将工作负载从现有虚拟机迁移到新虚拟机


在某些情况下,您需要将工作负载从现有虚拟机实例迁移到新虚拟机。例如,需要将操作系统升级到新版本,或者想要从 x86 架构切换到 Arm 架构。在这种情况下,您必须创建新的虚拟机并将工作负载迁移到新虚拟机。

准备迁移到 Arm 虚拟机

如果要迁移虚拟机以使用 Arm CPU 平台(例如从 n2d-standard-32t2a-standard-32),请完成以下步骤。

  1. 确保 T2A 虚拟机支持当前虚拟机的操作系统版本。如需了解详情,请查看适用于您的操作系统的操作系统详情文档。
    • 如果 Arm 实例需要较新版本的操作系统,请验证您的应用与新版本兼容。
    • 如果 Arm 映像不适用于您当前的操作系统,请选择新的操作系统来运行应用,并验证应用与新操作系统兼容。
  2. 查看 Tau T2A 机器系列概览,了解可用的功能。T2A 机器类型可能不支持当前虚拟机使用的网络或存储功能。
  3. T2A 机器类型可能不支持当前机器类型使用的接口。查看操作系统的支持的接口,了解支持的网络和存储接口。请确保您的应用支持这些受支持的接口。
  4. 查看 T2A 机器系列的可用区域和可用区。T2A 机器类型可能不一定在当前虚拟机的所有区域中可用。根据需要调整部署、可用性和灾难恢复计划。
  5. 确定您的应用或程序是否会在 Arm 上运行,或者是否需要修改。已编译的 x86 二进制文件不会在 Arm 上运行,已编译的 Arm 二进制文件不会在 x86 上运行。您将需要重新编译 Arm 的二进制文件,通常不需要修改源代码。您可能还需要升级软件包和库,以纳入您在 x86 虚拟机上使用的版本的 Arm 等效项。如果您的应用是使用某个编程语言的最新版本编写的,则该应用可能与 Arm 兼容,无需进一步修改。如需运行 Python、Ruby 和 JavaScript 等解释型语言,您必须在 Arm 虚拟机上安装与 Arm 兼容的运行时环境。

将工作负载从现有虚拟机迁移到新虚拟机

要将工作负载迁移到新虚拟机,请创建新的虚拟机,然后将工作负载迁移到新虚拟机。如果您需要升级到最新的操作系统版本,或切换到在 Arm 平台上运行的虚拟机,则可能需要执行此操作。

  1. 根据需要更新您的应用和程序,以支持 gVNIC 网络接口、NVMe 存储接口或新的操作系统版本。
  2. 如果现有虚拟机使用包含要保留的数据的本地 SSD 磁盘,请将这些磁盘的内容移动到永久性磁盘。
  3. 根据您的规范创建新的虚拟机

  4. 在新虚拟机上配置必要的用户、驱动程序、软件包和文件目录,以支持您的工作负载。
  5. 如有必要,请更新您的应用和程序以使用 gVNIC 网络接口或 NVMe 存储接口。
  6. 将永久性磁盘从旧虚拟机移动到新虚拟机。为此,您可以将永久性磁盘与旧虚拟机分离,并将其添加到新虚拟机。或者,您也可以在虚拟机之间传输文件
  7. 在新虚拟机上安装修改后的应用和程序。如有必要,请在新操作系统上重新编译程序。
  8. 将与原始虚拟机关联的所有静态 IP 地址重新分配给新的 Arm 虚拟机
  9. (可选)将保存的数据从永久性磁盘移回本地固态硬盘。

如果您在将工作负载从 x86 虚拟机迁移到 Arm 虚拟机时遇到问题,请联系您的技术支持客户经理 (TAM) 或 Google 专业服务组织 (PSO) 获取帮助。

后续步骤

Migrating your workload from an existing VM to a new VM

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

In certain situations, you need to move your workload from an existing virtual machine instance (VM) to a new VM. Examples include needing to upgrade the operating system to a new release, or wanting to switch from the x86 architecture to the Arm architecture. In these cases, you must create a new VM and move your workload to the new VM.

Preparing to migrate to an Arm VM

If you want to migrate your VM to use the Arm CPU platform, for example, from n2d-standard-32 to t2a-standard-32, complete the following steps.

  1. Check that the operating system version for your current VM is supported for T2A VMs. View the operating system details documentation for your operating system for more information.
    • If the Arm instance requires a newer version of the operating system, verify that your applications are compatible with the newer version.
    • If an Arm image is not available for your current operating system, choose a new operating system to run your applications on and verify that your applications are compatible with the new operating system.
  2. Review the Tau T2A machine series overview to see what features are available. The T2A machine series might not support the same network or storage features that you use with your current VM.
  3. The T2A machine series might not support the same interfaces as your current machine type. Review the supported interfaces for the operating system to see what network and storage interfaces are supported. Make sure your applications support the supported interfaces.
  4. Review the available regions and zones for the T2A machine series. The T2A machine series might not be available in all the regions as your current VM. Adjust your deployment, availability, and disaster recovery plans as needed.
  5. Determine if your applications or programs will run on Arm, or if they will need modifications. Compiled x86 binaries will not run on Arm and compiled Arm binaries will not run on x86. You will need to recompile your binaries for Arm, typically with no modification to your source code. You may also need to upgrade your packages and libraries to include the Arm equivalents for the versions that you used on x86 VMs. If your application was written using the latest versions of a programming language, it will likely be compatible with Arm without requiring further modification. To run interpreted languages like Python, Ruby, and JavaScript, you must install an Arm-compatible runtime environment on your Arm VM.

Moving your workload from an existing VM to a new VM

To move your workload to a new VM, you create new VM, then move your workload to the new VM. You might do this when you need to upgrade to the latest operating system version, or switch to a VM running on the Arm platform.

  1. Update your applications and programs, if necessary, to support the gVNIC network interface, the NVMe storage interface, or the new operating system version.
  2. If your existing VM uses local SSD disks that contain data you want to keep, move the contents of those disks to a persistent disk.
  3. Create a new VM according to your specifications.

  4. Configure the necessary users, drivers, packages, and file directories on the new VM to support your workload.
  5. Update your applications and programs to use the gVNIC network interface or the NVMe storage interface, if necessary.
  6. Move persistent disks from the old VM to the new VM. You can do this by detaching the persistent disk from the old VM and adding it to the new VM. You can alternatively [transfer files](/compute/docs/instances/transfer-files) from one VM to the other.
  7. Install your modified applications and programs on the new VM. Recompile the programs on the new OS, if required.
  8. Reassign any static IP addresses associated with the original VM to the new Arm VM.
  9. Optionally, move the saved data from persistent disks back to a local SSD.

If you encounter issues when moving your workload from an x86 VM to an Arm VM, contact your Technical Account Manager (TAM) or the Google Professional Services Organization (PSO) for assistance.

What's next