架构故障(如电源、制冷或网络)而导致的故障的风险。因此,如果一个地区不可用,您就可以将流量转移到同一区域内的其他地区,以确保服务持续运行。同样,您可以通过在其他区域中运行备份服务来缓解区域服务中断对应用的影响。如需详细了解如何分配资源及设计可靠的系统,请参阅设计可靠的系统
减少网络延迟
要减少网络延迟,您可能需要选择靠近您的服务点的区域或地区。例如,如果您的客户大多位于美国东海岸,则选择的主要区域和地区可能要靠近美国东海岸,而且备份区域和地区也应位于附近。

识别区域或地区

Compute Engine 中的每个区域均包含一些地区。每个地区名称均包括两个部分,用于详细说明每个地区。地区名称的第一部分是区域,而第二部分则说明此区域内的地区

  • 区域

    “区域”是地区的集合。同一区域中的地区之间有着高带宽、低延迟网络连接。Google 建议跨多个地区和多个区域部署应用,以便部署具有高可用性的容错应用。这有助于防范意外的组件故障,或者更大范围的单个地区或区域的意外故障。

    选择适合您情况的区域。例如,如果您只有美国客户,或者必须根据特定需求将数据存储在美国,则最好是将您的资源存储在 us-central1 区域内的地区或 us-east1 区域内的地区。

  • 可用区

    地区是区域内的部署区域。地区的完全限定名称由 <region>-<zone> 组成。例如,区域 us-central1 内地区 a 的完全限定名称为 us-central1-a

    根据您希望分配资源的范围,在多个区域的多个地区中以冗余方式创建实例。

可用区域和地区

借助以下可排序的表,您可以选择不同的选项来查看可使用资源的位置。例如,您可以从选择位置下拉菜单中选择 Europe,然后从选择机器类型下拉菜单中选择 M2,以查看可在欧洲使用 M2 机器的地区列表。

您可以使用 Google Cloud Console、gcloud 命令行工具或 Compute Engine API 查看支持特定机器类型的可用区域和可用区

请联系您的客户支持团队,申请访问特定区域或可用区的机器系列。

每个地区均支持 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake 或 Cascade Lake 平台以及 AMD EPYC Rome 平台组合。如果您在地区内创建实例,则此实例将使用该地区支持的默认处理器。例如,如果您在 us-central1-a 地区中创建实例,则默认情况下,您的实例将使用 Haswell 处理器,除非您指定其他选项。

或者,您也可以选择您需要的 CPU 平台。如需了解详情,请参阅指定虚拟机实例的最低要求 CPU 平台

地区 位置 机器类型 CPU 资源
asia-east1-a 亚太地区台湾彰化 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
asia-east1-b 亚太地区台湾彰化 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
asia-east1-c 亚太地区台湾彰化 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
asia-east2-a 亚太地区香港 E2、N2、N2D、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
asia-east2-b 亚太地区香港 E2、N2、N2D、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
asia-east2-c 亚太地区香港 E2、N2、N2D、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
asia-northeast1-a 亚太地区日本东京 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、M2、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
asia-northeast1-b 亚太地区日本东京 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、M2、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
asia-northeast1-c 亚太地区日本东京 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
asia-northeast2-a 亚太地区日本大阪 E2、N1、N2、N2D、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
asia-northeast2-b 亚太地区日本大阪 E2、N1、N2、N2D、M1、M2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
asia-northeast2-c 亚太地区日本大阪 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
asia-northeast3-a 亚太地区韩国首尔 E2、N2、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake
asia-northeast3-b 亚太地区韩国首尔 E2、N2、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake GPU
asia-northeast3-c 亚太地区韩国首尔 E2、N2、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake GPU
asia-south1-a 亚太地区印度孟买 E2、N2、N1、M2、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake GPU
asia-south1-b 亚太地区印度孟买 E2、N2、N1、M2、M1 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake GPU
asia-south1-c 亚太地区印度孟买 E2、N1、M1 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake
asia-southeast1-a
asia-southeast1-b
亚太地区新加坡裕廊西 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
asia-southeast1-c 亚太地区新加坡裕廊西 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2、A2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
asia-southeast2-a 亚太地区印度尼西亚雅加达 E2、N2、N1、M1 Ivy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake GPU
asia-southeast2-b 亚太地区印度尼西亚雅加达 E2、N2、N1 Ivy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake GPU
asia-southeast2-c 亚太地区印度尼西亚雅加达 E2、N2、N1、M1 Ivy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake GPU
australia-southeast1-a 亚太地区澳大利亚悉尼 E2、N2、N1、C2、M2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake
australia-southeast1-b 亚太地区澳大利亚悉尼 E2、N2、N1、C2、M1、M2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake GPU
australia-southeast1-c 亚太地区澳大利亚悉尼 E2、N2、N1、C2、M1、M2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake GPU
europe-north1-a 欧洲芬兰哈米纳 E2、N2、N2D、N1、C2、M1 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
europe-north1-b 欧洲芬兰哈米纳 E2、N2、N2D、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
europe-north1-c 欧洲芬兰哈米纳 E2、N2、N2D、N1、C2、M1 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
europe-central2-a
europe-central2-b
europe-central2-c
欧洲波兰华沙 E2、N1 Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake
europe-west1-b 欧洲比利时圣吉斯兰 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
europe-west1-c 欧洲比利时圣吉斯兰 E2、N2、N2D、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
europe-west1-d 欧洲比利时圣吉斯兰 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
europe-west2-a 欧洲英国伦敦 E2、N2、N2D、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
europe-west2-b 欧洲英国伦敦 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、M2、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
europe-west2-c 欧洲英国伦敦 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、M2、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
europe-west3-a 欧洲德国法兰克福 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、M2、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
europe-west3-b 欧洲德国法兰克福 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、M2、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
europe-west3-c 欧洲德国法兰克福 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
europe-west4-a 欧洲荷兰埃姆斯哈文 E2、N2、N2D、N1、C2、A2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
europe-west4-b 欧洲荷兰埃姆斯哈文 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M2、M1、C2、A2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
europe-west4-c 欧洲荷兰埃姆斯哈文 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M2、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
europe-west6-a
europe-west6-b
europe-west6-c
欧洲瑞士苏黎世 E2、N2、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake
northamerica-northeast1-a 北美洲魁北克省蒙特利尔 E2、N2、N2D、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
northamerica-northeast1-b 北美洲魁北克省蒙特利尔 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、M2、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
northamerica-northeast1-c 北美洲魁北克省蒙特利尔 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、M2、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
southamerica-east1-a 南美洲巴西圣保罗省奥萨斯库 E2、N2、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake
southamerica-east1-b 南美洲巴西圣保罗省奥萨斯库 E2、N2、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake
southamerica-east1-c 南美洲巴西圣保罗省奥萨斯库 E2、N2、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake GPU
us-central1-a 北美洲爱荷华州康瑟布拉夫斯 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2、A2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
us-central1-b 北美洲爱荷华州康瑟布拉夫斯 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M2、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
us-central1-c 北美洲爱荷华州康瑟布拉夫斯 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M2、M1、C2、A2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
us-central1-f 北美洲爱荷华州康瑟布拉夫斯 E2、N2、N2D、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
us-east1-b 北美洲南卡罗来纳州蒙克斯科纳 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
us-east1-c 北美洲南卡罗来纳州蒙克斯科纳 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
us-east1-d 北美洲南卡罗来纳州蒙克斯科纳 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
us-east4-a 北美洲弗吉尼亚阿什本 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M2、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
us-east4-b 北美洲弗吉尼亚阿什本 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M2、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
us-east4-c 北美洲弗吉尼亚阿什本 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
us-west1-a 北美洲俄勒冈州达尔斯 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
us-west1-b 北美洲俄勒冈州达尔斯 E2、N2、N2D、N1、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome GPU
us-west1-c 北美洲俄勒冈州达尔斯 E2、N2、N2D、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
us-west2-a 北美洲加利福尼亚州洛杉矶 E2、N1、M2、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake
us-west2-b 北美洲加利福尼亚州洛杉矶 E2、N1、C2、M1 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake GPU
us-west2-c 北美洲加利福尼亚州洛杉矶 E2、N1、M2、M1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Haswell、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake GPU
us-west3-a
us-west3-b
us-west3-c
北美洲犹他州盐湖城 E2、N1、C2 Ivy Bridge、Sandy Bridge、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake
us-west4-a 北美洲内华达州拉斯维加斯 E2、N2、N2D、N1 Ivy Bridge、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake、AMD EPYC Rome
us-west4-b 北美洲内华达州拉斯维加斯 E2、N2、N1 Ivy Bridge、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake
us-west4-c 北美洲内华达州拉斯维加斯 E2、N2、N1 Ivy Bridge、Broadwell、Skylake、Cascade Lake

公布区域

Google 将继续拓展到以下新区域:

  • 墨尔本(澳大利亚)
  • 多伦多(加拿大)
  • 德里(印度)
  • 多哈(卡塔尔)

透明维护

Google 会定期维护其基础架构,包括使用最新软件修补系统、执行日常测试和预防性维护,并且在总体上尽 Google 的最大努力确保 Google 基础架构的快速和高效。

默认情况下,所有实例的配置都将确保此类维护事件不会影响您的应用和工作负载。Google 结合使用数据中心创新、运营最佳做法和实时迁移技术来转移正在运行中的虚拟机实例,以避免妨碍正在执行的维护。您的实例将继续在同一地区内运行,您无需执行任何操作。

默认情况下,所有虚拟机均设置为实时迁移,但您也可以将虚拟机设置为终结并重新启动。这两个选项的不同体现在以下方面:

  • 实时迁移

    Compute Engine 会自动迁移您正在运行的实例。迁移过程将在一定程度上影响访客的性能,但您的实例将在整个迁移过程中保持在线。对访客性能的确切影响和持续时间取决于多种因素,但对于大部分应用和工作负载来说,这种影响的程度应该都是微不足道的。如需了解详情,请参阅实时迁移

  • 停止并重新启动

    Compute Engine 会自动通知您的实例关停,等待一小段时间让它完全关停,然后在不受维护事件影响的其它地方重启您的实例。

如需详细了解如何为您的实例设置以上选项,请参阅设置实例时间安排选项

配额

某些资源,例如静态 IP、映像、防火墙规则和 VPC 网络,都已定义项目范围的配额限制和每个区域的配额限制。如果创建这些资源,则将计入项目范围的总配额或每个区域的配额(如果适用)。如果超出任何受影响的配额限制,您将无法在该项目或区域中添加更多相同类型的资源。

如需查看适用于您的项目的完整配额列表,请访问 Google Cloud Console 中的配额页面。

例如,如果您的全球目标池配额为 50,您在 example-region-1 中创建了 25 个目标池,而且在 example-region-2 中也创建了 25 个目标池,则您已达到该项目的配额上限,将无法在项目中的任何区域创建更多目标池,除非您释放空间。同样,如果您的每个区域配额为 7 个预留 IP 地址,则在一个区域中最多只能预留 7 个 IP 地址。在达到该上限之后,您需要在新区域内预留 IP 地址或释放一些 IP 地址。

位置选择提示

在虚拟机实例创建期间,Compute Engine 可自动使用以下方法基于容量和可用性为实例选择可用区。

  • 实例批量创建 API 可自动选择要在其中创建实例的可用区。
  • 区域代管式实例组可配置 ANY 分布形状,该分布形状可自动在提供资源的可用区中创建实例。

自行选择可用区时,请注意以下事项:

  • 跨区域通信和区域内通信的费用不同。

    一般情况下,区域内通信要比跨区域通信更便宜,也更快。

  • 设计重要系统时,应考虑跨多个地区实现冗余。

    您的实例可能会在某个时间点遇到意外故障。为了缓解这些可能事件的影响,您应该在多个地区和区域中复制重要系统。

    例如,通过在地区 europe-west1-beurope-west1-c 中托管实例,如果 europe-west1-b 发生意外故障,则地区 europe-west1-c 中的实例仍然可用。但是,如果您将所有实例托管在 europe-west1-b 中,一旦 europe-west1-b 离线,您就无法访问任何实例。此外,您还应该考虑跨区域托管资源。例如,如果 europe-west1 区域发生故障(尽管这种情况不太可能发生),应该考虑在 europe-west3 区域的某个地区内托管备份实例。有关如何设计系统可用性的更多提示,请参阅设计可靠的系统

后续步骤

亲自尝试

如果您是 Google Cloud 新手,请创建一个帐号来评估 Compute Engine 在实际场景中的表现。新客户还可获享 $300 赠金,用于运行、测试和部署工作负载。

免费试用 Compute Engine

Regions and Zones

Certain Compute Engine resources live in regions or zones. A region is a specific geographical location where you can run your resources. Each region has one or more zones; most regions have three or more zones. For example, the us-central1 region denotes a region in the Central United States that has zones us-central1-a, us-central1-b, us-central1-c, and us-central1-f.

Resources that live in a zone, such as instances or persistent disks, are referred to as zonal resources. Other resources, like static external IP addresses, are regional. Regional resources can be used by any resources in that region, regardless of zone, while zonal resources can only be used by other resources in the same zone.

For example, disks and instances are both zonal resources. To attach a disk to an instance, both resources must be in the same zone. Similarly, if you want to assign a static IP address to an instance, the instance must be in the same region as the static IP.

Only certain resources are region- or zone-specific. Other resources, such as images, are global resources that can be used by any other resources across any location. For information on global, regional, and zonal Compute Engine resources, see Global, Regional, and Zonal Resources.

The following table describes the regions and their associated zones. See the Available regions & zones section for a complete description of a zone's available machine types and features.

Region Zones Location
asia-east1 a, b, c Changhua County, Taiwan
asia-east2 a, b, c Hong Kong
asia-northeast1 a, b, c Tokyo, Japan
asia-south1 a, b, c Mumbai, India
asia-southeast1 a, b, c Jurong West, Singapore
australia-southeast1 a, b, c Sydney, Australia
europe-north1 a, b, c Hamina, Finland
europe-west1 b, c, d St. Ghislain, Belgium
europe-west2 a, b, c London, England, UK
europe-west3 a, b, c Frankfurt, Germany
europe-west4 a, b, c Eemshaven, Netherlands
northamerica-northeast1 a, b, c Montréal, Québec, Canada
southamerica-east1 a, b, c São Paulo, Brazil
us-central1 a, b, c, f Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
us-east1 b, c, d Moncks Corner, South Carolina, USA
us-east4 a, b, c Ashburn, Northern Virginia, USA
us-west1 a, b, c The Dalles, Oregon, USA
us-west2 a, b, c Los Angeles, California, USA

Choosing a region and zone

You choose which region or zone hosts your resources, which controls where your data is stored and used. Choosing a region and zone is important for several reasons:

Handling failures
Distribute your resources across multiple zones and regions to tolerate outages. Google designs zones to be independent from each other: a zone usually has power, cooling, networking, and control planes that are isolated from other zones, and most single failure events will affect only a single zone. Thus, if a zone becomes unavailable, you can transfer traffic to another zone in the same region to keep your services running. Similarly, if a region experiences any disturbances, you should have backup services running in a different region. For more information about distributing your resources and designing a robust system, see Designing Robust Systems.
Decreased network latency
To decrease network latency, you might want to choose a region or zone that is close to your point of service. For example, if you mostly have customers on the East Coast of the US, then you might want to choose a primary region and zone that is close to that area and a backup region and zone that is also close by.

Identifying a region or zone

Each region in Compute Engine contains a number of zones. Each zone name contains two parts that describe each zone in detail. The first part of the zone name is the region and the second part of the name describes the zone in the region:

  • Region

    Regions are collections of zones. Zones have high-bandwidth, low-latency network connections to other zones in the same region. In order to deploy fault-tolerant applications that have high availability, Google recommends deploying applications across multiple zones and multiple regions. This helps protect against unexpected failures of components, up to and including a single zone or region.

    Choose regions that makes sense for your scenario. For example, if you only have customers in the US, or if you have specific needs that require your data to live in the US, it makes sense to store your resources in zones in the us-central1 region or zones in the us-east1 region.

  • Zone

    A zone is an isolated location within a region. The fully-qualified name for a zone is made up of <region>-<zone>. For example, the fully-qualified name for zone a in region us-central1 is us-central1-a.

    Depending on how widely you want to distribute your resources, create instances across multiple zones in multiple regions for redundancy.

Available regions & zones

The following table lists the region, its location, the available zones in that region, and the features available in that region.

Each zone supports a combination of Ivy Bridge, Sandy Bridge, Haswell, Broadwell, and Skylake platforms. When you create an instance in the zone, your instance will use the default processor supported in that zone. For example, if you create an instance in the us-central1-a zone, your instance will use a Sandy Bridge processor.

Alternatively, you can choose your desired CPU platform if you'd like. For more information, read Specifying a Minimum CPU Platform for VM Instances.

Region Name Region Description Location Zones Features
asia-east1 Taiwan Changhua County, Taiwan asia-east1-a
asia-east1-b
asia-east1-c
  • Available CPU platforms:
    • Intel Xeon E5 v2 (Ivy Bridge) platform (default)
    • Intel Xeon E5 v4 (Broadwell) platform
    • Intel Xeon (Skylake) platform
  • Up to 96 vCPU machine types when using the Skylake platform
  • Local SSDs
asia-east2 Hong Kong Hong Kong
  • asia-east2-a
  • asia-east2-b
  • asia-east2-c
asia-northeast1 Tokyo Tokyo, Japan
  • asia-northeast1-a
  • asia-northeast1-b
  • asia-northeast1-c
asia-south1 Mumbai Mumbai, India
  • asia-south1-a
  • asia-south1-b
  • asia-south1-c
asia-southeast1 Singapore Jurong West, Singapore
  • asia-southeast1-a
  • asia-southeast1-c
australia-southeast1 Sydney Sydney, Australia
  • australia-southeast1-a
  • australia-southeast1-b
  • australia-southeast1-c
europe-north1 Finland Hamina, Finland
  • europe-north1-a
  • europe-north1-b
  • europe-north1-c
europe-west1 Belgium St. Ghislain, Belgium europe-west1-b
europe-west1-c
europe-west1-d
europe-west2 London London, England, UK
  • europe-west2-a
  • europe-west2-b
  • europe-west2-c
europe-west3 Frankfurt Frankfurt, Germany
  • europe-west3-a
  • europe-west3-b
    europe-west3-c
europe-west4 Netherlands Eemshaven, Netherlands
  • europe-west4-a
  • europe-west4-b
  • europe-west4-c
northamerica-northeast1 Montréal Montréal, Québec, Canada
  • northamerica-northeast1-a
  • northamerica-northeast1-b
  • northamerica-northeast1-c
southamerica-east1 São Paulo São Paulo, Brazil
  • southamerica-east1-a
  • southamerica-east1-b
  • southamerica-east1-c
us-central1 Iowa Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA us-central1-a
us-central1-b
us-central1-c
us-central1-f
us-east1 South Carolina Moncks Corner, South Carolina, USA us-east1-b
    us-east1-c
    us-east1-d
us-east4 Northern Virginia Ashburn, Virginia, USA
  • us-east4-a
  • us-east4-b
  • us-east4-c
us-west1 Oregon The Dalles, Oregon, USA us-west1-a
us-west1-b
us-west1-c
us-west2 Los Angeles Los Angeles, California, USA us-west2-a
us-west2-b
us-west2-c

Announced regions

Throughout 2018, Google will continue expanding into the following new regions:

In 2019, Google will continue expanding into the following new regions:

  • Zürich (Switzerland)
  • Osaka (Japan)

Transparent maintenance

Google regularly maintains its infrastructure by patching systems with the latest software, performing routine tests and preventative maintenance, and generally ensuring that Google infrastructure is as fast and efficient as Google knows how to make it.

By default, all instances are configured so that these maintenance events are transparent to your applications and workloads. Google uses a combination of datacenter innovations, operational best practices, and live migration technology to move running virtual machine instances out of the way of maintenance that is being performed. Your instance continues to run within the same zone with no action on your part.

By default, all virtual machines are set to live migrate, but you can also set your virtual machines to terminate and reboot. The two options differ in the following ways:

  • Live migrate

    Compute Engine automatically migrates your running instance. The migration process will impact guest performance to some degree but your instance remains online throughout the migration process. The exact guest performance impact and duration depend on many factors, but it is expected most applications and workloads will not notice.

  • Terminate and reboot

    Compute Engine automatically signals your instance to shut down, waits a short time for it to shut down cleanly, and then restarts it away from the maintenance event.

For more information on how to set the options above for your instances, see Setting Instance Scheduling Options.

Zone deprecation

Compute Engine has made recent improvements in its virtualization technology that eliminate the need to decommission an existing zone for a ground-up infrastructure refresh (power, cooling, network fabric, servers, etc.). Infrastructure refreshes are rare and zones typically run for three to five years between refreshes. These refreshes should be transparent to customers.

If it ever becomes necessary to deprecate a zone, Compute Engine will notify users well in advance of when it will go offline so you have ample time to move your virtual machine instances and workloads.

Quotas

Certain resources, such as static IPs, images, firewall rules, and VPC networks, have defined project-wide quota limits and per-region quota limits. When you create these resources, it counts towards your total project-wide quota or your per-region quota, if applicable. If any of the affected quota limits are exceeded, you won't be able to add more resources of the same type in that project or region.

To see a comprehensive list of quotas that apply to your project, visit the Quotas page in the Google Cloud Platform Console.

For example, if your global target pools quota is 50 and you create 25 target pools in example-region-1 and 25 target pools in example-region-2, you reach your project-wide quota and won't be able to create more target pools in any region within your project until you free up space. Similarly, if you have a per-region quota of 7 reserved IP addresses, you can only reserve up to 7 IP addresses in a single region. After you hit that limit, you will either need to reserve IP addresses in a new region or release some IP addresses.

Tips

When selecting zones, here are some things to keep in mind:

  • Communication within and across regions will incur different costs.

    Generally, communication within regions will always be cheaper and faster than communication across different regions.

  • Design important systems with redundancy across multiple zones.

    At some point in time, it is possible that your instances might experience an unexpected failure. To mitigate the effects of these possible events, you should duplicate important systems in multiple zones and regions.

    For example, by hosting instances in zones europe-west1-b and europe-west1-c, if europe-west1-b fails unexpectedly, your instances in zone europe-west1-c will still be available. However, if you host all your instances in europe-west1-b, you will not be able to access any instances if europe-west1-b goes offline. You should also consider hosting your resources across regions. For example, consider hosting backup instances in a zone in europe-west3 in the unlikely scenario that the europe-west1 region experiences a failure. For more tips on how to design systems for availability, see Designing Robust Systems.

What's next

Was this page helpful? Let us know how we did:

Send feedback about...

Compute Engine Documentation