Modify a Project's Billing Settings

If you are a billing administrator on only one billing account, new projects you create are automatically linked to your existing billing account. If you create and have access to multiple billing accounts, you can change the billing account a project is billed to. This article describes how to change the billing account for your project, as well as how to enable and disable billing for a project.

If you want to receive invoices or statements by email, or you want to change who receives them, see Change billing contacts and notifications.

Change the billing account for a project

To change the billing account for an existing project, you must be an owner on the project and a billing administrator on the destination billing account. For information about billing administrators and billing permissions, see Overview of Access Control.

To change the billing account:

  1. Go to the Google Cloud Platform Console.
  2. Open the console left side menu and select Billing.
  3. If you have more than one billing account, you'll be prompted to select Go to linked billing account to manage the current project's billing.
  4. Under Projects linked to this billing account, locate the name of the project that you want to change billing for, and then click the menu next to it.
  5. Select Change billing account, then choose the desired destination billing account.
  6. Click Set account.

Charges already incurred that have not yet been reported in the transaction history will be billed to the former billing account. This can include charges from up to 2 days prior to when the project was moved.

Enable billing for a project

How you enable billing depends on whether you're creating a new project or you're re-enabling billing for an existing project.

Enable billing for a new project

When you create a new project, you're prompted to choose which of your billing accounts you want to link to the project. If you have only one billing account, that account is automatically linked to your project.

If you don't have a billing account, you must create one and enable billing for your project before you can use many Google Cloud Platform features. To create a new billing account and enable billing for your project, follow the instructions in Create a new billing account.

Enable billing for an existing project

If you have a project that you temporarily disabled billing for, you can re-enable billing:

  1. Go to the Google Cloud Platform Console.
  2. From the projects list, select the project to re-enable billing for.
  3. Open the console left side menu and select Billing .
  4. Click Link a billing account.
  5. Click Set account.

Disable billing for a project

To stop automatic payments for a project, you need to disable billing for the project. Note that even if you disable billing, you're still be responsible for all outstanding charges on the account, which will be charged to your listed form of payment.

To disable billing for a project:

  1. Go to the Google Cloud Platform Console.
  2. Open the left side menu and select Billing.
  3. If you have more than one billing account, select Go to linked billing account to manage the current project's billing. To locate a different billing account, select Manage billing accounts.
  4. Under Projects linked to this billing account, locate the name of the project that you want to disable billing for, and then from the menu next to it, select Disable billing. You are prompted to confirm that you want to disable billing for this project.
  5. Click Disable billing.

Monitor your resources on the go

Get the Google Cloud Console app to help you manage your projects.